We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in San Rafael
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
255 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Amazing Place”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This hotel was probably one of the best hotels I've ever stayed at. It was affordable, really nice, clean, restuarant attached, public bathrooms, pool, really helpful staff... overall, very nice. For what we wanted to do (San Fran/Napa), it was in a great location, and wasn't really too far from either location. I'll stay here again when I come back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amylfed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob P, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for your kind words. Our team has a passion for hospitality and we are committed to excellence. We all look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    211
    124
    68
    38
See reviews for
158
141
53
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Stevens, Washington
Level Contributor
165 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights during our 10 year anniversary trip in the area. When I mentioned to the front desk it was our anniversary he gave us the choice of 2 rooms that are away from the road noise...I let him pick since they both looked similar on the map. Wow...if that's what I get for my anniversary then I'm not sure what to think. All the furniture is quite worn and the heater unit looked like it was falling apart with some foam stuff sticking out of it. There were no washcloths in the room, and the shower head was so awkward....it was way up high and it was so full of scum it was disgusting. At least the bed linens were clean and you get free bottled waters. I wouldn't choose to stay here again unless I knew it was only to be there briefly. The pool area is quite lovely and has a nice outdoor fireplace. They are advertising the lobby being updated soon but I think they would do better updating the rooms, because the lobby is actually not bad.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NW748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob P, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for providing us with feedback regarding your stay. We are working very hard to improve the housekeeping inside our hotel. We have brought in a veteran Rooms Director and she has made an immediate impact. It is our goal to always provide the cleanest most comfortable rooms. We have just installed all new A/C units in each room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I recently stayed here for a few days for a business event, and found the hotel to be staffed with friendly, knowledgeable and customer focused staff;the front desk agents superb professional demeanor made a very impressive impact. The rooms were comfortable and clean; and the hotel are surrounded by nearby restaurants . If my travels ever bring me back to San Rafael, I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.Kudos to the management and staff , job well done.

Room Tip: Request for rooms overlooking the swimming pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki_Por, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for the kind review. We're pleased to hear that our associates and hotel met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back if your travels do indeed bring you back to San Rafael!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We decided to stay here rather than in San Francisco itself ! What a good move. Less than 20 minutes from the Golden Gate Bridge set in stunning surroundings was this lovely hotel. The staff, rooms, pool, breakfast were all brilliant and to top it all Macys is just over the road? Perfect!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joannnnnnnnnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki_Por, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and our amenities. We will be renovating later this year and hope you will come back to see our new look! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This is the second closest higher end hotel to the Infineon Raceway. The closest was booked, so we ended up here. I like this chain anyway, so we didn't mind.
This hotel needs a face lift here and there, but all together is a nice one.
Room was a normal sized one, with a smaller than normal bathroom. For some reason, the wall-tile in the bathroom was painted over.
Everything was kept clean and functional, but the furniture and the carpet seemed a bit old and used. There was a gap between the heating/air unit and the wall. Walls are well insulated, with double pane windows. Our room faced the freeway, but we could not hear it.
The bed was firm and comfortable with good soft bedding. Pillows were a bit too big and bulky for my taste,but some may like it that way.
Room was equipped with everything except micro and refrigerator. Free Wi-Fi is included, but it was slower than 4G for me, so I didn't use it.
Our room did not include free breakfast, but there is a restaurant on the lobby floor, that serves breakfast. They charged $15 per person for a very standard breakfast buffet. I would suggest to order A'la carte.
The hotel has a small exercise room, a nice sized pool and jacuzzi. We didn't have time to use them, but they looked fine.

Reception area was clean. Staff was very polite and helpful.

Room Tip: Room 349 faced the freeway, but was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieFD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob P, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments with our team. We do review every survey that we receive. Comments are shared with ownership and capital improvements have been planned. We will spend the remainder of 2014 making improvements to our hotel to enhance the experience for all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
179 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

We used this property as base for commuting into San Francisco for a week while visiting our daughter. It is a nice 35 minute drive (outside of rush hours) to the central City. Public areas and rooms are nice but HVAC system could use some upgrading. Platinum members get free breakfast and sometimes free bottled water in the room daily. Otherwise, full breakfast is $15. Staff was responsive to any issues we had. Restaurant staff was very friendly but could use some additional training. Yes, we would use this hotel again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dancisak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki_Por, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear our hotel met your expectations and that our location was convenient for you to visit your daughter. At Four Points, all guests receive free bottled water in their room. We apologize if your water bottles were not replenished daily. We will be sharing your feedback in our next team meeting. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back again the next time you're in town to visit your daughter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed here because we are SPG members and were looking for a "homebase" to tour wine country. Though I would've preferred to stay right in Napa, unfortunately, due to availability we had to look out side of the Napa area. This hotel ended up being the perfect location! From this hotel we were able to drive and tour all the vineyards we wanted to. There are plenty of restaurants in San Rafael. The hotel was clean, comfortable and the staff were great. Our second day we spent by the pool. Our only issue was the lack of towels by the pool, which was immediately remedied. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob P, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We are glad to be of service centrally located in Marin County. Our team is happy to hear that your trip was a success. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Rafael
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Novato Oaks Inn
5.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Rafael - Francisco Blvd East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Marin Suites Hotel
Marin Suites Hotel
#2 of 3 in Corte Madera
3.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
5.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Corte Madera Inn
4.6 mi away
Courtyard San Francisco Larkspur Landing/Marin County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael

Property: Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael
Address: 1010 Northgate Dr, San Rafael, CA 94903-2502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marin County > San Rafael
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in San Rafael
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael 3.5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael is just north of the Golden Gate Bridge and centrally located in the scenic north coast and renowned hills of Marin County. Close to Sonoma, and Napa wine country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton San Rafael
Four Points By Sheraton San Rafael Hotel San Rafael
Sheraton San Rafael
Four Points San Rafael
San Rafael Sheraton
San Rafael Four Points

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing