We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice getaway ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Pablo
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Pablo
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed 1 night. No issues finding hotel, in same parking lot as strip mall. Did see 2 homeless guys walking on the area.
Check-in was hassle free. Clerk was nice. Gave directions to train station (5 min away). Explained layout of hotel.
Room was clean and everything worked. Bed was very soft. Couldn't hear people in hallway nor interstate.
Breakfast was fine. No issues with food. Eggs, bacon, pancakes, bagels, breads, muffins, pastries, yogurt, etc.
Only complaint was the A/C. Only working settings were on/off. Temperature or fan speed inoperable. Would definitely come again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank cipollavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 58 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

Clean hotel with a welcoming lobby and great staff. Parking is free which was a surprise for the area. We stayed only one night but it was comfortable and the rooms clean. I'm not familiar with the area but from what I could see the area appeared to be safe and clean. We didn't stay long enough to check out the area but we didn't see a whole heck of a lot to do. Nice enough place though and the rates were good for the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank jason g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights on July 3-5 for visiting San Francisco. Easily accessible to the Richmond and El Cerrito del Norte Bart stations. The hotel is right off Interstate 80. The room was nice and quiet and beds were comfortable. Would stay here again

Room Tip: try and stay away from interstate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank chuckie_css
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Our stay started off great, Eden at the front desk was very pleasant. The room was also nice. The only problem we had was most of the other staff did whatever they wanted. They were not very friendly the other front desk people were on their personal phones a lot. Also a front desk employee was on a personal call on the business line. I provably wouldn't have complained but one thing really made me upset. I realized breakfast was about to close so I ran down stairs and started to grab some breakfast and the staff started reaching around me and the other guest to turn machines off. All the guest were like umm what in the world is going on. One guest was pouring juice and the lady shut the machine off. My wife was getting ready to hit the pancake machine button but they swooped around her and shut the machine off. Not kidding it was bizarre! They should have been like sorry guys were shutting down in 5 minutes and I would have been fine with that but they were crazy rude!!!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Al G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Pablo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Al G,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the service you received prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

HI Expresses are generally solid choices for hotels and this one was no exception. You don't get lavish accommodations or many frills but who can afford that under normal circumstances in the budget-busting Bay area where prices on hotels can border on what can be fairly described as appalling at times.

This particular location happened to be near where my business was on this trip, thus making it a very good option. I flew into SFO and the Super Shuttle, which was not ideal but at least not overpriced ($60 without tip), was the best way to get to the hotel without renting a vehicle. The one thing I will note was that the exact place where this hotel was situated was not obvious. My shuttle driver had to do a once-around the strip plaza parking lot to figure out that the hotel was hidden and off to the side behind the Ross store. And I could easily understand his confusion. While one could see the HI Express sign upon pulling off the highway, where one had to turn once in the strip plaza parking lot was not at all clear. They need to put up a simple sign directing patrons to take a right at the little drive between the Jack-in-the-Box and the end of the strip plaza (Ross store) after pulling into the parking lot off San Pablo Dam Rd.

I was checked in very quickly and very efficiently and made my way to my room within a couple of minutes of my arrival. The room was spacious and clean. The amenities worked well throughout my stay including the WiFi. The A/C took a little trial and error to adjust to my liking but that's not unusual. The bed was comfortable and allowed me a good night's sleep. The selection of TV channels was particularly good making the background noise I chose to employ while working at my desk in the evening quite enjoyable.

The location for this hotel was very convenient from the standpoint that there were several shops and a variety of restaurants within easy walking distance. I made a ten-minute or so walk to a terrific Thai restaurant for dinner and then stopped by a Starbucks three or four minutes away from the hotel for a coffee before returning to my room. Breakfast in the morning appeared adequate and what I would expect from an HI Express. However, all of the hotels in that market segment (HI Express, Hampton, Fairfield, etc.) tend to offer scaled down quality and selection and this was no exception. They are also carb-laden which was not good for me at the moment. However, the nice aspect to this was the fact that there was a Denny's across the street which, while not elegant, fit the bill for me.

I was able to get my checkout extended for an hour or so in the morning which helped me a great deal given my schedule (normal checkout is a little early at 11 AM). Checkout also went very efficiently and I enjoyed a short chat with the pleasant young lady working the front desk while waiting for my ride.

I would normally characterize the room rate for this HI Express as excessive but given the prices I was seeing for other hotels in the area, it was actually a reasonable bargain by comparison. It appears to me that there is room for additional hotel development in this region in order to tilt the supply/demand curve to a more reasonable level.

Overall, if you're happy with a simpler choice in hotels, this HI Express is a reasonably good option.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I choose this hotel because it wwas closer than the Marriott and my wedding venue was minutes awat, Upon arrival I was helped by the front desk clerk Janet....Janet was really great and assisted me with a concern I had regarding a mix up on the reservations she went aabove and beyond & straightend out the mix up and accommodated us accordingly, The rooms were very nice and clean, nice continental breakfast.

Thank you Janet!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashlee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stay at the Holiday Inn Express in San Pablo about three or four times a year. It is convient for late night at our Elks Lodge when we don't wan to travel the 30+ miles home to Hayward. At times the "seasonal rates" can be rough but we just can't innore the convience.
The rooms are always clean and equiped with what we need especially the fridge for keeping left overs cold. I have never had a complaint about a staff member and always find them pleasent and helpful. We sometimes bring family and friends from out of town and have never had a problem making whatever special arrangements we need.
The breakfast is just about the best I have ever found in a hotel. Great eggs, sausage and biscuits. I did not have but noted the "instant pancakes" available.
And as usual check out was a breeze.

Room Tip: Pick a low number to avoid being on the freeway side. However, I have never noted freeway or road n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Pablo
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Berkeley
2.8 mi away
Days Inn Pinole Berkeley
2.6 mi away
Hotel Mira Vista
Hotel Mira Vista
#1 of 5 in El Cerrito
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge
6.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Pablo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Pablo

Address: 2525 San Pablo Dam Rd, San Pablo, CA 94806-3913
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Pablo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Pablo
Price Range: £88 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Pablo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Richmond/San Pablo. The hotel is just steps away from the popular San Pablo Casino, 10 miles away from UC Berkeley and about 30 miles from Napa Valley and San Francisco. The Holiday Inn Express is ideally located near the popular tourist sites of Oakland and San Francisco and minutes from the Corporate Parks on Hilltop Dr., Richmond Parkway and the Hercules Biotech Center. The hotel boasts a 25-foot atrium lobby with free Wi-Fi access, a contemporary great room with fireplace, an expanded Express Start Free Hot Breakfast Bar and meeting facilities. We offer a Fitness Center, sauna and business center on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Pablo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Pablo Hotel San Pablo
San Pablo Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn San Pablo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing