We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spend A Little Time In The Basque Country.....Here”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Le Chalet Basque Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Le Chalet Basque Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 233 Restaurants in San Rafael
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Public Transit is located in front of restaurant.
Description: Welcome to the Chalet Basque restaurant, a family style restaurant serving dishes inspired by the Basque regions of France and Spain. Located in San Rafael, California, the owner and proud staff would like to invite you to come join us for our delicious cuisine, full bar, and outdoor patio. Our restaurant is also available for Banquets and parties upon reservation.
San Anselmo, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Spend A Little Time In The Basque Country.....Here”
Reviewed 18 May 2013

My family has had the chance to dine at Chalet Basque again. It's a little out of our way, but we'll no longer let that keep us away. The quality, menu variety, cheerfulness, and pricing remains the same as a decade ago. It's no surprise that a family owned restaurant as it is stays on top of all daily details. It's an old world practice and the old world charm is genuine. 3 course meals with vegetables are the norm here, so very family friendly. After a day in the Napa and Sonoma wine country, we often think to have dinner there before starting home, but the waits in those wine country restaurants sometimes can be 30-45 minutes even if you have a reservation. I think we'll drive back first, beat some of the evening traffic, and still have a wine country, a Basque Country, experience in Chalet Basque this summer.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce415453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    20
    9
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Shaver Lake, California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delicious Basque Food!”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

This basque food has a French influence. We LOVED the food and the portions were perfect. Great service. We plan to return the next time we're in San Rafael.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jodip630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ca
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Used to be able to eat lunch in about one hour - what happened?”
Reviewed 15 August 2012

This used to be one of our favorite restaurants to eat lunch. It's close to the Civic Center and has a lovely outside Patio.
The last two times we went there lunch took about 1 hour and 45 minutes. The personnel was running around, barely able to give you any service, almost throwing things in front of you, yet it took forever to get the food and even longer to get the bill.
The food is good and consistent, but it takes way to long and the Lady now working the lunch shift is not very pleasant. The service used to be much better and it will be a long time before we go back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eckdish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Way past prime”
Reviewed 2 February 2012

This place was popular with Marin County government muckity-mucks in the 70s and 80s because it was close to the Civic Center and had a full bar. The food then wasn't all that bad either. Now, however, in my experience, it is utterly forgettable with pedestrian recipes, slackly prepared.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“New Years Fun!”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

High quality Basque/French food at a great price. Full bar is fun. These guys support the Mountain Play...so, they have my eternal loyalty.

Helpful?
Thank TheRuppanners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Chalet Basque Restaurant also viewed

San Rafael, Marin County
San Rafael, Marin County
 
San Rafael, Marin County
San Rafael, Marin County
 

Been to Le Chalet Basque Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing