We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice park”

China Camp State Park
Ranked #2 of 25 things to do in San Rafael
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located on the grounds of an old Chinese fishing settlement, this park includes over 1,500 acres of beaches, hiking trails and picnic grounds.
Level Contributor
151 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice park”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We are not from the area and just wanted a place to walk around. This place is great but why the parking fees? We were surprised it was $5 to park even though we just wanted to walk for a few minutes, so we left.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    54
    9
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Park, Museum and Beach”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We have enjoyed China Camp State Park for many, many years. When our kids were young, we loved to bring them to the beach and let them play in the water, mostly throwing stones in. Not really a swimming place, but cool breezes by the water's edge, and the stony (rounded stones mostly) beach was always a favorite with our boys. The museum is interesting, the picnic spots are scenic and enjoyable, and the many trails are still some of my favorites. At the right time of year, you can see butterflies, and shore birds are easily seen pretty much year round. The campground is secluded, and nicely nestled among the trees. You cannot however drive up to your spot - so plan on transporting your things by foot to your site.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“China Camp is one of the best kept secrets in Marin...”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Lovely beach, small waves for wading and history lesson all for the price of parking ( 5.00)
wade, paint, enjoy a shrimp cocktail and rest on the unhurried shore. Picnic and barbecue-all within 20 minutes from San Rafael-
stop at Whole Foods, United Market or Trader Joes to grab a picnic on the way- you won't want to miss the sunset-

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
96 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great for hikes and photography”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This place is worth a quick visit if you want to stretch your legs and shoot some photos of some unique old buildings on the water.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TakeTheHighRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great place to hike and mountain bike”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This is the mountain bikers paradise, and they dominate the trails. But they are polite and really look out for hikers. The trails are both open and in the woods, with great views of the Bay and the surroundings hills. It is a place that you can go any season, and the spring flowers are really a good show. I hike or bike here at least once a week, and consider it my own back yard-and what a good back yard it is.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed China Camp State Park also viewed

 
 

Been to China Camp State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing