We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, poor location”

North Bay San Rafael
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
North Bay San Rafael
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in San Rafael
Reviewed 2 September 2008

Our room was very nice (as described by other reviewers) and extremely clean. Considering the location right next to the freeway, it was also very quiet and comfortable. The one thing other reviewers didn't mention was the location. Marin County is a beautiful place with incredible views and lovely towns, but this motel is in a bad area right on the freeway. We did not feel comfortable walking anywhere. It was an easy drive to get to most places of interest, but we prefer to be walking distance to something. Overall we had a pleasant stay, but I would have preferred a nicer neighborhood.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jennevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2008

Located at the 101 and 580 this was a wonderful find! We were going to an NHRA event and a GIANTS game and it is the midpoint of the 2. We also took the Larkspur Ferry to the game at the last minute which is just 1 exit over! The staff is very nice and accomodating. A clean room and fresh bottle of water everyday, great selection of coffees, pastries and fruit plus fruit bars, cereal and oatmeal. The rooms are quite large and have granite counter/table tops, a mini fridge, microwave and a flat screen T.V. with a large selection of channels. The beds are VERY comfortable and the sheets are nice and soft. We plan on going back next year and this is the place we will stay!
Linda Lee
from Reno

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank destiny1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2008

I booked the North Bay Inn based on reading others' reviews. Thankfully they were spot on. The rooms were very clean, renovated. There is a fridge and a microwave. The bed was as comfortable as any high end hotel. We felt this was good value for the money. And for us, it was geographically desirable with easy access to Route 101, close to Starbuck's, and other food options so finding meals was not a problem . You really couldn't hear the highway in the rooms at night especialyy with the A/C on. I would highly recommend this to anyone who is looking for a clean, moderate motel to stay. it was very good value and accomodations for the money. I would stay there again on a return trip...without a doubt.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbc2401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2008

As far as the construction that has been mentioned in previous reviews: You don't even hear it once in your room and, ALL of the hotels in San Rafael are in this same location. I have now stayed here for a total of 4 weeks (leaving Saturday to return Tuesday) and have appreciated it every time! The staff is extremely friendly and accomodating. I am in the process of relocating to San Rafael from Reno, NV for work. I travel every week and have stayed at most of the hotels in San Rafael/Marin County. I request North Bay Inn as it has a refrig, freezer and microwave. I always request the same room and always, so far, have gotten my preference. It is quiet and, once you close the door, feels like you are not in the middle of it all, especially since it is very centrally located. I worked in the hotel/casino industry for years and can definately say this is a clean, quiet place. Also, the bed comfort is AMAZING!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank myssjesyca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2008

This small motel is clearly run by people who care.

My large room was well-furnished (plasma TV, sofa, refer, mwave), spotless, and thoughtfully prepared - one favorite touch was the bath mat, which was laid on the tub edge with one corner folded up and a round of soap nestled in the fold.

The staff were welcoming and helpful. The price was extremely reasonable - I called direct and was quoted an even lower price than shown on their website.

The continental breakfast was surprisingly complete, for a cold in-the-lobby type of spread, with healthful choices (fruit, yogurt) as well as the typical wrapped pastries, plus a wonderful fresh-brew coffee machine.

The only real drawbacks were barely-adequate room lighting, and a fair amount of highway noise.

I'll certainly return.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2008

We stayed at the North Bay on our way back from Muir Woods, knowing that it was our last night in the SF area before we went to Alcatraz and flew out the next day. Despite the road construction, this motel was a very pleasant surprise. It has been renovated very nicely. (granite counters, fridge, flat screen tv, comfortable beds, etc.) The management and staff were very friendly, very glad that we stayed!!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvs2holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2008

We highly recommend North Bay Inn. This is a great place to stay. The staff was friendly and the rooms are very nice. We booked this for a rest before sightseeing in San Francisco and all in our group were pleased with this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tlocke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Rafael
3.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael
1.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Rafael - Francisco Blvd East
3.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Marin Suites Hotel
Marin Suites Hotel
#2 of 3 in Corte Madera
597 reviews
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
2.2 mi away
Best Western Corte Madera Inn
Best Western Corte Madera Inn
#1 of 3 in Corte Madera
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Bay San Rafael? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Bay San Rafael

Address: 855 Francisco Blvd E, San Rafael, CA 94901-4726
Region: United States > California > Marin County > San Rafael
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in San Rafael
Price Range: £68 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — North Bay San Rafael 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your North Bay San Rafael reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Bay San Rafael Hotel San Rafael
North Bay Hotel San Rafael

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing