We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like ghetto living .....”
Review of Motel 6 San Rafael

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Motel 6 San Rafael
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in San Rafael
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If you like ghetto living .....”
Reviewed 24 December 2011

This is the place for you. Shabby room, no fridge, had to request microwave and blow drier. Impossible parking. Let's see, I could go on all day. But I won't. Send an extra couple of bucks and go down the road .... anywhere.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mjp99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    17
    25
    15
    18
See reviews for
16
20
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Stayed there for one night, flies all over the bathroom and carpet sticky, smelly and laundry facilities not working, rough neighborhood, drive on by

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank korkybuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Rafael hotels

Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2011

I am currently staying at this hotel while writing this review so it's a first hand account. The fire alarm is hanging from the ceiling by it's wires, the heater/ac unit is broken, there is padding missing from the carpet so it is uneven as you enter the room. Our fan in the bathroom doesn't even have a switch to turn it on with. And worst of all there are no microwaves in the rooms.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 2CachePirates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2011

My husband and I were scheduled for a training near San Rafael. The day before it was to begin, I began having preterm contractions and was put on bed rest. I needed to be near my husband in case we had to get to a hospital so we decided getting a room for me would be good. My husband picked this hotel due to price and they allow pets. The minute we we walked in we knew we had made a mistake. Since it was already 11pm, raining, and we were miles away, we decided to stay.

I've stayed at a lot of Motel 6, but this was THE WORST!! Motel 6 generally will give you a no frills, clean, and comfy spot but this place was everything but! The floor was disgusting, the walls needed painting...the whole stinkin' place was in need of a touch up! Seriously, had the owner simply painted the walls and deeped cleaned the carpet, I'm certain it would've done wonders for that room.

Noon the next day, we checked out and stayed where we should have, Extended Stay just down the street.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank teamspears2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graz, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

I am my colleague were on a sales trip and did not much time to book the motel in advance. We just wanted a cheap place for sleeping and get our spine straightened for the next day presentation.However as it turned out the motel was not so bad as reviews speak of Motel 6. The staff was welcoming. I found the room was occupied earlier and the cleaning staff did not care of cleaning it after the tenant left. The mattress was extra soft for me. I will not complain much but this motel is good if one want to save bucks.

Keanu

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keanu_maverick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2010

extremely over priced for a small, dingy room with zero amenities even ifor the bay area.
it's a good thing the television had such poor reception - when we turned it on it was tuned to a hardcore porn station. the high speed internet did work okay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maraeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2010

Ended up staying here as we struggled to get a room in san francisco due to a convention in town. We were attracted tot his place as it was not to far away and the price was VERY appealing compared to what was around in San Fran and I must say we were not disapointed. It is locatd just over the golden gate bridge and was superb. Yes, it is a budget hotel so bare that in mind but it was clean, safe and the staff were brilliant. It's in a good location with a few bars, shops about a 20 minute walk away and a burger king just down the road. Having been here I would definitly choose to stay here again instead of staying in San Franscisco itself. I really could not justify spending double to stay in the city centre when this place is so so close

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank electroshock735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Rafael
0.2 mi away
North Bay San Rafael
North Bay San Rafael
#6 of 8 in San Rafael
87 reviews
1.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Rafael - Francisco Blvd East
3.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael
1.0 mi away
Courtyard San Francisco Larkspur Landing/Marin County
2.3 mi away
Best Western Corte Madera Inn
Best Western Corte Madera Inn
#1 of 3 in Corte Madera
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 San Rafael? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 San Rafael

Property: Motel 6 San Rafael
Address: 737 Francisco Blvd E, San Rafael, CA 94901-4007 (Formerly Days Inn San Rafael/San Francisco)
Region: United States > California > Marin County > San Rafael
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in San Rafael
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 San Rafael 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 San Rafael CA is conveniently located off of US-101 at Central San Rafael. Restaurants are within walking distance and shops are nearby. The Golden Gate Bridge is only 12 miles. Free Wi-Fi is available in all of our modern guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Motel 6 San Rafael reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 San Rafael Hotel San Rafael
Motel Six San Rafael
San Rafael Motel 6
San Rafael Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing