We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in San Mateo
Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Memorable”
Reviewed 10 May 2012

I stayed in Residence Inn San Mateo for more than two months when I've been to California on a Business trip. I would recommend this Hotel strongly. Go for it.

Room Tip: Check if the Wifi Signal is good before checking into the rooms. Some of the rooms have poor signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shyapka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugo H, General Manager at Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post this valuable review and recommend our Residence Inn by Marriott San Mateo.
Our team appreciates your business and hope to see you when you come back to the San Francisco area.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    88
    28
    7
    10
See reviews for
61
33
8
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

I would say this as my second "sweet" home. Usually I stay for atleast 2 months in every trip and I never felt that I was away from my home during my stay here. Nice kitchen, good amenities, wonderful, welcoming and very helpful front desk executives and very pleasant n peaceful surroundings. I really appreciate the management for keeping it upgraded with new stuff when and where required. I would like to thank "Jose" who is more than a friend and makes a big difference during every trip of mine. Special thanks to Neida, Marco, Lombardo, Rosa and Adela for making my stay comfortable. Easy accessible to malls, restaraunts and rail service.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NaveenD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugo H, General Manager at Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Dear Guest,

First I want to thank you for taking the time to write about your second home!
We appreciate your business and loyalty to our Residence Inn by Marriott San Mateo. I would like to thank you for recognizing our associates as they are our most valuable asset. I will make sure they are aware of your comments.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2012

This is a great oasis! Very high service quality - staff did all they could for you. Great location, walking distance to two shopping centers and bus stops (however you need to be related to Einstein to understand how that system works!), clean and nice surroundings. Great pool and hot tub, several areas where you could make your own barbecue at the hotel area - great if you are staying a bit longer (I was there 13 nights because my wife was undergoing a medical procedure). A "hidden" buffé on the second floor for free! Serving an evening snack (and sometimes beer and wine) for the guests. Same place as their really great breakfast was served. Kitchen and rooms very clean and almost new. Cleaning ladies very nice. The only bad thing was that the shuttle was not a real shuttle. Only run twice a day and meant for people who worked in the area. Free internet pretty slow - poor to varying speeds. We bought a 4G Verizon puck and that worked fine!

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the center of the complex away from the highway. The suites with two levels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skippy_Kitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugo H, General Manager at Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Guest,

The Residence Inn by Marriott in San Mateo team wants to thank you for staying at our property. We are very glad our property was up to your expectations and we thank you for taking the time to write this review.
We hope to see you in a near future!

Best regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Stayed here with our two dogs for a weekend in transit through San Francisco. The room was nicely decorated and clean, and has a comfortable feel to it. The immediate surrounding area is quite pleasant, and convenient with a mall nearby (3-minute drive). The drive to the airport is 10-15 minutes, which is also convenient for our purposes as well. When we wanted to go take the dogs for a hike, there was even a choice of trails within 20-minute drive. Front desk was friendly and helpful. All in all, a good experience, and especially appreciated as someone traveling with pets.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelhui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugo H, General Manager at Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay in our Residence Inn. I’m very happy that you and your dogs enjoyed our facility. I will make sure to share your comments with our staff as they take pride in the job they do.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

As I travel to the San Mateo area four to five times per year and usually stay for a full week, I always try and book the Residence Inn to take advantage of the kitchen and the great breakfast. While the hotel is starting to get a bit dated compared to the newer Residence Inns I have stayed at across the country the staff in San Mateo more than makes up for it. I always feel welcome from check in to check out and they go out of their way to make a full week away from home tolerable.

The rooms are very clean and the fully equipped kitchen is a major plus while trying to eat healthy on the road. Breakfast is served from 6:30am to 9:00am and has a large variety of typical breakfast foods that always satisfy plus hot coffee, juice and milk. The breakfast attendant is efficient and courteous and greats guests with a smile even early in the morning and the happy hour from 5:30pm to 7:00pm during the week is also a nice treat.

The other thing I really enjoy about this hotel is the quick access to the running paths that border the canals in San Mateo and Foster City. Take a left out of the hotel and continue onto Vista Del Mar which leads to the path. Once on the path you can take a left or a right and map out great runs of any distance along the water.

This is a great hotel for extended stays and has a great staff to make you feel welcome.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugo H, General Manager at Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay in our Residence Inn here in San Mateo. I’m very happy our facility and amenities met your needs. I will make sure to share your comments with our staff as they take pride in the job they do. We appreciate your loyalty and hope to see you in a near future.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

I wasn't sure what to expect but enjoyed my stay so much I took time to write a review! The hotel staff seemed to be a family? They were very friendly and seemed to go out of their way to make eveyone's stay comfortable. The maids actually watched when people left the rooms so they could clean at convenient times. The breakfast buffet was well stocked and had different hot items daily. There is also happy hour with appetizers daily and a shuttle to drive you to work (which I didn't try). The hotel is near a highway but totally enclosed and the noise wasn't loud inside the room. Not far down the road is shopping and restaurants .

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugo H, General Manager at Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay in our Residence Inn here in San Mateo. I’m very happy our facility and amenities met your needs. I will make sure to share your comments with our Residence Inn family as they take pride in the job they do. We appreciate your loyalty and hope to see you in a near future.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foster City, California
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Older style Residence Inn with multiple buildings. Has been kept up to date with decor but outer doors are a little tough to be certain they are locked. Some of the buildings face fairly busy roads so better to ask for a more interior room. Location is close to both Rt 92 and Rt 101 so easy to get around. Also several restaurants very close along with Target for anything that you forget. There are a lot of people that stay here for long periods. They do not provide airport transportation but the taxi service works out well.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MOBX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugo H, General Manager at Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay in our Residence Inn here in San Mateo. I’m very happy our facility and amenities met your needs. We appreciate your business and hope to see you in a near future.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Mateo
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
1.0 mi away
San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport
2.8 mi away
Best Western Coyote Point Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Courtyard San Mateo Foster City
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Foster City - San Mateo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo

Property: Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo
Address: 2000 Winward Way, San Mateo, CA 94404-2472
Region: United States > California > San Mateo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Mateo
#5 Family Hotel in San Mateo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thrive on Long StaysBook your 2012 US Open stay at our newly Renovated Residence Inn by Marriott San Francisco Airport/ San Mateo hotel located 8.6 miles from San Francisco International Airport (SFO) and 20 miles from the tournament! Spacious suites with separate living and sleeping areas, fully equipped kitchens, and free high-speed Internet access provide guests the perfect extended stay accommodations. Join us for a complimentary breakfast buffet and light dinner Mon-Thurs evenings in our Gatehouse. Bridgepointe and Hillsdale Shopping Centers conveniently located to our hotel. Hotel is near many excellent golf courses including Mariners Point and Poplar Creek. Fun is found at attractions Malibu Grand Pix Go-Kart & Golf, San Mateo Expo Center, Coyote Point Recreational Area and San Francisco's major league sports events at Candlestick and AT&T Park. After all this excitement relax in the pool, spa and Sport Court at the Residence Inn by Marriott San Francisco Airport San Mateo hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo Hotel San Mateo
Residence Inn San Mateo
San Mateo Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing