We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great little motel”
Review of San Simeon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Simeon Lodge
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Yes the motel is old, but rooms were clean, beds comfortable. The food in the restaurant was good. We went to the bar for karaoke and had a great time. Lots of locals, Elvis came around and personally greeted everyone. Staff is friendly. This is a 5 star 2 star lodge.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Corrie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (818)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

396 - 402 of 818 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

I went there in may with 3 friends, just 1 night. They gave us a room and went we were going to have some dinner and close the door, thanks that I checked the knob as it was broken; the door closed bu the lock didn't. We had to change to a different room and we went to the restaurant next to which I don't know if it belonged to the hotel. I just have to say that after 1 hour waiting for the food most of the clients left the place except for us and after all the waiting they gave us a discount.
Also I asked in an email if they had laundromat and when I got there it was broken. I wont' go back there but maybe it was just the day and the rest of the days the place works perfectly

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MONICA T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

San Simeon is the closest (2 minutes) lodging hamlet to Hearst Castle. 10 minutes south is the larger village of Cambria with more lodging choices especially 20 or so along Moonstone Beach Drive.

San Simeon Lodge is a dated property with decent dated rooms for a reasonable price. Don't expect fancy. When I was there in April they were painting but I couldn't tell if they were embarking on a major upgrade. Call.

The room was clean and fine. I never felt as though I couldn't take off my socks to walk around the room. Internet was iffy but it is a fairly remote locale. There is a restaurant on the property as well as a terribly overpriced little store.

It is located across the highway from the gorgeous beaches of San Simeon. If you have time, partake of them for their scenic beauty. Across the street there is a Best Western Plus...the Cavalier where I have had many clients stay. It has a very good restaurant with quality food and excellent service. There is also the Morgan (named after Julia Morgan) named after the woman who worked with Hearst to design Hearst Castle. The Morgan is an excellent hotel and steps above the San Simeon Lodge. Excellent continental breakfast and lodgings.

Since I am a tour guide, we stay at the cheapest possible places and I wouldn't hesitate to stay at the SS Lodge though the Motel 6 100 yards south is still my favorite for cheap lodging.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Booked in with no reservation. Staff friendly. Great restaurant which we had dinner and breakfast the following day at. Abit out on a limb but with facilities to cater for that.

Close to Hearst Castle which was the point of our stay there.

Clean, Great car parking. Several Hotels close together in this vicinity.

Room Tip: Had a comfortable night here and would certainly stay there again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed here as a rest stop day for the drive on PCH. We were gonna go Hearst castle but spent the day on the beach and by the pool instead. The views are lovely and romantic. We arrived quite early after leaving LA at 6 am but they let us check in and gave us a drink at the bar why we waited for the keys. The barman was lovely and gave us loads of insight into the area. We ate here for lunch and dinner as we had discount cards. Unfortunately we were here on a Monday as I hear it's brilliant with Elvis karaoke one the weekend. The rooms were large for a motel and had everything you needed. Would Def stay here again. Good value and location.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed for one night after visiting Hearst Castle and before continuing down Highway 1. It's a motel rather than a hotel but the location is great, just off Highway 1 and about 3 minutes drive from Hearst Castle. They have a bar, restaurant, shop, and a pool. The room had two double beds with comfortable mattresses and a bathroom. It was all extremely clean. There was a microwave, fridge and coffee maker, free wifi and a TV. We paid £46 for the night which was amazing value. There is a 'no noise' policy after 10 p.m.but unfortunately we could hear some kids in the room up above us during the night. We had happy hour cocktails in the bar then went in for dinner at the restaurant on site. It was surprisingly good in terms of both the food and the service. We were also given two 10% discount vouchers for the restaurant at check in.

Room Tip: An upper floor room may have been quieter than the ground floor room that we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed here two nights on our way to tour Hearst Castle and hang out in Cambria. It's an average motel but the service is good, the location is great, and there's a lot of conveniences. They have a bar, general store, and a pool as well as gym. There are more hotels across the highway for double the fare. The heater worked great and it was fairly quiet. We could hear some kids through the wall next door but it wasn't terrible. They had a mini fridge which was really convenient. We even bought some things we needed at the general store.

We ate breakfast one morning at the restaurant on site it was just OK, the service was great but the food was OK. We went across the street to the restaurant next to the Best Western and it was much better. They also have some entertainment some nights at the restaurant on site. We had a very pleasant stay. We had a room with two beds, one off in a corner covey and one in the main room. We also had a nice view across the highway of the ocean.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
0.1 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,857 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
919 reviews
0 mi away
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
#7 of 10 in San Simeon
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Days Inn San Simeon
Days Inn San Simeon
#6 of 10 in San Simeon
628 reviews
2.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
541 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn San Simeon
Quality Inn San Simeon
#9 of 10 in San Simeon
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Simeon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Simeon Lodge

Address: 9520 Castillo Dr, San Simeon, CA 93452-9727
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range: £40 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — San Simeon Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your San Simeon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Simeon Hotel San Simeon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing