We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in San Rafael
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed seven nights so that we could explore San Francisco and areas to the north. It was quiet, excellent water pressure, wonderful breakfast, and in a great location. The staff members were kind and informative.

Room Tip: It is an all suite hotel. We were on the 5th floor over the restaurant area.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bobbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjdrios, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Embassy Suites - San Rafael. We are delighted to hear that your stay was positive and that you appreciated all our amenities and hotel comforts. We look forward in being of service during your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,202)
There are newer reviews for Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

721 - 727 of 1,202 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

My family and I truly enjoyed our recent five nights' stay at the San Rafael Embassy Suites. The hotel's location fit in perfectly with our plans to visit both San Francisco, Sausalito, John Muir Woods & points of interest to the south as well as Napa, Petaluma (for Lagunitas Brewing Co.), & Santa Rosa (for Russian River Brewing Co.) to the north. We avoided am rush hour into the city and were able to make it to the GG Bridge in about 20 minutes every time! Although this Embassy is certainly not new, we found it to have a special charm about it which is evident the minute you step into the beautiful lobby and atrium area (with a water fall, koi ponds, and lush plants & flowers everywhere). Our suite was spacious, very clean, and appeared to have been recently refurbished. Complimentary breakfast was outstanding with A LOT of options (and some of the best made-to-order omelets I've ever had). Elevators were a little slow but staying on the 2nd floor made using the stairs convenient. Other reasons for 5-stars: Affordable rates, complimentary parking (some hotels in SF charge $60/day!!), very friendly and helpful hotel staff, quiet neighborhood but still conveniently close to the 101 Freeway, gas, and Walgreens, small but good fitness room with modern equipment, and complimentary evening happy hour!

Room Tip: Choose low-floor rooms to avoid slow elevators.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CyclingEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjdrios, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Embassy Suites - San Rafael. We are delighted to hear that your stay was positive and that you appreciated all our amenities and hotel comforts. We look forward in being of service during your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Hotel is in a great location but in need of renovation. Furniture is very old and worn. Common areas and doors are worn and in need of replacement. Pool area is very old and needs to be re-done. Elevators are old and slow. Some of them had a weird smell in them. This property is in need of a complete renovation to make it a great place to stay. At this time I cannot recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjdrios, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Please accept my sincere apologies for the issues you experienced during your stay. We do our best to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay and we will use your comments as we continuously work to improve our guest experience.

Thank you for providing us with your perspective. We hope that your next stay with us will be much improved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 6 night and loved it, the room was spacious, clean. Breakfast in morning was great. Managers drinks in the afternoon a great plus. Staff friendly and helpful. Not to far from San Francisco and free parking. Will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank OLodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjdrios, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Embassy Suites - San Rafael. We are delighted to hear that your stay was positive and that you appreciated all our amenities and hotel comforts. We look forward in being of service during your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Yes, I know the title is a bit cornball, but it really does a nice job of explaining our experience. My wife and I visit the Bay Area about every 6 months or so. We spent a great deal of time researching exactly where to stay before our first visit. Since many of the hotels we researched obliged visitors to also pay anywhere between $30 and $50 per night just to park, staying within the city of San Francisco itself was out of the question. But we did not want a simple Motel 6, either.

Embassy Suites is nice enough that you will definitely enjoy your stay there without breaking the bank doing it. The hotel is located a few miles north of the Golden Gate Bridge. It is across the freeway (101) from a mall on a side street next to what looks like an educational complex. The entire area is nice and quiet - all you hear at night is the sound of frogs in the nearby drainage creek. But one of the best things about it is that you don't have to cross the bridge (and pay the toll) in order to enjoy the surrounding activities: Muir Woods, Angel Island, Point Reyes, and wine country are all located on the north side of the peninsula.

As for the hotel itself, the staff is very friendly. Check-in has always been a breeze. Every evening between 5 and 7, the hotel offers complimentary cocktails - nothing fancy (and there is a limit) but it is a nice way to unwind after a long day of sightseeing. The rooms are comfortable and fairly quiet - you will hear the occasional shower running or toilet flushing, but nothing to the point of being disturbing. Finally, the Embassy Suites is only of the only reasonable hotels that I know off that offers a full complimentary breakfast - way above and beyond the normal continental fare. Eating there in the morning meant that we were not hungry until much later in the day and saved us the hassle and cost of having to find something.

Perhaps the only downside to the hotel - and it's not really much of a downside - is the surrounding area. As I said, the hotel is located on a side street, not much else there. There is no nightlife or surrounding shops to speak of. Stores/restaurants on the other side of the freeway all close around 10. So, once you are finished in the city and head back to the hotel, you are pretty much in for the night.

All in all, however, a great little place to stay while in the Bay Area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian61871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjdrios, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Embassy Suites - San Rafael. We are delighted to hear that your stay was positive and that you appreciated all our amenities and hotel comforts. We look forward in being of service during your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is all by itself. No restaurants (except for hotel and mall "food court")... Room was not as clean as we would expect for a hilton embassy. Hairs found and finger nails on bathroom counter. Walls abit thin. Bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryrosevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjdrios, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Please accept my sincere apologies for the issues you experienced during your stay. We do our best to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay and we will use your comments as we continuously work to improve our guest experience.

Thank you for providing us with your perspective. We hope that your next stay with us will be much improved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

No accommodations made for Hilton Diamond members!!

As a Hilton DIAMOND member I checked into this hotel for another week with my two kids hoping for some kind of accommodation other than the standard single King suite. Exactly as the first time we stayed here last year, NO ACCOMODATIONS were made for us. Oh, wait, yes, we did receive two bottles of water on the first night and two bags of potato chips plus M&M's....but we had to ask for it.

Even though I asked, no upgrade was available at check in to one of their premium rooms let alone a room with two double beds. Their excuse, "we're really busy." And during the 8 nights no one called us to speak about this ever. I went downstairs personally to ask about it during the middle of our stay and got the same response with no care whatsoever. Just "we are full". The parking lot was practically empty during our first three nights!!!

And Two loads of Laundry is $10, yes $2.50 per load to wash and $2.50 to dry. What a racket.

Breakfast is simply average. Better ask to have your eggs cooked twice because even after asking for eggs over medium they were consistently runny whites and cold yolks. Same stuff every day, no variation except for the fruit. No berries. Everything else is standard fare and forget about getting coffee after 9:30 on weekdays. They turn it off.

I also asked to have the sheets changed on the sofa sleeper during the middle of our stay which they never did. After a day, I had to ask again. No one seems to care.

This hotel will no longer get my hard earned points or money. Lackluster, don't seem to care about their bread and butter especially DIAMOND members. After 14 years of Diamond membership it seems that no one gives a damn any more.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank WorldFilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjdrios, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Please accept my sincere apologies for the issues you experienced during your stay. We do our best to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay and we will use your comments as we continuously work to improve our guest experience.

Thank you for providing us with your perspective. We hope that your next stay with us will be much improved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Rafael
0.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Novato Oaks Inn
4.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Rafael - Francisco Blvd East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Marin Suites Hotel
Marin Suites Hotel
#2 of 3 in Corte Madera
584 reviews
5.2 mi away
Best Western Corte Madera Inn
Best Western Corte Madera Inn
#1 of 3 in Corte Madera
861 reviews
8.1 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center

Address: 101 McInnis Pkwy, San Rafael, CA 94903-2773
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marin County > San Rafael
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in San Rafael
Price Range: £135 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / San Rafael
Embassy Suites San Rafael
San Rafael Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing