We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for long stays”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn San Ramon
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in San Ramon
Luneburg, Germany
Level Contributor
89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great for long stays”
Reviewed 19 June 2012

I stayed there for around 6 months. It does the job. The staff is very helpful and nice.

You are close to everything you need in San Ramon.

However, the sound and heat isolation is not the best. So is you want a quiet place, ask for a second floor room.

Also, avoid the rooms next to the electrical rooms. The buzzing noise almsot drove me insane.

But the manager was very accomodating in giving me another room

Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank cyagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Ramon, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Thanks so much for choosing the Residence Inn for your six-month stay in San Ramon. And thank you for taking the time to share your experience about our property. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we will follow up on your feedback about the guest rooms near the electrical rooms to see if there is a way to improve the sound insulation on those walls.
Thank you for your business and we hope that you choose Residence Inn again when in the San Ramon area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    36
    20
    4
    3
See reviews for
28
18
5
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

This is truly a great hotel for the money. The hotel staff was pleasant and cheerfully helpful. We came into a beautifully appointed room that made one feel wrapped in warmth and comfort. Everything you could need was in this room, including a real fireplace for cold nights. A full kitchen with all the equipment one could possibly need, and if you do not have time to get groceries, the staff will even do your shopping! There is a good breakfast (best scrambled eggs I have had in a hotel ever), free Internet, weekly events if you are here long term to enjoy them, free newspapers, etc. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone having business in the surrounding area. Located just across the street are grocery and pharmacy stores, a Starbucks for those fanatics and for beer lovers, a very good ale house with good food at a nice price.

Room Tip: Upper floor has less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbatzler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff S, Manager at Residence Inn San Ramon, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your great experience with our hotel. It makes our jobs rewarding knowing that we could provide you with such a comfortable stay. I will share your review with my staff. My breakfast folks will love hearing that the scrambled eggs are the best that you've had in a hotel ever!! Thanks so much for staying with us and we hope that you will return when you are in the San Ramon area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2012

I stayed here for almost two months. All the front desk staff is wonderful and made me feel right at home. They were accommodating to all my needs. All the amenities you need for a long term stay are here: kitchenette, fridge, microwave, on-campus laundry, dry cleaning (in- house or right across the lot), a grocery store across the road, and a gas station right next door. There's even a paved trail right outside the gates of the hotel. It's about 41/2 miles, both pedestrian and bike friendly. There's a small work-out room. It's not much, but it's hardly used; so you have it mostly to yourself. There are a basketball/tennis court combo and swimming pool on the premises as well.

Mon-Wed they do some kind of happy hour for the guests. We had Bar-B-Que every Wednesday for my stay and it was quite good. I never made plans for that night, as I looked forward to it.

The rooms are nicely arranged, cozy, and recently re-done. This isn't your old man's Residence Inn anymore. Breakfast is on the house every morning, complete with gratis newspaper.

The downsides: like a lot of Residence Inns (actually most hotels these days), the walls can be a bit thin at times. And no one seems to know how to close a door properly anymore without waking the world. So the occasional disruptive door slamming can be a nuisance. But most of the guest are business travelers and are fairly quiet. On the weekends you get more of the family types and it can be a bit noisier. But no big partying here during my stay.

Housekeeping can be a bit irritating as they start ridiculously early and never seen to be aware that guests are sleeping or slowly waking up. This has become a problem not only here but at hotels everywhere. They like to gather in groups and chat loudly. This needs to change. This was my only real big gripe here. But as I said, this happens at many hotels.

It's a great location, mere blocks from a Whole foods, Target, and lots of restaurants. There's a park across the road and easy entrance to a major freeway. Fortunately, the freeway is a few blocks away so you don't hear too much of the traffic, especially after hours. There are a variety of rooms facing all directions and two levels. So, if possible (and the folks at the front desk WERE very accommodating, as I said), they will help you find a room that meets your needs.

You have access to a BART (the light rail) stop about 5 miles down the road. The parking is a buck or free, depending on when you arrive. It's the easiest and most stress-free to end up in the City. Bring a book to read and you'll be in the City in about 45 minutes or less if you're going only as far as Oakland or Berkley.

There are great little towns within minutes from where you are: all with their own personalities. Some of the nicer ones are downtown Pleasanton, Walnut Creek, and Danville (only two exits up N on the freeway). For a little more urban grit, you're close to Hayward and Oakland.

If you're into beer, you are at the epicenter of the microbrew revolution. Throw a stone and you'll hit a great brewery (Drake's in San Leandro, Pyramid in Walnut Creek, Black Diamond in Pittsburg for starters). If you like Wine, an hour and half up the road, and you're in Napa. Closer, you'll find vineyards in Livermore and surrounding areas.

If you like hiking, you are surrounded by miles and miles of hiking trails. There are trails for all levels-easy to challenging. You'll find incredible scenery at all levels. The East Bay regional parks are gems and worth a visit. There are also state parks, including the highest peak in the area, stunning Mt. Diablo. But we warned, in the summer it gets HOT here.

Finally, sunsets and sunrises here are amazing. You're surrounded by gorgeous green hills and the marine layer makes for great atmosphere. And all of this is in your backyard during your stay. Like I said, a worthy home away from home.

Room Tip: There are many buildings facing all directions. You are surrounded by roads but it's usually qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexSteiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff S, Manager at Residence Inn San Ramon, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel in your recent 2 month stay with us. I'm glad that we could provide you with a comfortable "home away from home." I will share your positive comments with my staff so that they can be recognized. I will also make sure to address your comments regarding the housekeeping being noisy in the early hours as they should definitely be showing more courtesy to all of our sleeping guests in the hotel.
Your detailed review of the surrounding area and BART will also be particularly useful to those folks that are not familiar with San Ramon and may be looking at being here for an extended amount of time. Thank you again for your business and know that you are always welcome here at your San Ramon home hotel!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Calif
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We had a short 2 night stay in early April. This San Ramon Residence Inn has a ton of complimentary services that came with our suite. It has plenty of free parking for both large and compact cars, a free hot breakfast, free weekly BBQ, free internet, a free gocery shopping service, the list goes on. It's set up as small mini apartments & our suite felt very private. The bedding & beds were very comfortable & we slept well. I especially like that it was a short distance from the freeway but not close like most hotels with all the freeway noise and lights. This was close to a park, a jogging trail out the back gates, and a shopping mall within walking distance with eateries, small shops and a grocery store. The staff were great to us & especially Mr. Yoshimoto, the manager on duty, who was very welcoming . One of our best out of town stays ever.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petrolia, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We used the Residence Inn as a Christmas gathering place for the family (5 people). We chose it for the location and the fact that it had a kitchen with full-size refrigerator (my partner cooked most of the big holiday meal at home and brought it there to be heated and served).

The staff was friendly, the location convenient, everything worked. The reasons i give it 4 rather than 5 stars are that i don't like mainstream, plastic places to begin with and would not give any chain hotel a 5; also, little things such as the heater fan being so loud it was obnoxious, and not enough blankets provided; finally, the picture for the suite we ordered (we thought) showed a larger unit with a full-sized dining table, and as it turned out, we ate on the fold-out sofa and chairs, because there was only a breakfast bar to pull up to.

Basically, though, it was a fine place to stay, and because of the holiday season discount, it was an excellent bargain.

Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LauraIsMyRealName
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ramon, California
1 review
Reviewed 24 December 2011

When my family moved to San Ramon we stayed here for 1 month. We found the facilities to be more than adequate, well kept, spacious enough for my family of 4 and a TV in all 3 rooms (important with 2 high school boys). The location is close to a nice park, restaurants, a grocery store, pharmacy and a few shops. The staff were always helpful. We enjoyed their morning breakfast, weekly BBQ and occasional evening snacks. A family's temporary housing needs probably are a little more demanding than the ordinary pop in and out visitor. On more than one occasion the manager accommodated our out of the ordinary requests and made my requests seem like they were "no big deal". We would have missed out on so many benefits if we had instead stayed in a short term apartment (cleaning service, nicely furnished, food, wireless internet, ...). We enjoyed our stay here and highly recommend it for temporary housing.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Pros:
Great center location. Friendly and efficient receptionist, and staff. Free wired internet. On site free parking. Great hot breakfast. Specious room with modern kitchen design and every thing you'll need if you decide to cook including:microwave,ceramic cook top,fridge, and dishwasher.Flat screen T.V. King size bed (very comfortable).

Cons:
Front door to the main building where the reception, and dinning room located had no automatic doors so if you try to enter with your language it can be a challenge.I think it's better to leave it in your car until you'll find out in which building you're going to stay.
The hotel has several buildings of two stories each so if you are on the second floor be aware there is no elevator.
Towels are bot the best quality and smelled funny.

Room Tip: There is no elevator to the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ramon
1.7 mi away
HYATT house San Ramon
HYATT house San Ramon
#1 of 8 in San Ramon
405 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott San Ramon
0.6 mi away
San Ramon Marriott
San Ramon Marriott
#2 of 8 in San Ramon
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Ramon - Bishop Ranch - East
3.9 mi away
Best Western Danville Sycamore Inn
4.7 mi away
Residence Inn Pleasanton
Residence Inn Pleasanton
#6 of 14 in Pleasanton
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Ramon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Ramon

Property: Residence Inn San Ramon
Address: 1071 Market Pl, San Ramon, CA 94583-4773
Region: United States > California > San Ramon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in San Ramon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Ramon 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn San Ramon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Ramon Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing