We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Motel 6 San Rafael(San Rafael)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marin Lodge(San Rafael)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Inn(San Rafael)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Panama Hotel(San Rafael)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
US$172
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$257
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$245
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,330)
Filter reviews
1,330 results
Traveller rating
467
415
258
131
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
467
415
258
131
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe manager's receptionindoor poolmade to order breakfastmarin countykoi pondfree breakfastcivic centerbeautiful lobbybreakfast was excellentwine countrythe breakfast arealiving roommuir woodsoatmealthe golden gate bridgeatriumpopcorn
Filter
Updating list...
1,131 - 1,136 of 1,330 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Choices weren't great for Hilton properties in Marin so I booked this Embassy Suites. Standard layout with carp swimming in the atrium. Staff was so-so. Thought about extending one night at my rate and the clerk seemed receptive but her manager quickly overruled her. Used to love Embassy Suites but Hilton Garden Inn and Homewood Suites both exceed this chain in the Hilton family. Nice flat screen TVs but every Embassy seems to be stuck on the 1990s satellite reception - selection was average and picture quality poor. Was given a ticket/voucher for breakfast and was collected on the way in. Breakfast was very good but summarized best upon leaving when the woman who had collected the ticket remarked "I hope everything was OK." It was. Simply OK. Not great. Not wonderful. Just OK - they way they apparently want it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrekRef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Stayed for one night while traveling around Calif. We debated about staying here because of some negative comments on Trip Advisor. As it tured out we had a delightful experience. Check in went smoothly and the staff was curteous and professional. We used the Hilton Honors Points plus Money program so the price was affordable though it is a pricey property. We were located on the Hilton Honors floor and the room was very nice. It appeared that special attention may be given to this (top) floor. The managers reception was fine and the bartender was very efficient and managed to keep the line moving. We dined in the onsite restaurant where the food was good (salads) but service a bit slow as staff was minimal because of a slow night. The biggest surprise was a full page letter in our suite explaining that thee USA Today papers would no longer be delivered to the suites and only a limited number of papers were available at the front desk. The explanation presented was it was a Hilton Worldwide decision to discontinue wide distribution of the papers to save energy and also because news is so widely available on TV and the net that papers are not longer necessary! Perplexing was the fact that we stayed at 12 different Hilton properties this trip and this was the only one that had adopted this practice of cutting back on papers!!!! I'd recommend the hotel as an alternative to the Very Pricey hotels closer to San Francisco. However as is the case with a lot of Embassy Suites the property is starting to look its age and could use some updating.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank murraygirl29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Have stayed at the property in the past, mainly for family events. We thought the hotel seemed a bit worn. It is a typical Embassy Suites layout and met the basic requirements for our stay. The economy must be wearing on the facility. We received breakfast coupons at arrival time and they were collected before you entered the dining facility. If you have more than two people in your room, you are charged $15 for each additional meal ticket. Overall, pretty average.

Room Tip: Elevators are really busy and rather slow. Stay on a lower floor.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank euroboundtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I booked this hotel for the simple reason , it had free parking & free breakfast also it looked clean and very presentable it was cheaper to stay here than in San Francisco & had more amities than most hotels plus no valet parking charges like we encountered when we last visited in 2009
Upon arrival at the front desk clerk was very nice & polite, I booked 2 suites that were very spacious & clean, we dumped our bags & went down to the mangers reception where we received free snacks & a cold beer( very civilised).
The free breakfast was fantastic, we ordered bespoke omelettes & there was also a choice of cereal fruit & numerous other things to eat, the hotel is set in a very serene hilly location with a shopping mall & restaurants less than half a mile away, so if you forget something there would be no need to panic.
We drove to San Francisco via the golden gate bride daily, which was roughly a 20 mile drive & paid $20 to park at pier 17 car lot & $6 toll on the return journey, it was nicer driving into the city on a daily basis rather than being lost in it!
I would recommend this hotel to families wanting to relax after a long day sight seeing & want to be away from the bustle of the city at sun down.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

My wife, daughter and I stayed here for one night mid-week. We arrived around noon. There was no line, the guest agent said there was no room, but to check back in about an hour. We waited for an hour, our king-room was ready on the fourth floor. Property inside and outside was nice. Lobby and atrium were nice and taken care off. Based on previous reviews about it needing an updated, it probably could use a nice touch of paint, but overall the property was very nice. The room was smaller compared to other Embassy properities we've stayed at. Room was in good condition, comfortable, fridge, microwave, comfortable bed and pillows, bathroom was a little small. Location was perfect, a short distance drive into the city. We couldn't get a reasonable rate for a night in the city, and decided to stay here and take the drive. Breakfast was good quality. We would definately stay here again based on convenience, price, and quality.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wmacetheace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews