We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in San Mateo
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Clean and Quiet”
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We stayed one night as we were catching s flight out of SFO in the morning. Clean and quiet room. Receptionists were warm and friendly. Free Starbucks coffee in the morning was nice, as were the chocolates as we checked in. We didn't do the breakfast which looked like it would have been a good deal. We went to Mimi's and had a nice breakfast. Price was about the same as having eaten at the hotel, but nicer atmosphere than the lobby.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pegtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    195
    53
    20
    11
See reviews for
144
102
48
234
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corona, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We picked this hotel because it was not too far from San Francisco International Airport where we were flying in from Long Beach, CA for our visit to San Francisco. The hotel was nice and clean. Staff were nice and professional and polite. Rooms were clean and spacious. I like the fact that the room had a microwave, refrigerator and a coffee maker and the bathroom had a hair dryer. It felt like home away from home. The hotel was conveniently located close to shops and restaurants. The area around the hotel felt safe and upscale. TV had HBO which was nice becasue we got to watch a nice movie every night after our tour of San Francisco. San Mateo was only 15 minutes drive to San Francisco.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LO C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed here in August 2012 when traveling to the San Francisco area for a wedding. Our stay was so fantastic!

We don't stay in chain hotels often but the bride and groom had made special arrangements and negotiated a good price for wedding guests. Our experience was top-notch, starting from the person who took our phone reservation to everyone we came in contact with there.

The hotel staff completely spoiled us, not in a kiss-your-tush, fake, uncomfortable kind of way, but everyone was just very kind and considerate. We had an amazing breakfast and free Starbucks coffee every morning (plus coffee in our room, which I think was Wolfgang Puck). Wonderful omelet station plus lots of baked goodies, juices, bacon, can't recall what else but there was more. The toaster was rather slow but everything else was perfect.

Our room had a king-sized bed that was so comfortable. We were told you could adjust them but never even tried because we slept so well. I think the rooms must have pretty good soundproofing because I didn't hear anyone else the whole time we were there, except for one time when we heard people in the hall. We really appreciated the adorable towel animals and mints left in our room when they came in to pick up each day. The TV was nice, we had plenty of room, even when the ironing board was set up. It was also nice we could get a little fresh air instead of having to use the air conditioning.

The hotel staff was very helpful, whether it was responding to our request to find a party store, opening a bottle cap for us, or mailing postcards. I was able to use the computer in the office for guests to check us in for our flight and print out our boarding passes--no charge.

The lobby has a lovely fireplace and what looked like a patio area with an outdoor heater (yes San Francisco has cooler evenings). I saw there was also a small pool and I seem to recall a hot tub, although we never had a chance to use any of these.

We were about 15 minutes from San Francisco. I did see an airport shuttle but I would recommend renting a car; there are lots of day trips you can take if you do (along with San Francisco, you can go north to Muir Woods, Golden Gate Bridge, Sonoma Valley; or south to Big Sur, the Monterey Bay National Marine Sanctuary, or inland southeast to artichoke fields and the Salinas Valley, if you're a Steinbeck fan). The nice thing is that the San Mateo traffic is a nice break from all the traffic if you drive to downtown San Francisco.

There was little I didn't like--I did wish I'd brought a small mirror since the lovely bathroom sink design made it hard to get a good close-up view when getting ready. I lost some change in the pop machine trying to get a bottle of water. But these are minor things that could apply to any place. Bottom line was we absolutely loved our stay and would love to go back. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eliewriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

This hotel is a beauty a little off the beaten path for San Francisco lots to do in the area the concierge put us on to a great restaurant in Burlingame just down the road nice town lots of shops and Restaurants.We hopped on the Dart the rapid transit affordable way to get downtown SF good staff and good price.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hk
Level Contributor
95 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

If you can not find any hotel inSF city, than this one will be your choice. It's about 12 miles away from SF. Better if your are driving as you can get in out any time you wanted to.

Hotel room are clean and nice. No bottled water on the house, but offer free wifi, and coffee in room. Staff are friend and helpful, free shuttle bus to airport every hr. the bed are comfortable, and you are able to sleep very well as its very quiet.

There are no breakfast in my package, and breakfast cost 14 dollar each. Free parking, and ice machine in every floor.

Room Tip: Ask for smoking if your are smoker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turhanwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Lovely hotel and friendly staff. Free shuttle to SFO and Mall. Nice area to take a peaceful walk and do a little shopping. The food was great at the hotel. The breakfast was buffet style and very good. We had steak at dinner and it was cooked perfectly. Rooms were very clean and nice. Shuttle drivers very knowledgble of how to catch bart system uptown SF. Very nice place and you cant beat the price. Dont worry about not being close to downtown SF. Their shuttle will take you to the airport where you can catch the Bart train system uptown, which will get you there in about 20 mins to union square. They called out room during our stay checking on us and making sure our stay was perfect. They also have in room micro fridge, free parking, and microwave. Target store, Mimi Cafe, ice skating rink all in walking distance. Great spot.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derrick1232000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Granted, I got in late and had to depart to return a rental car at 4:00 a.m. so I didn't get to experience much. But very clean with a nice staff. Would recommend for airport travelers - about 10 miles from SFO.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrekRef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Mateo
2.5 mi away
Best Western Coyote Point Inn
1.2 mi away
San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport / Burlingame
5.5 mi away
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo

Property: Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
Address: 2000 Bridgepointe Pkwy, San Mateo, CA 94404-1586
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Mateo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Mateo
#1 Business Hotel in San Mateo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo is just 6 miles from San Francisco International Airport via complimentary shuttle, and offers complimentary high-speed internet access, fitness center and pool. All rooms feature adjustable mattresses, flat screen TVs, refrigerator, microwave, hair dryer, iron and full size board. The hotel is across the street from an outdoor mall and 30 minutes from downtown San Francisco and the Pacific Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo Hotel San Mateo
Hilton San Mateo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing