We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable portion size”
Review of Cafe Tandoor

Cafe Tandoor
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Tandoor is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #72 of 158 Restaurants in San Ramon
Price range: US$10 - US$15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Bollinger Canyon Rd & Alcosta Blvd
Description: Welcome to Cafe Tandoor! We promise to bring you the ultimate dining experience through our exquisite cuisine, a relaxing atmosphere, and prompt service. At Cafe Tandoor, we cook with the choicest of ingredients, fresh produce, and meats. Come and experience the fresh, healthy, and delicious Indian cuisine.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Reasonable portion size”
Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

Love their spicy chicken wings, certain unami to it. Biryani and even chicken pakoras are good. A little pricer than other indian restaurants in.the area, bu. The venue is cleaner and portion is bigger

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trippyhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    12
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
East Bay CA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lunch buffet today”
Reviewed 28 March 2013

I joined a group of co-workers for lunch as Indian was their food of choice. Of course as all you can eat, portions are what you choose. the tandoor chicken, mostly legs and thighs were dry and not so flavorful. Gnaan was acceptable. Other side dishes seemed to me more about residual heat rather than pleasing taste. San Ramon has better choices for overall flavor; as i remember my reactions was more positive. 10 $ price includes endless drinks too. My personal vote for future meetings will be a non Indian place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trivalleyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ramon, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Indian food in San Ramon”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We have eaten many times at Cafe Tandoor and the food is great every time. Favorite dish is the butter chicken. Recently tried the spicy chaat salad. It was very spicy (as the name implies) and very good. They now have a lunch buffet 7 days a week, but have not had a chance to go during lunch yet. Definitely plan to go check out the buffet so can try more of their dishes. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone wanting good Indian food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ned P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced and good portion size”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I tried this restaurant after getting a Groupon. The food and portion size was good. I definitely had leftovers. The tandoor chicken was tasty. Just enough spices for my taste buds. Would go again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NoStopSigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Indian food in San Ramon”
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Very good, authentic Indian food in sleepy San Ramon. It may take a bit of effort to find this place, but it is worth it. They do a great job on their curries, and they have a lot of vegetarian as well as meat dishes to choose from.

Our favorites are the saag paneer, lamb curry, and chicken tikka masala. They have many yummy naan choices, and the sides are all very good.

No need to worry about reservations, the place has rarely been full. You order at the counter and they bring the food to you, so service is prompt, simple and easy.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Tandoor also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Tandoor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing