We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in San Rafael
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reno, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Value”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

A nice property with a friendly staff and amenities. A free and diverse breakfast is a time and money saver, the managers evening reception is available with the full bar and snacks (a nice way to spend "happy hour" if you enjoy that sort of thing) Rooms are set up to be quiet and are clean and comfortable. We used our stay as a base of operations for exploring the Pt. Reyes and Tomales Bay area, a good option if you are not staying out along Highway 1.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pat S, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words reagrding your recent stay with us. I always appreciate hearing from our guests and it is especially nice, when you read how much a guest enjoyed their stay from the suite, to the amenities to the location of the hotel. Thank you! We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    358
    223
    96
    42
See reviews for
451
258
42
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I arrived to a bathroom that was filthy. Blood splatters on shower curtain (don't even want to guess about cause of this). Stained carpets that smelled old and scuffs and missing paint on beat up walls and doors. The vent in the bathroom was covered with dirt and the cover broke fell off bathroom outlet which then quit working all together. The toilet paper holder's spring was broken by day 3 and not replaced. Paper wouldn't stay on roll. It's really hard to believe housekeeping can ignore all of these items so completely.

I left an empty water bottle on bed stand which stood untouched for 2 days till I finally threw out. Bed was okay for comfort, but sheets scratchy and could use softener!

As a Hilton Honers frequent traveler since 1990 and I have to say this is one of the saddest rooms I've ever stayed in. Hilton should be embarrassed! Entire property needs a facelift. Even the furniture in the bar/lounge is circa 1980's!!

On the flip side, the staff was very nice and food decent.

Room Tip: Can't recommend based on my experience. I'll avoid in future completely.
See more room tips
Green Features: Can't say as I had to use my towels everyday to cover filthy floors in bath and bedroom.
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel_Girl19572013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pat S, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
First and foremost I want to apologize for what you experienced during your recent stay with us. What you encountered and found was unacceptable and no where near the level of service and cleanliness one expects and deserves at a Hilton Property. Honestly, I am embarassed as the General Manager to realize that this suite was even put in service. I am reasonable enough to know and understand that at times something can fall through the cracks as we are human, however, we failed on many points relative to suite. You can be assured that I will be speaking with the staff and will do what is necessary to ensure that this does not happen in the future. As a Hilton Honors Member your patronage and loyalty to the brand is appreciated. Thank you for your candor and for also citing a few positives relative to the food being good and the staff friendly. It is my hope that given the opportunity to stay with us again, that you will do so, as I can assure you that we are far better then what you experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane,WA
Level Contributor
136 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This property has a great location in beautiful Marin County. I paid AAA/AARP rate @ $160.55+19.59 tax, which I thought was a pretty penny. I was surprised that it was quiet -- given the open atrium design. I was comfortable for the most part; but it has shortcomings---maybe age-related.
THE BATHROOM: Has no night-light; no close-up mirror; t.p. holder is inconvenient. BETWEEN THE WALLS: Hear toilets flushing constantly; next-door slams and moves the bed! The sounds of sexual intercourse,too!
Window frame dirty;no screen;opens 3"; AC mechanical and refrigerator are noisy. GOOD THINGS:Breakfast [buffet needs hand-sanitizer dispensers]; towels; complimentary happy hour; business center; manager's attention.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BossTweed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pat S, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, but for also speaking directly to me prior to your departure from the hotel. As I had mentioned, our guests feedback is important and is a means for us to better understand and improve upon our guests experience. The items brought to my attention in your suite were taken care of and I am looking into and sharing your suggestions and recommendations with Ownership with the hope that we can make them happen soon and/or with upgrades and changes to the property from a capital investment standpoint. I appreciate your mentioning that you enjoyed the breakfast, complimentary evening reception, the business center and the fact that you were listened to. I appreciate that. It is my hope that when your travels bring you back to our area, that you will not hesitate to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed for two nights in the Embassy Suites. The staff was very friendly and helpful in every way. We enjoyed a two room suite with comfortable beds. The breakfast was very complete, we enjoyed the "made to order" omelets. The WIFI was a little slow, but overall our experience was first class. This is located next to the Convention center which provides a nice area by a small pond with abundant wildlife (birds). The complimentary drinks with some light snacks made our time complete. Being only a 30 minute drive from downtown San Francisco made this a perfect location for us to stay on our trip. The elevators can be slow at times, but with only five stories one does not have to wait for too long.

Room Tip: Great views of the interior area from upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TucsonHikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pat S, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. I was very happy to hear that you found the hotel to be comfortable, the amenities enjoyable, the staff friendly and our location to be ideal for seeing the best of what San Francisco has to offer. The staff works hard to ensure that all of our guests feel like they are home and they appreciate it when they receive feedback from our guests...it's wonderful reinforcement for them...so thnak you again. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Pine, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This was the worst experience I have ever had with an Embassy Suites. The coffee cup appeared to have been used and left in the room. Someone had used and left a pubic hair inside the conditioner container and the manager seemed to think it was no big deal. It made the whole stay feel gross and dirty.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pat S, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
First and foremost I want to apologize for your suite not being up to the normal standards we expect and strive for on a daily basis. There is no excuse for what you found in your suite to have been there... I sincerely apologize. I have asked that my Director of Rooms to share your review with our Housekeeping Team and to work with them to ensure that they understand the importance of not only cleaning but in checking and double checking before they leave each suite to ensure each detail has been taken care of. As you can see from the many reviews we receive, we are much better then you experienced and it is my hope that if in the area again, that you will give us another try. In fact, when you do visit, please contact me directly at the hotel and i will personally make your reservation for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
195 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Besides the 80's decor in the Atrium and restaurant and bar, which is the center of the entire hotel this place is ok.
It's is great for families with young children. There is a pool and stream running through lobby area that the kids will love. The rooms are suites and very nice bordering on 4 star but a little dated. The free bees are a good deal too, free drinks at 5 pm, free full breakfast in the morning. The hotel is quiet and is off the freeway about 1/4 mile. It is clean and well staffed,service was good and friendly.i don't think you ll have a problem here except for the dated areas.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors, corner rooms, rooms away from banquet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TropicalTommy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pat S, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you for your candid feedabck regarding your recent stay with us. It was nice to read that you found the hotel clean, the amenities enjoyable and the staff attentive and friendly. In terms of the hotel needing to be updated, your feedback and insight is important as we share our guests feedback with Ownership. As a 23 year old property, there are areas for improvement as well as those that need to be re-freshed and we are currently working on a few areas now that will be completed towards the end of the year and others that will be addressed in the not too distant future. Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, United States
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Make sure to take full advantage of all the complimentary benefits of ordering this suite. Do not waste your time sitting in the bedroom saying "I love you" to each other. You paid 200+ dollars to stay here so make it worthwhile.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Jared A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pat S, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thanks for letting people know that the amenities that Embassy offers it's guests are what makes a stay with us so enjoyable. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Rafael
0.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael
4.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Rafael - Francisco Blvd East
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Novato Oaks Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Marin Suites Hotel
Marin Suites Hotel
#2 of 3 in Corte Madera
3.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
5.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Corte Madera Inn
8.1 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center
Address: 101 McInnis Pkwy, San Rafael, CA 94903-2773
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marin County > San Rafael
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in San Rafael
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / San Rafael
Embassy Suites San Rafael
San Rafael Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing