We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop off in april”
Review of San Simeon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
San Simeon Lodge
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed here as a rest stop day for the drive on PCH. We were gonna go Hearst castle but spent the day on the beach and by the pool instead. The views are lovely and romantic. We arrived quite early after leaving LA at 6 am but they let us check in and gave us a drink at the bar why we waited for the keys. The barman was lovely and gave us loads of insight into the area. We ate here for lunch and dinner as we had discount cards. Unfortunately we were here on a Monday as I hear it's brilliant with Elvis karaoke one the weekend. The rooms were large for a motel and had everything you needed. Would Def stay here again. Good value and location.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (811)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

395 - 401 of 811 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed for one night after visiting Hearst Castle and before continuing down Highway 1. It's a motel rather than a hotel but the location is great, just off Highway 1 and about 3 minutes drive from Hearst Castle. They have a bar, restaurant, shop, and a pool. The room had two double beds with comfortable mattresses and a bathroom. It was all extremely clean. There was a microwave, fridge and coffee maker, free wifi and a TV. We paid £46 for the night which was amazing value. There is a 'no noise' policy after 10 p.m.but unfortunately we could hear some kids in the room up above us during the night. We had happy hour cocktails in the bar then went in for dinner at the restaurant on site. It was surprisingly good in terms of both the food and the service. We were also given two 10% discount vouchers for the restaurant at check in.

Room Tip: An upper floor room may have been quieter than the ground floor room that we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed here two nights on our way to tour Hearst Castle and hang out in Cambria. It's an average motel but the service is good, the location is great, and there's a lot of conveniences. They have a bar, general store, and a pool as well as gym. There are more hotels across the highway for double the fare. The heater worked great and it was fairly quiet. We could hear some kids through the wall next door but it wasn't terrible. They had a mini fridge which was really convenient. We even bought some things we needed at the general store.

We ate breakfast one morning at the restaurant on site it was just OK, the service was great but the food was OK. We went across the street to the restaurant next to the Best Western and it was much better. They also have some entertainment some nights at the restaurant on site. We had a very pleasant stay. We had a room with two beds, one off in a corner covey and one in the main room. We also had a nice view across the highway of the ocean.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We chose this hotel due to location and the price, location was excellent 3 minute drive to Hearst Castle. Wi-Fi only worked at the reception, not in the room. I heard other guests complaining about the same thing.
Room was tired, but beds were ok and sheets and towels were clean.

Fine for the price paid.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank love-2-travel_2820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

They are trying to get it together here. We stay here one night and it wasn't bad. The room is a little bit old but it was comfy. Heater was very old and needed to be started with a lighter. Staff was friendly and helpful. Decent stay, the area is just dead as zombie.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mac2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

A very average motel. But the price cannot be beat. It is clearly undergoing a face-lift at the moment, so sleeping in may be hard with the construction. Closest hotel/ motel to Hearst Castle, across the street from the ocean, and a great location overall.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rhett B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Well, we wanted to see the Hearst "Castle" in/near San Simeon, and my wife chose the San Simeon Lodge - we were not disappointed. The room was more than adequate; clean and well stocked with water and the normal things hotel rooms have. Though we were a little disappointed with the shower head, it did well enough too. The staff was especially helpful. There was a view of the ocean, and more than enough places to eat and drink nearby. I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. They accept dogs too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
71.2 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,810 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
916 reviews
0.0 mi away
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
#8 of 10 in San Simeon
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
474 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn San Simeon
Days Inn San Simeon
#6 of 10 in San Simeon
623 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn San Simeon
Quality Inn San Simeon
#9 of 10 in San Simeon
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Simeon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Simeon Lodge

Address: 9520 Castillo Dr, San Simeon, CA 93452-9727
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Simeon
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range: £49 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — San Simeon Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your San Simeon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Simeon Hotel San Simeon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing