We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express San Mateo
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in San Mateo
Reviewed 20 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The hotel was clean and a reasonable price, stayed there 6 nights. Even the laundry was clean and functional, rooms were decent size; tv, refrig and a/c all worked fine. Some street noise if you stay in the front courtyard, but not disruptive. Housekeeping staff is good and young lady at front desk is great to deal with, very helpful and friendly. Centrally located and fairly close to San Francisco. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms in back courtyards are quieter, but ones in front are still worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Liang L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
2  Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 April 2014

THIS hotel is clean and a decent price, but they have a very angry manager who is the opposite of hospitable. His name is Andres and he bullies everyone that stays here. HE bullied me by calling me "stupid" for apparently looking at him?? HE THREATENED ME verbally by saying "I am going to kick you out if you don't pay for the full month". UM....why?? I am a paying customer and this man is horribly cruel to everyone!!! I had issues with them charging an extra $600 to my card when I had already paid $1820 for my March rent. MY bank flagged my account as they were worried about suspicious charges. I THEN questioned Andre about this and he denied this when the bank had proof. THIS man Andre is
angry to the point where he screamed at me in front of other guests....basically verbally abusive behavior. I CALLED THE POLICE on him because I was scared of his anger and was afraid he would hurt me. I have never in my life had someone yell at me for no reason!! HE is a very angry man who needs help and shouldn't be in the hospitality business because he is the complete opposite of hospitable. I hope the owner realizes he is losing money for the hotel and ruining the Howard Johnson's brand. I was suppose to stay for 28 days and I left the morning after he did this because I was frightened for my safety around this man Andres. I COMPLAINED TO WYNDHAM CORPORATE about him too. I hope they take this seriously as he is a very scary man.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
2  Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank monicaandchicks
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Mateo hotels
2.4 mi away
Best Western Coyote Point Inn
1.3 mi away
Los Prados Hotel
Los Prados Hotel
#10 of 12 in San Mateo
159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stone Villa Inn San Mateo - San Francisco SFO
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO
1.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express San Mateo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express San Mateo

Address: 2110 S El Camino Real, San Mateo, CA 94403-1807
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Mateo
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in San Mateo
Price Range: £95 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express San Mateo 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful city of San Mateo, we pride ourselves of the charming décor and comfortable amenities of our hotel. We aspire to give you the best quality service and make your stay memorable. Situated among fine dining, renowned attractions, endless shopping possibilities and vast business opportunities, we are certain you will enjoy your stay hassle-free.We are located within minutes from the San Francisco International Airport, Downtown San Francisco, Golden Gate Park, Monster Park, San Mateo Expo Center, Downtown San Mateo, AT&T Park, Half Moon Bay, Oakland, Berkeley, Daly City, Pier 39, Alcatrez, Fisherman’s Warf, Hillsdale Mall, Pacifica Beach, Golden Gate Bridge and we are a short drive away from Napa and Sonoma Valley which host some of the finest vineyards in the world.We are in close proximity to Oracle, Yahoo, Google, Mills Peninsula Medical Center, Virgin America, NASA, United Airlines, Stanford University, Canada College, and minutes from Silicon Valley which comforts our business travelers. Our explorer travelers will appreciate landmarks & historical buildings around the area like Coyote Point Park, Eugene A. Doran Memorial Bridge, De Anza Expedition Camp, Courthouse Square, Father Junipero Serra Statue, Devil's Slide Historical Landmark/ Viewpoint, Ralph D. Percival Memorial Vista Point. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Express San Mateo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn - San Mateo Hotel San Mateo
Howard Johnson San Mateo
San Mateo Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing