We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“North of the Golden Gate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in San Rafael
Republic, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“North of the Golden Gate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Helpful staff. Clean room. Comfy beds. No microwave? No refrigerator? Breakfast was good, but overpriced. Afraid to check dinner prices.
Convenient to Muir Woods, wine country, ferry to San Francisco.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob P, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback to our team. We are proud to say that we have begun our renovation. Part of the plans is to purchase a refrigerator and microwave for each room. We have added over 100 this past year. When visiting us please feel free to request a refrigerator and/or a microwave on you reservation. We will place one in your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    208
    123
    68
    37
See reviews for
157
140
52
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sausalito/Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

lovely room. Killer pool lounge area. Nice firepit. Manager was terrific. They made me feel like a very valued guest. I would definitely stay here again. Good location across the street from the mall, easy highway access. Nice restaurant in house as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharpej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob P, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide comments regarding our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again and you enjoying our all new pool furnishings. Remember the welcome reception on Friday evenings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Booked multiple rooms with this hotel which would have been a logistical nightmare. But the hotel staff was very helpful and patient in helping us sort through all the details and making sure that everyone was accommodated. Thank you!

Nice pool, decent rooms, relatively convenient location right next to the freeway and a mall. Provided a hassle-free and pleasant hotel experience. Made me feel like a valued long-time SPG guest.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatStaN490222014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob P, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback and compliments. We hope that you will return and enjoy our all new pool furniture and outdoor dining area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahone Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We booked this hotel instead of staying downtown San Franciso as parking is expensive in San Francisco and we were very happy with our choice. The hotel is beautiful with a lovely pool and outdoor area. We had a room by the pool with an outdoor patio. The room was exceptional with a small fridge as well. The bed was very comfortable. The staff were great and parking was easy. The restaurant was great too. The town of San Rafael is nice and everything was handy to the hotel. Driving to San Francisco was about 20 minutes and very easy. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirleycherie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob P, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for such wonderful comments. We really enjoy hearing our guests share their experiences about our hotel and it's perfect location. We certainly hope you will come se us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed here for a wedding. What you'd expect from a Four Points. Staff was friendly, hotel was pretty busy. Rooms were very basic yet clean. I do feel like this location over charges for what it offers, but hotels in San Rafael are pretty scarce. There is a grocery store nearby if that's important to you, but this Four Points is pretty average.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob P, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments. We do agree that we could be a bit more impressive and we are working on that right now. Over the next 6 months the hotel will go through a renovation in all public areas and every guest room. By the end of June we will have the nicest Fitness Center of any local hotel. We have confidence that our hotel will be the best in Marin County.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

This is an adequate hotel, but as an Australian staying on business, I must say I experienced the two worst buffet breakfasts of my travelling life at this hotel and that is no mean feat.

The offerings were very limited, and when I asked for the empty bread basket to be replenished, I glad I wanted toast, as the bread was frozen. It went well with the other offering, bland scrambled eggs, bulk fried bacon off cuts, and not much else.

The rooms are non-descript, the hotel is quite a distance from down town SFO, but there is a medium size mall about 2 blocks away - easy walking distance, with a good sports bar and restaurant.

I did find the check in staff very nice, but they have to do something about their breakfast offering.

Room Tip: Rooms facing internally are more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillDelaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob P, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I apologize for the breakfast experience and have shared your thoughts with our culinary team. We have recently updated our menus for all of our meal periods and we are very proud of what we have to serve. We have also hired some new talent that is sure to please our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Rafael hotels

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

This was a fantastic stop on our travels we had been driving all day and couldn't find anywhere to stay. Finally we stumbled upon this little gem the room was spectacular the bed was king super comfortable and great pillows. Had a fantastic sleep before hitting the road again. The front desk was amazing upon check in and check out. We didn't use all the facilities that were on offer much to our disappointment as we left after a night. Everything about the stay was great, the only problem for me with the stay, was that the buffet breakfast was a little disappointing and for that I can't give 5 stars.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingPiglets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob P, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Your comments are great to hear. Thank you very much. It is our passion to provide a comfortable place to stay and be that special home away from home. We hope that you will find your way back to visit us sometime in the future. Thank you for sharing your experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Rafael
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel San Rafael - Marin County / Conference Center
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Novato Oaks Inn
5.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Rafael - Francisco Blvd East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Marin Suites Hotel
Marin Suites Hotel
#2 of 3 in Corte Madera
3.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
5.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Corte Madera Inn
BEST WESTERN Corte Madera Inn
#1 of 3 in Corte Madera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
4.6 mi away
Courtyard San Francisco Larkspur Landing/Marin County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael

Property: Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael
Address: 1010 Northgate Dr, San Rafael, CA 94903-2502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marin County > San Rafael
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in San Rafael
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael 3.5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael is just north of the Golden Gate Bridge and centrally located in the scenic north coast and renowned hills of Marin County. Close to Sonoma, and Napa wine country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton San Rafael
Four Points By Sheraton San Rafael Hotel San Rafael
Sheraton San Rafael
Four Points San Rafael
San Rafael Sheraton
San Rafael Four Points

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing