We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was very pleased to stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express San Mateo
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in San Mateo
Reviewed 17 July 2005

For the price you pay (I got a free night, but even if I had to pay), it is excellent. Very clean, good maintenance, tasteful room and hotel decor, and decent breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Vivekbrata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2005

by all means howard johnson is not a fancy hotel. but for the price you pay, it is all well worth it. there's microwave, hairdryer, ironing board, refrigrator. i think they just renovated it recently which is why it is clean. rooms are bright, parking is well lit & very clean. linens including towels were clean & not too shabby (compared to motels i've stayed at before).

there was no funky smell when you enter the room. overall we were very satisfied with this hotel (price range from $60-70). it's not in the busiest part of town but if you're driving there are a lot of restaurants in the area & shopping as well.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dieselgirl_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Portland, oregon
16
Reviewed 9 November 2004

The staff is terrific! Being in San Mateo for the first time, the staff helped me out with all me questions. Very clean rooms. The business center was a plus. Great location near nice restaurants.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank binge63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bacanaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HowardJohnsonSanMate, Manager at Howard Johnson Express San Mateo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Todas las habitaciones son exteriores y de similares características.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EduardoNo1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiorella1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HowardJohnsonSanMate, Manager at Howard Johnson Express San Mateo, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Mateo hotels
2.4 mi away
Best Western Coyote Point Inn
1.3 mi away
Los Prados Hotel
Los Prados Hotel
#10 of 12 in San Mateo
159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stone Villa Inn San Mateo - San Francisco SFO
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO
1.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express San Mateo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express San Mateo

Address: 2110 S El Camino Real, San Mateo, CA 94403-1807
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Mateo
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in San Mateo
Price Range: £92 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express San Mateo 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful city of San Mateo, we pride ourselves of the charming décor and comfortable amenities of our hotel. We aspire to give you the best quality service and make your stay memorable. Situated among fine dining, renowned attractions, endless shopping possibilities and vast business opportunities, we are certain you will enjoy your stay hassle-free.We are located within minutes from the San Francisco International Airport, Downtown San Francisco, Golden Gate Park, Monster Park, San Mateo Expo Center, Downtown San Mateo, AT&T Park, Half Moon Bay, Oakland, Berkeley, Daly City, Pier 39, Alcatrez, Fisherman’s Warf, Hillsdale Mall, Pacifica Beach, Golden Gate Bridge and we are a short drive away from Napa and Sonoma Valley which host some of the finest vineyards in the world.We are in close proximity to Oracle, Yahoo, Google, Mills Peninsula Medical Center, Virgin America, NASA, United Airlines, Stanford University, Canada College, and minutes from Silicon Valley which comforts our business travelers. Our explorer travelers will appreciate landmarks & historical buildings around the area like Coyote Point Park, Eugene A. Doran Memorial Bridge, De Anza Expedition Camp, Courthouse Square, Father Junipero Serra Statue, Devil's Slide Historical Landmark/ Viewpoint, Ralph D. Percival Memorial Vista Point. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Express San Mateo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn - San Mateo Hotel San Mateo
Howard Johnson San Mateo
San Mateo Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing