We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marin Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marin Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in San Rafael
Certificate of Excellence
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Great value motel for stopover on our way to Napa Valley - rooms were large and well equipped. A real bargain considering the costs of most hotels in the region. Well recommended for those happy to stay a bit out of San Francisco centre or on their way north.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    101
    15
    4
    8
See reviews for
50
126
29
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Downingtown, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

The room was very nice and clean. But there was no dresser for our clothes. And periodically through the night I would hear a high pitched sound. Odd, but there it is. I should haved about the noise, but it was not that big a deal. All in all, a fair place to stay. And for you tv folk, there was no guide to the channels. Not a big thing, but attention to detail makes one place above another.

Room Tip: We had #106
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 329William
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeRidder, Louisiana
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

This hotel was at least $100 less than any other one in the area and was very nice. our room was newly remodeled and was more than large enough for us. It had an office area, fridge, and large closet. you could hear the noise from the road nearby but was really not annoying at all. you are close to everything here, i will def stay here again.

Room Tip: we had room 106. it looked like some rooms on the other side were under renovation
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArielandMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Hills, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights at the Marin Lodge and were not disappointed. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We told them we were planning on eating at a small local restaurant and the staff gladly gave us their rave reviews and suggestions on what to eat. It was obvious that the room had recently been remodeled and it was very clean and nicely done. A Palm tree was being removed near the building the day we arrived as for them to have room to do some additional construction and were joined by the staff and what I believe were the owners or managers watching the large tree be moved. I would gladly stay at this location again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SherrinH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shorewood, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Marin Lodge (formally the Colonial Inn) for one night. It was a convenient and affordable place to stay as we made our way from San Francisco to Santa Rosa. I would recommend it, but with some reservations.

We had a bad first impression of the motel. First, it took us a while to locate it because in the time since I had made our reservation, they had changed their name.

After figuring this out, we checked in and got our room key. Next, finding our room was a challenge – better exterior lighting is needed to illuminate the room numbers and the card reader on the door.

The room was very nice - newly remodeled with a practical layout that makes great use of the space including: a built-in counter top area where you could eat or use your computer, a small refrigerator and microwave, a wall-mounted flat screen, and plenty of outlets for charging phones, etc. The bathroom was also updated with a large, tiled shower, tiled floor and new toilet and sink. There are pictures on their web site that represent accurately what our room looked like.

Note that there is a motion-sensor light in the bathroom so if you are in the shower long enough, the light will go off.

There were some cleanliness issues like other reviewers have mentioned – we also had an unwashed-looking bath mat/rug. It should be eliminated and replaced with a traditional, more easily-washable bath mat. There was also a used bar of soap left in the shower (but in the soap dish so it couldn’t be easily seen).

There was plenty of hot water and it was quiet.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BPi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

This is a wonderful motel on Lincoln Ave in San Rafael. Surrounded by trees.Away from traffic. Newly remodeled interiors with leading edge design and fixtures. Reasonable rates. I love it. I found the management friendly to deal with.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starbucks0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oc
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

I called the place after reading all the reviews. Mrs. Patel wasn't too friendly after responding to her questions she came back at me telling me I didn't have to be mean. She eventually told me they didn't have double beds available. I checked AAA online and I completed my registration. I called Mrs. Patel back to ask about her availability and told her about my online search. her reply was "why don't you do it online"! I made my point.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chivis98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Rafael
1.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center
4.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Novato Oaks Inn
1.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
North Bay San Rafael
North Bay San Rafael
#6 of 8 in San Rafael
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
3.6 mi away
Marin Suites Hotel
Marin Suites Hotel
#2 of 3 in Corte Madera
3.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
3.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Rafael - Francisco Blvd East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marin Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marin Lodge

Property: Marin Lodge
Address: 1735 Lincoln Ave, San Rafael, CA 94901-1218
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marin County > San Rafael
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in San Rafael
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Marin Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Marin Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel San Rafael
Colonial Motel San Rafael

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing