We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food - but it takes time...”

Royal Thai Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 230 Restaurants in San Rafael
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
130 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Superb food - but it takes time...”
Reviewed 25 November 2012

If you are after outstanding cooking, wonderful flavors, an extensive menu, do go to Royal Thai.
It is located right next to the freeway underpass, yet noise is not an issue here. But it is not for a quick bite. The place is busy, and you have to be patient, but it is worth the wait!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grandpa284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    17
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandpoint
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Thai to Dai For”
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Great Thai food. At another level really of imagination and execution.

Try the Eggplant stuffed with Chicken. Yow!

Reasonable $15 corkage makes this a 1st Place Winner.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank wk542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Charming local favorite does a good job with a big menu”
Reviewed 10 January 2012

I, my wife, my sister and her husband are all big fans of this charming and reliable Thai restaurant. We order fearlessly from a long menu, despite a well-earned reputation on my part for picking favorite dishes and sticking with them. The kitchen has never messed up on our "no peanuts" stipulation, and the service in the tight-packed rooms is attentive.

The ornate wood paneling and traditional Thai touches give the restaurant a nice, warm feel. Some tables are great for dates, others feel less private. I've never bothered with a reservation, and usually have to wait 5-10 minutes for a table.

We've sampled the specials on almost every trip, and found them to be welcome additions to the consistent menu. The wine selections are hit-and-miss, the only thing I would say detracts from the experience. The prices are quite reasonable. For traditional Thai food in southern Marin county, I wouldn't go anywhere else.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnsonInCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Authentic Thai”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I love this place. When you enter you know it's going to be good, the smell of auathentic cuisine and ambiance just picks you up. Service is spot-on, and very reasonable (and close walking distance from home). You could be back in Bangkok.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jasmus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Añasco, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
76 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Some of the best Thai food around”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

A gem of a place in downtown San Rafael. The food is delicious, but the whole fried tilapia in spicy basil sauce is the best. We ALWAYS have the tilapia when we go there. No other place does it quite as well. The fried soft shell crab is also not to be missed.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaribConsult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Thai Restaurant also viewed

 
San Rafael, Marin County
San Rafael, Marin County
 
San Rafael, Marin County
San Rafael, Marin County
 

Been to Royal Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing