We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Indian cuisine in north SFO.”
Review of Taj of Marin

Taj of Marin
Ranked #61 of 246 Restaurants in San Rafael
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Lootens Pl
Description: Taj of Marin is a family owned and operated Indian restaurant providing authentic and delicious Indian food at a great price. Our upscale, family-friendly atmosphere is perfect for enjoying the most exquisite Indian cuisine available in the North Bay area. Adorned with traditional Indian artwork and decor, every aspect of Taj of Marin is truly authentic.
Reviewed 26 September 2013

An early dinner for us turned out to be quite memorable. We were one of 3 tables occupied when we arrived, but it quickly filled up. We had finished an assortment of very tasty appetizers when the roll back roof opened, providing a wonderful evening light that showed the detail of this eye catching restaurant.
Entrees were served, and we were treated to very diverse, and extremely yummy foods. One couple ate vegetarian dishes and one had varieties of meat, and we were all extremely pleased with the quality of food served.
The wait staff was attentive, and knew their products well.
Go out of your way to enjoy a special place, you won't regret it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank steven b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurpreet S, Owner at Taj of Marin, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Tasty food, wonderful ambiance, great service — that's what we're all about, so it's great to hear that we're doing a good job, Steven. Did you have any favorite dishes with us? Thank you for the feedback and I hope you'll visit us again the next time you're in the Bay Area!

Till then,
Gurpreet Singh, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stopped by for a Saturday-afternoon lunch and found the buffet here to be unusually good, a step above the normal fare at Indian restaurant buffets. The selection was large. The tandoori chicken was outstanding - cripsy on the outside and tender inside. The naans were soft and delicious, as was everything else I tried.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jk61-California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurpreet S, Owner at Taj of Marin, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

It's great to hear that you had such an excellent lunch with us! Our kitchen will be so excited to hear that you think we're a step above the rest! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review here on TripAdvisor. Come visit us again soon!

Till then,
Gurpreet Singh, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Family of 3 enjoyed an evening meal. This was our first experience with Indian cuisine. The food was excellent, but best of all was the service. They staff was very attentive and accommodating. Also, they had a musician performing during our meal which added to our enjoyment.

Thank bronson777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurpreet S, Owner at Taj of Marin, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Thank you so much for writing us the great review! I'm honored to have had the opportunity to introduce your family to Indian cuisine. We strive to provide tasty food with great service, and I'm happy you enjoyed dining with us. I hope you come back again soon, and allow us to serve you some different Indian specialties.

Gurpreet Singh, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Last time we visited this place, it was under a different name, which always concerns us. Up for taking the chance that quality hadn't change, we took a chance. We're happy we did. The food and service is still excellent, and makes a great dining choice when staying around the North San Francisco Bay area.

The Lamb Saag was prepared with an incredible array of spices that we have not experienced before, as each chef seems to prepare the dish their own way. The Lamb Vindaloo, though not has spicy as we've had in the UK, was spicy enough, yet not over the top to hide the flavor.

Again, service was very attentive and the value was very good. Try to catch a night when they have a Sitar player performing as we did last time for an extra treat!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurpreet S, Owner at Taj of Marin, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write this great review. We're so happy that you decided to check us out and we're even more pleased that both the food and the service exceeded your expectations.

Since everyone has a different palate when it comes to spices, I'm delighted that our Lamb Vindaloo hit just the right note. If you ever want anything spicier or milder, feel free to pass the word along to your server. We're more than happy to customize a dish to your liking.

Last but not least, it's great to discover that you enjoyed the live music! Thanks for giving other travelers a heads up about that.

Needless to say, we would love to see you back for another meal soon! Please stop in next time you're in San Francisco.

All the best,
Gurpreet Singh, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

My friends and I came here for dinner on a Saturday night hoping it was a buffet but it turned out that it's only served on lunch. As we entered the resto right in the middle of downtown San Rafael, we were greeted by this Caucasian musician garbed in Indian clothes doing Indian music on various Indian instruments. It was a unique twist as he was singing in English but the melody sounded Indian as he was using Indian instruments. Food was soooo good. I loved their Naans as there were really a lot of varieties. I especially liked the Basil-Pesto naan, Rosemary-Garlic naan, Chicken Tikka Masala and the Lamb Tikka Masala. Food was reasonably priced. The servers were just kinda hovering over us and kept on asking how the food was every 3 minutes or so...hahahaha...Wish they just lessened that a bit as it became kinda annoying. I still gave this place 5 stars inspite of the "over service" of the servers haha.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Maestro2471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurpreet S, Owner at Taj of Marin, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review! We understand that it can always be a bit of a mental transition when you are expecting a buffet-style dinner but we appreciate that you quickly adjusted and thoroughly enjoyed your meal!

We're thrilled to hear that you loved the Basil-Pesto Naan as well as the Chicken Tikka Masala. While attentive service is a cornerstone of our business, I'm sorry if our attention was ever off-putting. We'll give our wait staff a heads up on that. Thanks for letting me know!

Needless to say, we hope to see you back here soon!

All the best,
Gurpreet Singh, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taj of Marin also viewed

San Rafael, Marin County
San Rafael, Marin County
 
Sausalito, Marin County
San Rafael, Marin County
 
San Rafael, Marin County
 

Been to Taj of Marin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing