We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value and location”
Review of Villa Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 San Rafael B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 February 2007

stayed here several times, clean rooms and good location. Close to main street of San Rafael with great highway access to San Fran, Sausalito, Sonoma and Napa. Not a 5 star hotel, but you get good value for the money.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank stormn99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2006

I've stayed at this hotel 5 times within the past 3 years. I find the management very helpful, and the rooms clean, large and serviceable. This is an excellent hotel for wheelchair users, as the rooms are very spacious, everything is accessible and the management welcomes service dogs. I always stay at this hotel when I am in Marin. It may not be fancy, but the management treats me like family, takes good care of me and extends themselves to meet my needs.

I'm going there again this weekend and will try to get pictures of their lovely gardens, always a welcome lush sight for my desert-weary eyes.

  • Stayed: May 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Finnian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2006

We were very hesitant to book a "mom & pop motel" sight unseen, in a city we didn't know, but after reading several reviews on the internet we went ahead. We were very pleasantly surprised. It's a fairly large property - about 60 units. It's located in an almost residential area. A nice neighborhood away from the freeway. It's run by a Basque family. Many of the items in the room made us feel more like were were staying in someone's guest room than a motel. The furniture was not standard motel stuff. The bedspread, too, was more "homey", the sheets were pink. The towels were large and very nice, like the ones you have in your own home. There was a nice, lighted vanity area with a mirror and stool. The bathroom items were in a little basket and included 2 bottles of shampoo, several soaps and even a shower cap! Everything was very clean and in good repair. The breakfast was nice and was served in the large dining room of the restaurant. The owner was very nice and helpful in finding a dinner location. We would recommend this motel (a.k.a. Villa Inn). We weren't interested in the pool.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Saxeygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2006

I had a reservation for a king room at this inn for my son's soccer tournament. When I made the reservation I was not told the pool was out-of-order. I found this out through another family that was planning to stay there until they found this out. When I called to cancel my reservaton, the man was rude and spiteful. He asked why I had made a reservation if I didn't want the room. When I told him I had made the reservation under the impression they had a pool, I was told "That's fine, we really didn't want you here anyway." I had called just the day before to confirm my reservation and wasn't told about the pool then either.

If their pool was out-of-service they should have informed me when I made the reservation, and should not have had a problem with me cancelling when I found out.

please note- We did not get to stay there because we cancelled our reservation.

  • Stayed: August 2006
    • Check-in / front desk
2  Thank fishfam93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
218
Reviewed 30 March 2005

This small hotel is located right outside downtown San Rafael. It is clean, and has all the basics that we needed for a three day stay. We like the quite neighborhhood location and the $ 59.99 rate is a very prestigious area.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Roland M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank honeyha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Rafael
1.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center
2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael
1.8 mi away
North Bay San Rafael
North Bay San Rafael
#6 of 8 in San Rafael
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Marin Suites Hotel
Marin Suites Hotel
#2 of 3 in Corte Madera
596 reviews
3.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Rafael - Francisco Blvd East
2.6 mi away
Courtyard San Francisco Larkspur Landing/Marin County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Inn

Address: 1600 Lincoln Ave, San Rafael, CA 94901-1931
Region: United States > California > Marin County > San Rafael
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in San Rafael
Price Range: £76 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Villa Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing