We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed for 1 nite on our way up the PCH.”
Review of San Simeon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Simeon Lodge
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
GreenLeadersSilver level
Palmyra, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stayed for 1 nite on our way up the PCH.”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed here on the way to San Fran. We were traveling up the PCH. It was very nice place and reasonably priced. We had a great view of the ocean. We walked across the street and watche dthe sun set. No breakfast tho so that was kind of a downer. The room did kinda smell overpoweringly of Lysol and I needed to crack the window to sleep with some fresh air.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RXCHIK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    300
    228
    77
    41
See reviews for
200
347
32
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed here last week and were amazed by what we got for the price . Of the order of 60 dollars for a big , clean room with balcony and a swimming room . An excellent place to stay if you need to visit Hearst Castle and need an overnight stay .

Room Tip: Face the west or south for pool views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinkYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The location is what the hotel has going for it. It's across the street (or across the PCH) from the view of the beach (I didn't see if there was a path down due to my tour time for Hearst Castle). The hotel is located in front of an opening in the PCH fence divider so you don't have to hop over the fence to get to the beach or you can drive straight over. Upon checking in, you get a coupon for 10% off breakfast/lunch at their hotel restaurant. We checked out after breakfast ended but the host told us that the Best Western right across the road served breakfast for another half hour so I thought that was very knowledgeable and kind of her. The hotel room is in definite need of some modernization but it's functional. Beds and sheets are comfy and clean. There's also a small liquor store-esque market that has an accessible microwave and utensils so it's easy to save money on food there! There's also a gym, pool, bar restaurant for more casual/less family-oriented atmosphere. Overall, I thought it had a lot of perks for the out-of-date hotel room.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veevz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Only stayed one night and was very satisfied our room was a good size and had everything we needed, with a nice view over the ocean, didn't eat in the restuarant or use the pool so can't comment but was better than I expected and had free computer for guests use,, and when you compare prices with other hotels in the area it was great value.. NO it is not the Taj Mahal but for what we paid we were very happy a Great stopover on the coast drive and Cambria just down the road has lots of option for food (Nice Chiness Restuarant )
VERY enjoyable stay,, would I stay again I WOULDN'T STAY ANYWHERE ELSE if I returned to San Simeon

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rauchous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I echo the other reviews. Location was good enough, with the beach just across the road, but the rooms were disappointing: aging and in need of TLC. The layout of the motel reminded me of a strip mall. I can give the inexpensive breakfast a better commendation, along with the service there. A quick spin around Route One did not surface anything special, so one may be left to choose from similar properties. But next time I will try another.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cycle-dad50ish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The location was great, just across from the beach. The room that we stayed in had a balcony partially over looking the beach. Unfortunately, the rooms were not kept well. There were signs of water damage, especially in the bathroom area. With the lodge being next to the beach, the smell of mold was prominent. The staff is friendly though, and the adjoining restaurant was not bad as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AACC777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hammond
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

What a great surprise after reading some of the other reviews I loved it here. Great view of ocean, very comfortable bed with new linens, friendly service and as they say Location Location Location
If I could give a tip to the manager it would be to replace the carpet ,throw out the entertainment center and mount the flat screen on the wall. It would make the room ever nicer and bigger ( they have walk in closets by the way,something u don't find in many hotels. I highly recommend this property

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mardigrasbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
0.1 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,744 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
906 reviews
0.0 mi away
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
#8 of 10 in San Simeon
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
368 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.2 mi away
Days Inn San Simeon
Days Inn San Simeon
#6 of 10 in San Simeon
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Simeon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Simeon Lodge

Property: San Simeon Lodge
Address: 9520 Castillo Dr, San Simeon, CA 93452-9727
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Simeon
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — San Simeon Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your San Simeon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Simeon Hotel San Simeon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing