We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Find!”
Review of Sebastian's Cafe

Sebastian's Cafe
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in San Simeon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Fast food, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, View, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Carbondale, Illinois
Level Contributor
78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“What a Find!”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I would have guessed that if you own the only place in town, and you have built-in traffic from Hearst Castle, you might not be that motivated to serve great food, but I would have been wrong. The sandwiches aren't cheap, but they're big enough to share. The beef dip sandwich may have been the best sandwich I have ever eaten, and my son had a truly awesome burger. This is a tiny place, expect to wait a bit, you might not find a place to sit, but don't pass it up.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fahrtenhaler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    141
    38
    18
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place for a sandwich before touring the castle”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stopped here prior to touring the castle based on a recommendation from our host at our hotel. We waited in line and ordered two sandwiches. They were about $8 bucks apiece and very large and tasty. We went to the neighboring state park and enjoyed our lunch at a table on the beautiful cove. We ended up saving our leftovers for a light dinner with some wine back in our hotel later on. One sandwich would have been plenty for the two of us.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Will W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennett Square, PA USA
Level Contributor
138 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Monster sized burgers!”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

A charming little general store with a wonderful take-away counter. There are some tables indoors and outside to enjoy your meal, but not many. One burger is more than enough for two people to enjoy ~ and the burgers are delicious!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank bouncingbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Surprise”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Like everyone who visits Sebastian what a nice surprise. Food was fantastic. Cashier was not able to handle more than one ticket but the kitchen staff was right on top of orders. Best messy burger ever, and I hate messy burgers.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Calomar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Best Sandwiches!”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stopped in here at lunch, had to wait in line because it is very popular, but was rewarded with the best pastrami sandwich I have ever had. Make sure you stop here! (staff was a little curt, though).

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phillip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sebastian's Cafe also viewed

San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Sebastian's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing