We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An awful experience that I would not wish on anyone.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of North Bay San Rafael

North Bay San Rafael
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
North Bay San Rafael
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in San Rafael
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An awful experience that I would not wish on anyone.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

I made my reservation early to make things easier. The reservation was paid for twice and I had to call to have it refunded. When I showed up they told me they couldn't find any proof of a reservation so the girl took my card and said it would be straightened out later, even though I had a copy of the receipt on my phone. They decided to charge my card again and got paid twice for the room a second time.They still haven't given me my money back.
During my stay I barely got any sleep because the heater was extremely loud, it woke me up almost every hour when it turned off and on. Overall this place was a very bad experience for me and it started before I even got there.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pamela197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    34
    17
    3
    13
See reviews for
22
31
17
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

We only stayed here one night, but the bed was comfortable and the room clean. Not a great neighborhood for walking around, as it was in a street of car dealerships, but conveniently close to downtown San Rafael. It is very close to the freeway, and we were concerned that it might be really noisy, but it is well insulated and we weren't aware of the freeway once the door was shut. The shower was OK, not great, but clean.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scouseusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

This place is a great value considering the location. The room appeared recently remodeled, and looked to be in excellent shape. Honestly, I was shocked at how nice it was considering the modest price for the area. The shades knocked out all the outside light and gave us a chance to take a nice afternoon nap before going out for the night. Being right next to Hwy 101 had me a bit nervous about noise. It was noticeable, but honestly not a dealbreaker at all. Our room was equipped with a nice fridge, LCD tv, and microwave. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rusty_Shakelford21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

Clean rooms that have been renovated within the last couple of years. Nice TV's, bathrooms and beds. I am not really picky but had a great stay. Nice owners who seem to enjoy their guests. Will stay here again. Your other options in this area, Travel lodge and Motel 6 are not really options. Stay here. Walking distance to Terrapin Crossroads.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmswartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsville, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

When I approached the hotel and found it on a side street, down what looked like an alley, I thought I was in for a bad experience,especially with the small parking lot. I was pleasantly surprised.

The room and bathroom were clean and well kept. It looked like it was newly re-done. Amazing tile work in the bathroom. Service was good. RIGHT off the freeway so very accessible. Gas for car, food, and stores were within 3 miles of hotel. Free Wi-Fi. Lots of decent channels with the Dish Network and flat screen tv. Good coffee choices, both in the room and lobby.

On the opposite side, it is a tad pricey for what you get. There were stains on the fitted sheet, but they were very quick to fix that and I was refunded money. Go somewhere else for breakfast. Anyone with a physical mobility issue needs to stay on the ground floor. One very small trashcan per room. Freeway noise, but it is not a chain hotel, so the insulation is not as thick.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

Where to start? Wi-Fi in common areas-I guess that is the 8 foot lobby. Clean? Hardly - garbage behind the dresser, floor is filthy, holes in the bedspreads and lampshades (which were not sized correctly). Picture tube going out on the tv. Told front desk several times, inquired about changing rooms - "I'll call you back when I find something out...." No call back. Nothing. Hair dryer in room - well yes, but it doesn't work. Police called to the hotel the second night we stayed - man pounding loudly on door "YOU STOLE MY MONEY - OPEN THE DOOR!!" Next night some guy - assuming I was alone, came to window "It's your neighbor....want a beer?" My husband said no thanks. Never, ever, in a million years would I stay here again. Oh - and other reviews said it was quit - NO - freeway right there, not to mention the horrible sound the air conditioner made.

Room Tip: I seriously doubt there are any good rooms here. I would caution readers of these reviews - I must n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chaos_slc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Rafael hotels

1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

Was expecting a less than average stay when I pulled up and saw the hotel. Upon entering my room I was amazed at how nice it was. Honestly better than a few Bestwesterns and even Holiday Inns I've stayed at. Room had new furniture and amazing tile work in the bathroom. I think great room for the price if you look past outer appearance.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tdvincent0209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Rafael
1.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Rafael - Francisco Blvd East
3.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center
3.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Marin Suites Hotel
Marin Suites Hotel
#2 of 3 in Corte Madera
3.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Corte Madera Inn
BEST WESTERN Corte Madera Inn
#1 of 3 in Corte Madera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
0.9 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Bay San Rafael? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Bay San Rafael

Property: North Bay San Rafael
Address: 855 Francisco Blvd E, San Rafael, CA 94901-4726
Region: United States > California > Marin County > San Rafael
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in San Rafael
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — North Bay San Rafael 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your North Bay San Rafael reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Bay San Rafael Hotel San Rafael
North Bay Hotel San Rafael

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing