We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What I'd Expect From an Embassy Suites....Some Room for Improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in San Rafael
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Richmond, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
252 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“What I'd Expect From an Embassy Suites....Some Room for Improvement”
Reviewed 22 November 2010

The hotel has the essentials of the Embassy Suites chain met. Managers reception, great breakfast and 2 room suites. The hotel was very quiet on our week long stay. It is far enough from any major roads to avoid any road noise.

The hotel is clean. The room was very clean. One client complained that her room smelled of stale smoke but my room on the HHonors floor (5) was great. My iron leaked and they delivered a new one in an instant.

The pool, hottub and gym are all very nice. Equipment was in good working condition.

The areas for improvement would be the food/bar area in the evening and internet. The hotel is somewhat isolated from other places to eat and drink. When we get back to the hotel, we like a place to have some drinks. The bar closed at 10 or 10:30 which is just too early! For the internet, I get it free as a Diamond but my colleagues had to pay. I think in 2010 at a business hotel, it should be included.

Overall, this was a good place to stay in the area. A GPS is a good idea to get around this area as the ramps/streets are confusing.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orr333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    368
    225
    99
    46
See reviews for
467
260
42
260
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
1 review
Reviewed 13 November 2010

We stayed for one night with our 4 young children and enjoyed the nice heated indoor pool and free breakfast in the morning. The hotel is a little outdated but we still enjoyed our time there.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gbookbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
95 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

We recently spent 4 nights at this Embassy Suites, where we have stayed several times before, and were pleased with almost everything. Up front, the only criticism I'd make is that a sweeping update would be wonderful, specifically the furniture. But for an overall stay it just can't be beat. The spaciousness, comfort, cleanliness, convenience of location are terrific. We like to take the ferry to San Francisco, which is fun in itself.
And some of the most wonderful people work there ... Gloria at breakfast is a real sweetheart. John, the shuttle driver is wonderful, and so is Ricardo who we met at 'managers reception.' The breakfast dining area is great, cocktails most enjoyable, and we will definitely return!

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sooz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Oswego
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2010

The decor of the hotel is fairly dated, but I don't mind that so much. The front desk is friendly and helpful. The bed is comfortable, the pillows are wonderful and the room is spacious. What get's me is the attempt to milk every nickle out of the guests. As a business traveler, it is rare to have to pay for internet access these days. When I do pay for it, I expect the service to be fast, not just a notch or two above dial-up. What really gets me though, is the charge is not per room per night, it's per device. Really, come on. Is that extra money really worth the bad taste it leaves? The TV access is also ridiculous. I don't own a TV and haven't turned one on in a hotel for years. This time though, I had some extra time and was looking forward to an episode of HGTV. No such luck. It was pretty much pay $4.99 for a TV show (per episode) or buy a movie. No thanks.
I would think much better of this hotel as well as the entire Hilton chain if this didn't seem like a attempt to milk the customer w/o adding value. Would I stay at an Embassy Suites again? Maybe, but only if the location were too good to pass up.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleMap131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

I've stayed at this hotel before. Nice suites. I like that the bedroom is completely separate from the living room. Some hotels call them suites, but the bedroom and living area are not separate.

The daily manager's reception is a favorite with complementary drinks and munchies which vary everyday. The cook to order breakfast is awesome. You can even get an egg white omelet.

My event was just across the foot bridge at the Marin County fairgrounds. So, didn't even need a car.

Two negatives. This visit, I was next to the vending machines. You can hear the sodas drop through the machine, which is loud enough to wake you up. Rooms 209 and I believe 409 are the two right by the machines. Just request one away from these machines and you'll do fine. Also, there is no shuttle to/from the airport. There is the Marin Airporter which gets you about 6 miles from the hotel. Sometimes they have a shuttle driver on duty who can take guests short distances. The driver was not on duty for either of my trips, so paid $25 for each 6 mile trip to/from the Airporter's hub.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PinballQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Experts_Inc, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center, responded to this review, 16 October 2010
Thank you so much for your review. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to submit feedback and hope that you return soon!

Will Morris
Guest Services Manager
Embassy Suites San Rafael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We booked a night at the Embassy Suites San Rafael to relax after a day at Six Flags Vallejo. It was a perfect ending to an exhausting day. The property is goregous! The rooms were spacious and clean.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snorkelinthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, IL
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Typical quality hilton associated experience (read - very good).
Free parking.
Main floor restaurant with complimentary hot breakfast included in standard room rate.
Typical embassy suites multi-floor, central courtyard, garden window rooms.
Located right off the highway for easy access to/from Sausalito (20 mins away) and the north SF bay area (30 mins away).
Right next door to the home of Autodesk headquarters (for you tech CAD geeks).
Downtown san rafael is only a 5 min drive south - for more dining options.
China Camp State Park is only 10 min drive east - for exploring the outdoors and scenery.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 53x11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Rafael
0.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael
4.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Rafael - Francisco Blvd East
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Novato Oaks Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Best Western Corte Madera Inn
Best Western Corte Madera Inn
#1 of 3 in Corte Madera
799 reviews
8.1 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
541 reviews
5.0 mi away
Marin Suites Hotel
Marin Suites Hotel
#2 of 3 in Corte Madera
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center
Address: 101 McInnis Pkwy, San Rafael, CA 94903-2773
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marin County > San Rafael
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in San Rafael
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / San Rafael
Embassy Suites San Rafael
San Rafael Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing