We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Marin Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marin Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in San Rafael
Certificate of Excellence
Davie
Level Contributor
149 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights. The room was spotless, comfortable, with free and safe parking, wonderful staff and the best of all was the cost! It is a find! Took the bus in to the Giants game for $11 each roundtrip. Nice restaurants in town on Fourth street. Had our own breakfast in our room, has frig and microwave.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ruth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    106
    17
    4
    8
See reviews for
55
134
29
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
525 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

The exterior of this motel can be deceiving as the rooms look like a series of cottage doors all lined up - sort of quaint and a bit rural looking with greenery around each door. But open up the door and you will find and contemporary room with a unique decor - sort of modern Danish. The room appears small - and it is not huge, but the space is well used with a separate section with a granite counter going along two walls for the micro, fridge and any work you need to do on the computer (comfy desk chair included). The very comfortable queen size bed is raised on a platform. A REALLY comfortable chair (bentwood with a pleather cushion) and foot stool are next to the bed -
Small bathroom but a GREAT shower.
This would be 5 stars except for two things. 1) they do not have a complimentary breakfast, and for the price, they really should
2) they have a light system that is intended to save on electricity (all well and good) but the bathroom light comes on when you enter the bathroom - goes off after you have left. OK, but getting up in the middle of the night means that the light and fan come on and wake you and any other sleepers. Turn it off - move - and it is on again. Great concept but impractical for a sleeping arrangement.
Very nice people in management here too!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Riverliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eugene, or
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Being on a very tight budget for my business travel, this motel was very appealing online. I literally got the cheapest room in the place, and was pleasantly surprised! The entire motel's appearance is unassuming when you drive up, and the place looks like it has been here since the 50's. It is clean and well maintained though. Once inside my room, I was delighted to find quite a large space plus a large bar area with a good sized fridge and microwave. The shower is huge too! Obviously a recent remodel, it is completely tiled and just gorgeous. All in all a great value. On the negative side, there is no ice machine - a minor inconvenience when traveling with a cooler. The owners are also very obviously cost-conscious when it comes to amenities - the heaters don't work without your key card (although the fan still comes on at all hours), the shower and toilets are low-flow, and there isn't daily maid service for your room. You can certainly ask for towels or more soap if you need it! Personally, I don't care for strangers in my room while I am out, so I usually ask for no service. The positives greatly overwhelm the negatives for this little gem! I have been comfortable and have felt secure in my funky room!

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong with rooms here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shanniemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Great value motel for stopover on our way to Napa Valley - rooms were large and well equipped. A real bargain considering the costs of most hotels in the region. Well recommended for those happy to stay a bit out of San Francisco centre or on their way north.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downingtown, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The room was very nice and clean. But there was no dresser for our clothes. And periodically through the night I would hear a high pitched sound. Odd, but there it is. I should haved about the noise, but it was not that big a deal. All in all, a fair place to stay. And for you tv folk, there was no guide to the channels. Not a big thing, but attention to detail makes one place above another.

Room Tip: We had #106
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 329William
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeRidder, Louisiana
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This hotel was at least $100 less than any other one in the area and was very nice. our room was newly remodeled and was more than large enough for us. It had an office area, fridge, and large closet. you could hear the noise from the road nearby but was really not annoying at all. you are close to everything here, i will def stay here again.

Room Tip: we had room 106. it looked like some rooms on the other side were under renovation
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArielandMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Hills, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights at the Marin Lodge and were not disappointed. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We told them we were planning on eating at a small local restaurant and the staff gladly gave us their rave reviews and suggestions on what to eat. It was obvious that the room had recently been remodeled and it was very clean and nicely done. A Palm tree was being removed near the building the day we arrived as for them to have room to do some additional construction and were joined by the staff and what I believe were the owners or managers watching the large tree be moved. I would gladly stay at this location again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SherrinH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Rafael
1.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael
1.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center
1.9 mi away
North Bay San Rafael
North Bay San Rafael
#6 of 8 in San Rafael
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Rafael - Francisco Blvd East
3.8 mi away
Best Western Corte Madera Inn
Best Western Corte Madera Inn
#1 of 3 in Corte Madera
802 reviews
4.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Novato Oaks Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marin Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marin Lodge

Property: Marin Lodge
Address: 1735 Lincoln Ave, San Rafael, CA 94901-1218
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marin County > San Rafael
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in San Rafael
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Marin Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marin Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel San Rafael
Colonial Motel San Rafael

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing