We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Marin Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marin Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in San Rafael
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Just off the main road and from the outside looks older but maintained. Inside room was completely renovated. Very good size tiled walk in shower ver modern and comfortable. It doesn't have a pool or exercise room but I didn't plan on spending time indoors doing that, especially this close to San Francisco.
It also doesn't have a lobby but I wasn't sleeping in the lobby. The price is very good for what you get.

All in all a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    101
    16
    4
    8
See reviews for
50
127
29
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

When we drove up to this place, we were wondering just what it would be like. It was not easy to find in the dark, but thank goodness we did. The room was wonderful. It was clean, inviting, and very comfortable. I would recommend this place to everyone who wants a nice, quiet location at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cupcake2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwardsburg, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

I stay in motels about 200 nights per year. I really like the old school motor inns. Drive up, unload, sleep and go. This is one of the finest motor inns I have ever stayed in. The Innkeeper was very pleasant. The location was easy to find and GPS took me right there. Very clean and new. He is finishing up the last room renovation but you wouldn't know it as there was no dumpsters, carpet etc that you normally see. The Colonial is in a very safe and quiet neighborhood. A big pet peeve of mine is the desk chair and desk space. Excellent! No negatives here.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biggydsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

This little motel was absolutely wonderful. Quick and curteous service. The room was so cute and comfortable. Even though the price was one of the absolutely lowest in the entire area the room was a delight. The amazing king size bed was one of the most comfortable beds I have ever been in. It was just like mine at home and I am very picky for comfort and support. There were extra very large king size pillows, perfect for full body support again just like home. Nice marble trim throughout. Very large, flat screen, wall mounted TV with lots of channels. The location happens to be just down the street from an extremely popular restaurant with authentic cuisine from Puerto Rico. You will find it easily, as often there will be lines out the door. Don't worry they move fast. I highly recommend this motel for it's value and comfort. Charming indeed.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaibob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed one night in August, 2012. The Inn itself was well maintained and landscaped. Our reservation and check-in were both handled well. The room was very up to date and had both a microwave and refrigerator. The bathroom was very clean and modern as well. The Colonial Inn is much less expensive than other facilities in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arenzville, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

My wife and I have traveled all over the world, and I can truthfully say that this is one of the most charming little motels we've experienced anywhere. It's not fancy, but it's newly remodeled, decorated on the outside with little trees and vines, clean, has gracious management, is modestly priced, and is in a quiet neighborhood. We'll stay there any time we're in the San Francisco area.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelers714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FB, California
Level Contributor
127 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

I have stayed in this little budget motel for years when I have to go into San Francisco- I live 200 miles away. It's finally getting a much needed remodel, and the new rooms are beautiful! While it doesn't have all the whistles and bells of the exercise room, pool, spa, and wi-fi type, it does have a small refrigerator, free parking, a nice sized flat screen tv and little street noise. The staff were very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the remodeled rooms when you reserve.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DisappointedDiner2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Rafael
1.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center
1.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael
1.9 mi away
North Bay San Rafael
North Bay San Rafael
#6 of 8 in San Rafael
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Novato Oaks Inn
3.7 mi away
Marin Suites Hotel
Marin Suites Hotel
#2 of 3 in Corte Madera
3.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Corte Madera Inn
BEST WESTERN Corte Madera Inn
#1 of 3 in Corte Madera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marin Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marin Lodge

Property: Marin Lodge
Address: 1735 Lincoln Ave, San Rafael, CA 94901-1218
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marin County > San Rafael
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in San Rafael
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Marin Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marin Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel San Rafael
Colonial Motel San Rafael

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing