We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Experience”

Gaspare's Pizzeria Ristorante
Ranked #29 of 233 Restaurants in San Rafael
Price range: US$29 - US$31
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Willow
Description: Gaspare's Pizza House & Italian Restaurant in San Francisco first opened in 1985. Our second location Gaspare's Pizzeria Ristorante Bar in San Rafael opened in 2007. It is owned and operated by Daniel, Gaspare and Robin. It’s the best pizza in the Bay Area! We serve home style Italian cooking in a romantic setting at very reasonable price! Besides the best pizza, we are serving a variety of pasta dishes, veal, chicken, seafood, vegetarian dishes, gluten free choices and more. Last but not least, we are proud to serve the best homemade cheesecake this side of New York. The entire menu can be prepared to go for pick-up or delivery!
Novato, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Experience”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Friendly service . I had a chicken picatta which was mild the way I like it. Others in our party had pizza and a side of calamari which was very good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    18
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burbank, California
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great Neighborhood Place”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Arrived close to 9:30p on a Sunday. Two patrons eating at the bar itself, a couple eating in the bar area and a couple in the main dining area. Traveling on business means dining solo, but this place made me feel right at home.

Friendly greeting at the door and offered my choice of seating. Understandably given the light crowd, one waitress covering all tables. Acknowledged promptly by waitress, with water and bread brought immediately.

Ordered starter of mozarella fresca @ $9 (think caprese salad), entree of gnocchi with bolognese ($14). Portions were incredibly large - both dishes could have easily fed two. Opted to eat half of each with the remainder taken as leftovers for lunch.

Place closed at 10p, but was never made to feel rushed. Very friendly, competent staff serving good food at reasonable prices.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DandLtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, California
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Really good, classic Italian food.”
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

On a rainy Wednesday night Gaspare's was bustling. We had a couple glasses of Nero D'Avola a chicken cannelloni and risotto al pescatore.
Everything was great - I know, Italian red wine with seafood- oh no! But don't judge - the wine was delicate and the risotto was hearty & it all worked! We'll be back.

Helpful?
Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff, nice atmosphere. Had pizza with pepperoni and sausage so it was a little greasy but very good. Not soggy at all. Wife had a seafood salad with more seafood than salad, very tasty!

Helpful?
Thank Wherewerewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

When traveling, we're always looking for great local pizza. This place did not disappoint. We ordered the Pizza Alla Siciliana with hamburger, mushrooms, onions and olives. Delicious! Along with salads, and of course, the local sourdough bread, a very nice, affordable meal. And, they also delivered to the nearby Embassy Suites within 45 minutes of placing our order. In addition to pizza, they also have a complete menu of Italian cuisine that I would hope to sample when we're back in the area.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Schneidm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gaspare's Pizzeria Ristorante also viewed

San Rafael, Marin County
San Rafael, Marin County
 
San Rafael, Marin County
 

Been to Gaspare's Pizzeria Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing