We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Lunch, Unbearable Price”

Thai Smile Restaurant
Ranked #51 of 229 Restaurants in San Rafael
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
88 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Delicious Lunch, Unbearable Price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

I have been coming here for lunch for years. The outside of the restaurant is inviting, and the woman who greets you is very warm and friendly. I feel as if I am stepping into someone's private dining room to eat. Best of all, the food has never been a disappointment. Satays, cucumber salad, and pineapple fried rice are my favorites, but everything I have ever tried has been absolutely delicious. Noodle and rice dishes are usually large enough to split for two. If you are dining with friends I recommend eating family style and sharing all the entrees. Yum! Lunch for two people hovers around $20, including a beverage. Street parking can occasionally be a challenge, but there are usually plenty of spaces in a small lot behind the restaurant.

This great little hole-in-the-wall restaurant is not to be missed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adventursaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Family run restaurant serving Northern Thai-style authentic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

We have been enjoying this nice and cozy authentic Thai restaurant both as a family and with friends for over 6 years. When we are in the mood for spicy Thai food, this is the place we visit in Marin. Having lived in Thailand for many years, I can say that the family that runs the Thai Smile has succeeded in capturing the taste of the Thai dishes as I remember them from Thailand. Specifically, the dishes contain hardly any sugar, and no peanuts, a sin committed by many other Thai restaurants, which try to capture more American customers in love with sweet tasting dishes. Instead, the dishes follow the culinary traditions of the Isan region of Thailand. If you want to experience true tasting Thai food cooked and served by a friendly family in a cozy atmosphere with limited outdoor seating in the quiet part of San Rafael, head for Thai Smile on Fourth Street, East of 101.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Curt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providenciales
Level Contributor
96 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Had lunch here today; was nice.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

Okay, I love Thai food. Really. If I had to spend my life eating from only one menu it would have to be a Thai menu (but in English ;-)

Anyway, I was invited for lunch and headed over to Thai Smile. We sat outside, enjoyed warm and friendly food and service.

And!! They offer brown rice; LOVE IT!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheWealthyHobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lone Tree, Colorado
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good service. Knowledgeable about gluten-free.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

This place had plenty of space given it was 7pm on a Saturday. Very friendly service. Typical Thai menu. Unremarkable, but we had a tasty red curry, tom yum and pad Thai. Bland fried rice with frozen veg. They understood the need to avoid soy sauce for gluten-free needs.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kmcmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Smile Restaurant also viewed

San Rafael, Marin County
San Rafael, Marin County
 
San Rafael, Marin County
 

Been to Thai Smile Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing