We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A European Gourmet Adventure Awaits.....”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Le Chalet Basque Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Le Chalet Basque Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #21 of 230 Restaurants in San Rafael
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Public Transit is located in front of restaurant.
Description: Welcome to the Chalet Basque restaurant, a family style restaurant serving dishes inspired by the Basque regions of France and Spain. Located in San Rafael, California, the owner and proud staff would like to invite you to come join us for our delicious cuisine, full bar, and outdoor patio. Our restaurant is also available for Banquets and parties upon reservation.
Greenbrae, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A European Gourmet Adventure Awaits.....”
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

What a treat to discover this wonderful place. It is like stepping back in time to Earnest Hemmingway's collection of short stories written in Pamplona. Good house wines by the glass, great service and The Paia.... Delish! We also highly recommend the Salad Chalet Basque and Gambras Biscayana. Enjoy the open air cafe feel of Europe on the Patio.... Bueno Camino

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    20
    9
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
93 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excellent Full Dinner and Service for the Price”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I entertained friends here last night and both the food and service were excellent.
Chalet Basque serves full dinners; the soup was a curried split pea soup and very good. Salad wasn't imaginative--just greens and a tomato wedge--but the ingredients were fresh and the dressing was tasty.

Two guests had lamb stew they said was extremely good, and another guest had a lamb shank, also excellent.

I had fish--rock cod with a combination Béarnaise--tomato sauce, and it was 5 star superb. The fish portion was generous, perfectly cooked, and the sauce was a prize winner.

Dinners are served with fresh bread including garlic bread--a nice touch--and dessert. I had mango sherbet which was flavorful and refreshing.
Our house red wine was good.

Service was cordial and attentive, and prices are quite reasonable for an overall superb dining experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank iQuack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This lovely quaint restaurant is delightful. The service was excellent, and the food was delicious. Most dinner entrees come with a salad and soup, and is reasonably priced. This is a friendly, casual restaurant with interesting food and plenty of choices for everyone. A true treasure.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
294 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“A decent meal, sans plus”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I was in a group of six and was invited to this restaurant. I live in France and so I always kind of dread it when I get taken to a French restaurant in the US because I always imagine that it won't be as good as what I find in France. Apparently this restaurant has been around for quite a long time. I was not too impressed with the menu selection although my clam and pasta dish was just fine as was the garlic bread and soup I had. It was a very warm evening and so we sat in the shade on the patio, which was nice. The waitress was excellent, she really had great people skills and was very attentive to our table even though it was quite busy, although her hands shook horribly when pouring out water. I almost wanted to do it for her because i could tell she had some sort of a health issue. A decent meal but nothing exceptionally memorable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MiaGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent French food and atmosphere”
Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

Lunch was delicious,curry pea soup and lamb stew.
My wife had the sweetbreads in a marvelous sauce.
There is a full bar and outdoor seating.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rudycootie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Chalet Basque Restaurant also viewed

San Rafael, Marin County
San Rafael, Marin County
 
San Rafael, Marin County
 

Been to Le Chalet Basque Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing