We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SECRET HOTEL NO TELL”
Review of Panama Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Rafael
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Panama Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in San Rafael
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Just a ways over the Golden Gate from San Francisco, in San Rafael, in the neighborhoods is The Panama. Very discreet place for an assignation, European rooms (my preference) for cheap with bath in hall, or swank suites. Down stairs is an excellent restaurant, really it all how you want it to be. No long halls hauling luggage, nearby gentle walks, shopping 4 blocks, lovely trees, and the restaurant is warm inviting, in short, lunch dinner fabulous, white table cloth breakfast for guests. I would want to own a hundred and one of these, in many burbs outside the city, yet truly close, only here Napa & Sonoma are very close, and Berkeley by the San Rafael Bridge, is the best bridge, completely a proximity yet apart from the Google bus system in SF and South Bay....

Room Tip: European is right, there's a shower or tub to choose, bathrobe provided, stay 3 days to sleep be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wwanderX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

Nestled at the bottom of the hill amongst the Victorians of Gerstle Park the twinkling lights in the conservatory danced at me every time we drove past on our way home, beckoning me to book dinner.

What a delight. An quirky, charming, laid back and delightful restaurant, intimate and cheerful. Delicious food, every course well measured, beautifully presented, sadly too large for my British stomach but every mouthful absolutely delicious.

The string quartet/band added a fun ambience, it was so sweet, romantic and lovely that I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CKJEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed at the Panama while in San Rafael for medical appointments. We had Mimi's Bungalow. It's simple yet luxurious. Beautifully funished with a delightful patio. We had friends over for wine and Hors'dourves in our suite, then dinner in the restaurant. Lovely all around. Dinner was great, even though staff was challenged to keep up with demand. Our dog was allowed to sleep next to my feet while we dined. A lovely night. Going back next month!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scoutypants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I visited Panama Hotel Restaurant on December 2, 2013 for a group business lunch. This was my first visit in many years and I enjoyed my meal, as did everyone in my group. I ordered the Golden and Red Beet Salad and the Dungeness Crab in half avocado. Both items were delicious! The ingredients were fresh and the display was very nice. The group's orders ranged from salads, fish tacos to hamburgers; all looked good and everyone was happy! Service was very good and our group of 12 was placed in the enclosed patio area which was lovely. Panama Hotel is close to work so I plan to return more often now that I've rediscovered it. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Julia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We visited friends in San Rafael and they recommended the Panama Hotel. We were unsure about our choice based on a few odd reviews, but after staying in Mimi's Bungalow for several nights, we can give a great review! Ground floor, farther away from the restaurant, quiet, spacious, clean, nicely decorated, with a comfy bed. The door opens onto a room with a futon, sink, teensy microwave and teeny fridge. Beautiful bathroom to the right (clean, with a new shower, shower head that mists, and grapefruit/ginger toiletries)... And bedroom to the left. Both rooms had nice flat screen televisions and big full-length mirrors. Big, walk-in closet and vanity area behind the bed for clothes and suitcases. (Good area for make-up, since the bathroom lighting is dark.)
Breakfast was nice... Nothing fancy. We ate dinner in the restaurant one night (different management, so we could not add it to the hotel bill) and especially enjoyed the very professional and friendly service. Restaurant is pretty... Especially the patio. It was more quiet for talking out there and they kept us warm with those big outdoor heaters.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Notjustanyhotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Such a delightful experience----spotless, lovely furnishings, friendly staff, and so quaint. The bonus for us was the delicious restaurant packed both nights with locals. The live jazz groups were a great treat.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drive158blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

This B&B is located in a residential neighborhood of San Rafael Ca. We stayed in the Bordelo room. It is up a rather steep set of stairs. It has a queen bed in the bedroom with a flat screen tv and cable, two clothes closets, and a small balcony with one table and two chairs. The en suite bathroom includes a clawfoot tub with shower, and an area with frig, microwave, coffee machine, wine glasses, corkscrew, coffee and cream and sugar. There is also a window air conditioner in the bathroom, which cools the whole area after a while. We found the room stuffy each day when we returned, but with balcony door open if a breeze or the ac, it was comfortable by evening. Comfortable bed. Could hear restaurant noise during dinner service with balcony door open, but not loud. On street parking is difficult at times. Continental breakfast (every day but Sunday) was fairly standard.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank mountainhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Rafael
2.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center
2.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael
1.3 mi away
North Bay San Rafael
North Bay San Rafael
#6 of 8 in San Rafael
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Rafael - Francisco Blvd East
1.8 mi away
Courtyard San Francisco Larkspur Landing/Marin County
2.5 mi away
Marin Suites Hotel
Marin Suites Hotel
#2 of 3 in Corte Madera
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panama Hotel

Address: 4 Bayview St, San Rafael, CA 94901-4913
Region: United States > California > Marin County > San Rafael
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in San Rafael
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing