We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for one night stay”
Review of San Simeon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
San Simeon Lodge
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Booked direct and up front for 5 and requested a rollaway , but when we got there were told we weren't allowed on cause fire regs . The room was clean and basic but it was only for one night .good for hurst castle and elephant seal rookery . Restaurant- basic choice but very busy

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank florida2931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (811)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

369 - 375 of 811 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

San Simeon offered us exactly what we needed after a long drive. The staff was friendly, the kingsize bed huge and clean, the little fridge perfect to cool our water bottles for the next day. WiFi free, although terribly slow. However, the bathroom/shower was small, cramped and damp-smelling, and the water pressure was very weak. San Simeon Lodge is not spectacular, but good enough to get a good night's rest before heading on. Close to major tourist attractions.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ANGELINA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed here as a stop over for our journey to San Francisco it's nice and very quiet. Has a few restaurants near by but don't need it to have much wen it's only a stop over. The pool was nice and the view was amazing. The rooms were very spacious

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank gooner2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

San Simeon offers hotels right near the beach, that is a positive for all of them here. Overall this hotel was ok. The room was quite large which was a positive. On the negative side, TV was terrible, old and only about 4 channels! Also carpet was fraying at the door and caught every time we went in or out.

Breakfast is not included and hotel was expensive for food. We did not eat there so cannot comment further.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Warren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Oh, I have spent many hours enjoying drafting this review in my head (often whilst staying in much nicer hotels on our Southern California road trip)! Where to start?! The sticky carpets, the mouldy rotten smell that pervaded the entire room, the stained sheets, or the pubic hair in the shower drain? Or perhaps the casual racism employed by the (seemingly teenage) front desk staff, where I witnessed a white American family being quoted one price for a room, and another, Asian family quoted 20 dollars more for the same room? And the restaurant, where we ate possibly the worst and most expensive meal of our 3-weeks in the USA? Yes, we could and should have complained, but at 8pm on a Saturday night, when our children just needed food and sleep, we felt trapped. The next morning, we left at first light, feeling like escaped convicts, just relieved to have survived the night!

Room Tip: Check in to another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Not recommended for extended stay. 80's decor which includes; gold color fixtures, outdated box tv and ugly bathroom. There are a bunch of little hotels across the ocean with much better location but I'm sure they won't be on expedia. Good location and clean for one night stay.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank vbernwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is ok for a stop on the way. But the breakfast was pricy and horrible. The worst breakfast on our three week trip so far. Nice service though. Hard to find good food in San Simeon in general.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uloewerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
71.2 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,810 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
916 reviews
0.0 mi away
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
#7 of 10 in San Simeon
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
476 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn San Simeon
Days Inn San Simeon
#5 of 10 in San Simeon
624 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn San Simeon
Quality Inn San Simeon
#9 of 10 in San Simeon
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Simeon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Simeon Lodge

Address: 9520 Castillo Dr, San Simeon, CA 93452-9727
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Simeon
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range: £49 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — San Simeon Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your San Simeon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Simeon Hotel San Simeon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing