We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,367)
Filter reviews
1,367 results
Traveller rating
476
420
274
135
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
476
420
274
135
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe manager's receptionindoor poolfree drinksmade to order breakfastmarin countykoi pondcivic centerbeautiful lobbycomplimentary breakfastthe breakfast areabreakfast was excellentwine countryliving roommuir woodsoatmealthe golden gate bridgeatrium
Filter
Updating list...
1,166 - 1,171 of 1,367 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2012

The Embassy Suites brand promise is fairly consistent throughout North America, and in some case, even the property layout is eerily similar to one another. From that perspective, this was your "typical" Embassy Suites.

Who is most likely going to like and enjoy staying at an Embassy Suites? Families (especially with children). It might be fine for the business traveller, but I would rarely consider an Embassy Suites to be a romantic location and it is so-so for the solo traveller.

What makes it so good for families: The suite concept: 1 or 2 bedrooms. A 2 bedroom suite (which is what we had) could easily accomodate 4 adults and two children (we had 1 king + 2 queens or doubles), and I can't recall if the sofa was pullout or not. SO top marks for size. The living room size is adequate and so is the bathroom. Where this property (and other Embassy Suites) didn't do to well was to have enough amenities (including towels) for the # of guests in the room, something that was quickly fixed by the font desk. Free "cooked-to-order" breakfast, combined with free internet, an indoor pool, a business center, a coin laundry area and more makes it great for a stopover or extended stay. The only drawback of this property is that it is in-between locations: not quite in San Francisco (but not that far off via Golden Gate) and still a bit of a distance from Napa/Sonoma (30-60 minutes depending on desired location).

Other than a mid-size shopping centre on the other side of the highway, there is very little to do in this part of San Rafael, and I also find dining options to be limited. The good news is that if you are looking for sandwiches, pizzas and snacks, the room service offer is quite good and priced reasonably. On the other, the full service restaurant with more sizeable items was a bit of a disappointment.

As breakfast is free, it can get quite crowded with moderate lineups. Some basic items (such as yogourt) were also lacking - but there was still enough to please most people.

Service was excellent from start to finish and staff were friendly and accomodating.

Given how inexpensive this location is for a week-end stay vs a downtown San Fransciso stay or something of similar quality in the Napa/Sonoma area, this was well worth it, hence the 5-star rating. Otherwise, this would have earned a solid 4-star

Room Tip: For large families, booked an "hospitality suite" which can easily accomodate 4 adults + 2 children (and maybe more!)
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ottwatrvllr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

I am a dedicated Hilton customer. I have stayed in Hilton Family hotels in over 15 countries around the world. So please heed my warning: This place is the worst kind of mediocre.

There are one or two star employes, and the rest seem that they could care less about their jobs. They have little or no interest in client happiness, let alone satisfaction.

Okay, lets be clear -- the rooms are okay. The place is clean. The pros stop there.

After that, apathy and helplessness rule.

For instance, I have often walked past the desk only to hear the desk staff gossiping about how unreasonable or 'stupid' a given guest was.

Hilton -- either fix this place or sell it.

Room Tip: Stay at the Four Points...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheWealthyHobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Choices weren't great for Hilton properties in Marin so I booked this Embassy Suites. Standard layout with carp swimming in the atrium. Staff was so-so. Thought about extending one night at my rate and the clerk seemed receptive but her manager quickly overruled her. Used to love Embassy Suites but Hilton Garden Inn and Homewood Suites both exceed this chain in the Hilton family. Nice flat screen TVs but every Embassy seems to be stuck on the 1990s satellite reception - selection was average and picture quality poor. Was given a ticket/voucher for breakfast and was collected on the way in. Breakfast was very good but summarized best upon leaving when the woman who had collected the ticket remarked "I hope everything was OK." It was. Simply OK. Not great. Not wonderful. Just OK - they way they apparently want it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrekRef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Stayed for one night while traveling around Calif. We debated about staying here because of some negative comments on Trip Advisor. As it tured out we had a delightful experience. Check in went smoothly and the staff was curteous and professional. We used the Hilton Honors Points plus Money program so the price was affordable though it is a pricey property. We were located on the Hilton Honors floor and the room was very nice. It appeared that special attention may be given to this (top) floor. The managers reception was fine and the bartender was very efficient and managed to keep the line moving. We dined in the onsite restaurant where the food was good (salads) but service a bit slow as staff was minimal because of a slow night. The biggest surprise was a full page letter in our suite explaining that thee USA Today papers would no longer be delivered to the suites and only a limited number of papers were available at the front desk. The explanation presented was it was a Hilton Worldwide decision to discontinue wide distribution of the papers to save energy and also because news is so widely available on TV and the net that papers are not longer necessary! Perplexing was the fact that we stayed at 12 different Hilton properties this trip and this was the only one that had adopted this practice of cutting back on papers!!!! I'd recommend the hotel as an alternative to the Very Pricey hotels closer to San Francisco. However as is the case with a lot of Embassy Suites the property is starting to look its age and could use some updating.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank murraygirl29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Have stayed at the property in the past, mainly for family events. We thought the hotel seemed a bit worn. It is a typical Embassy Suites layout and met the basic requirements for our stay. The economy must be wearing on the facility. We received breakfast coupons at arrival time and they were collected before you entered the dining facility. If you have more than two people in your room, you are charged $15 for each additional meal ticket. Overall, pretty average.

Room Tip: Elevators are really busy and rather slow. Stay on a lower floor.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank euroboundtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews