We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected”
Review of Sea Breeze Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sea Breeze Inn
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

After reading the reviews and looking at the pictures I thought a quick night there wouldn't be an issue. I booked the room the same night while on the road. I was surprised on how small the breakfast area is in lobby. It looks much bigger in the pictures. The furniture in the room also looks nicer in the pictures but once in room I was surprised at quality. Yes they had new TV's but they weren't getting HD tv so the shows were only on half the screen. There were moths in the room when I arrived

Disappointed and surprised people put it at #2. The pool was dirty and I wouldn't have gone in it.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for one of the other hotels. It doesn't matter if you are on the ocean side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Terri V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    216
    138
    30
    23
See reviews for
131
248
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

I would rate this 2 1/2. This hotel does not have much to offer in terms of amenities (no A/C and small pool) but the location is nice and our room was clean. Short walk to one beach, convenient to Hearst Castle and Cambria, which we really enjoyed.you can hear the ocean from your room (request 2nd floor) and if you pull back curtains you get a nice cool breeze so A/C was not necessary. Includes continental breakfast, which is your typical waffles, hard boiled eggs, cereal, etc. the area outside to sit and eat leaves a lot to be desired in terms of aesthetics...it is just a trellis fenced square. No plants, etc. the one night it rained and when we came down in morning and no one had dried off seats outside so everyone was just standing in the tiny lobby eating! My husband had to go back to room and get bath towel to dry off seats for us. Weird. We enjoyed the Mexican restaurant next door for dinner. For family on budget and only 2 night stay it was fine, location convenient...just set your expectations.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Srbohrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Nothing to look at from the outside but this only adds to the surprise when you enter your room.
Large,upgraded, clean,all required amenities and a sea view.
Basic continental Breakfast but very good.
Great for short stay to visit attractions in area or if just passing through.
Very good value for price

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope, Indiana
Level Contributor
176 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed here for its proximity to Hearst Castle and it proved to be very convenient. The beach is only a short walk away. A Mexican restaurant is located nearby. A short drive brings you to a pull-out where we observed numerous Elephant Seals - better than an aquarium.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apple Valley, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Nice place in San Simeon, close to Hearst castle. Rooms looked recently remodeled, but it was a pretty basic hotel. Staff was kind. Breakfast was good but no real hot items except waffles. I was surprised on how there is really nothing in San Simeon except a few hotels. Not many restaurants or anything to do. We ended up driving about 40 miles to go to the closest theater. Enjoyed Hearst Castle but wished the tour could have been longer for the cost

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Not much to look at from the outside but this place was a very pleasant surprise on the inside. Our second floor room was spotless with beautiful views of the ocean. The room was large and had all the amenities we need for our one night stay. It is very close to the Hearst Castle and there were many restaurants to choose from right down the street in Cambria.
The only minor negatives I can mention were the towels were somewhat thin and the free breakfast was a bit lacking in choices but neither of these were anything major. I would totally recommend this place for staying a night or two if you are in the area and looking for an affordable alternative.

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor. This place has no A/C but the ocean breezes will keep things comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SoxFan30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This hotel is conveniently located along the coastal route. We found the service to be friendly, the rooms were clean and spacious. We did not use the pool, but it also appeared to be nice and clean. Breakfast was also good. Can't go wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank its-me4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
0.3 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,678 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
897 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
#8 of 10 in San Simeon
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 mi away
Days Inn San Simeon
Days Inn San Simeon
#5 of 10 in San Simeon
588 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn San Simeon
Quality Inn San Simeon
#10 of 10 in San Simeon
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Breeze Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Breeze Inn

Property: Sea Breeze Inn
Address: 9065 Hearst Dr, San Simeon, CA 93452-9723
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Breeze Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sea Breeze Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Breeze Hotel San Simeon
Sea Breeze Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing