We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
San Simeon Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Silver Surf Motel(San Simeon)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort(San Simeon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Breeze Inn(San Simeon)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 San Simeon(San Simeon)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Oceanpoint Ranch(Cambria)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (835)
Filter reviews
835 results
Traveller rating
147
323
243
80
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
147
323
243
80
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshearst castleroom was cleanliquor storeelephant sealsmini martone night stayocean viewheated poolovernight stopbig surroad tripcoffee makerlong driveking bedcambriaelviscoast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
399 - 404 of 835 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Check in was smooth, and room was large enough for the 4 of us. Breakfast at the restaurant was reasonable priced. Easy drive to Hearst Castle, and Elephant seals. Plenty of parking, and pool was in excellent condition. Having the window open at night brought in a nice sea breeze that was refreshing. Would stay here again. Within a few miles of Cambria, which had nice places to eat and was an enjoyable town. Very friendly people.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank blackiesaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The room appears recently renovated. It was clean and basic but acceptable for a night or two stay. Nothing special overall but resonable value. The elephant seals and Hearst's Castle should really require at least a two night stay locally on the San Fran to LA Highway 1 road trip. This is a large complex and checkin/out was well managed. The hotel dining room copes well for a paid breakfast or an evening meal.
No air cond or ceiling fan and the only window for our ground level room is an over large bathroom one that cannot be locked partly open; so night-time security was a concern. There is a sliding patio door but this really needs to be kept shut.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeenPhotographer-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Was looking for a place near Hearst Castle. Options are many, so kind of difficult to decide. Saw photos of the San Simeon Lodge in San Simeon. It's close, looks big, has a restaurant. When we arrived last Thursday afternoon, we checked in and went to our room. the place from the outside looks freshly painted. Gives a nice impression. Walking up to our room, the front door ledge was cracked and lots of loose cement and old carpeting. In the room, the first thing we notice were the huge spots on the carpet. Forget the bathroom!!! No toilet paper holder; no towel bars; chipped paint around the tile shower which was also cracked, plus a little mold on the ceiling. Since we were not spending lots of time there, we decided to stay, plus available options were not plentiful. Now, that was the bad part. The good was the location (right across from the beach). This motel sits on a huge piece of property. Someone could purchase this and turn it into a first rate facility. There is enough land to enlarge the restaurant/bar area, plus redesign the footprint the property is on. I would love to see a developer come in and tear this place down and built a first class resort!!!

Room Tip: +I would not recommend this to anyone. Across the highway is the Cavalier Resort with a good restaurant. We did not see the rooms, but this property is right on the beach. I would look into this next trip. Also, I would do more research on properties in Cambria. This is a small, really cute town with lots of restaurants & shops...a cross between Murphys and parts of Carmel.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank skrohn9520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Grounds are very nice.across the highway from the beach. The rooms have been redone recently and are nice....but....there is no air conditioning or ceiling fan!! The air was stuffy and we were told to open a window...that was in the bathroom an low enough someone could look into room during night! Not happy about that! Also they still need to replace the carpet in the room.
They do have restaurant, liquor store etc on site though we didnt use these. And they have chairs and tables outside on patio area of each room.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timmersgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Very nice and clean hotel. Staffs are very friendly and helpful. We arrived very early, and the General Manager worked out for us to we can get in our room by 11:30AM. Our room was nicely furnished and very clean. Bed was comfortable. We definitely will returning to this hotel next time!!

Room Tip: The King bedroom is the best. Have nice big patio door, with balcony.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Bernadett B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews