We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (877)
Filter reviews
877 results
Traveller rating
156
340
254
84
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
340
254
84
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hearst castle room was clean liquor store a bit overpriced elephant seals mini mart one night stay bar and grill ocean view heated pool overnight stop beach access road trip long drive coffee maker king bed cambria
Filter
Updating list...
432 - 437 of 877 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed at San Simeon Lodge the night before we took a tour of Hearst Castle. It's location is perfect for this, as it is just down the road from the Castle entrance off Highway 1. If you're looking for a romantic or quaint area, this is not the place. Choose a place in the town of Cambria for the cute shops and nice restaurants. The only restaurant around the Lodge is the one located right next to the office. We didn't eat there, so I can't comment on the food. The staff was friendly and the room was clean. If you cross the highway, there is beach access. The rooms are outdated, but the price was nice.

Room Tip: Even rooms that face the highway are far enough off the road that it's not a problem.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Large room and wardrobe space. Microwave, fridge and table and chairs in the room. We were on the 2nd floor and could sit on the walkway for sun and fresh air. Relaxing after a long day driving from San Fran. Very clean and tidy. Good location if you are visiting Hearst castle.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Check in was smooth, and room was large enough for the 4 of us. Breakfast at the restaurant was reasonable priced. Easy drive to Hearst Castle, and Elephant seals. Plenty of parking, and pool was in excellent condition. Having the window open at night brought in a nice sea breeze that was refreshing. Would stay here again. Within a few miles of Cambria, which had nice places to eat and was an enjoyable town. Very friendly people.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank blackiesaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The room appears recently renovated. It was clean and basic but acceptable for a night or two stay. Nothing special overall but resonable value. The elephant seals and Hearst's Castle should really require at least a two night stay locally on the San Fran to LA Highway 1 road trip. This is a large complex and checkin/out was well managed. The hotel dining room copes well for a paid breakfast or an evening meal.
No air cond or ceiling fan and the only window for our ground level room is an over large bathroom one that cannot be locked partly open; so night-time security was a concern. There is a sliding patio door but this really needs to be kept shut.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeenPhotographer-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Was looking for a place near Hearst Castle. Options are many, so kind of difficult to decide. Saw photos of the San Simeon Lodge in San Simeon. It's close, looks big, has a restaurant. When we arrived last Thursday afternoon, we checked in and went to our room. the place from the outside looks freshly painted. Gives a nice impression. Walking up to our room, the front door ledge was cracked and lots of loose cement and old carpeting. In the room, the first thing we notice were the huge spots on the carpet. Forget the bathroom!!! No toilet paper holder; no towel bars; chipped paint around the tile shower which was also cracked, plus a little mold on the ceiling. Since we were not spending lots of time there, we decided to stay, plus available options were not plentiful. Now, that was the bad part. The good was the location (right across from the beach). This motel sits on a huge piece of property. Someone could purchase this and turn it into a first rate facility. There is enough land to enlarge the restaurant/bar area, plus redesign the footprint the property is on. I would love to see a developer come in and tear this place down and built a first class resort!!!

Room Tip: +I would not recommend this to anyone. Across the highway is the Cavalier Resort with a good restaurant. We did not see the rooms, but this property is right on the beach. I would look into this next trip. Also, I would do more research on properties in Cambria. This is a small, really cute town with lots of restaurants & shops...a cross between Murphys and parts of Carmel.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank skrohn9520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews