We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very rustic experience...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ragged Point Inn and Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 San Simeon B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 June 2008

We chose this hotel for a 1-night stay on our drive up the Pacific Coast Highway because the views looked amazing on their website. As you approach the property, it is impressive - well landscaped and it indeed has a gorgeous view. Our room, however, was badly in need of renovation. The decor was old-fashioned and as another review mentions, the beds are labeled as being from 1992. The older quality of the room didn't bother us at first, as we were excited to be sleeping right on the cliffs overlooking the ocean. This atmosphere was not ultimately able to outweigh the problems with this hotel. When we returned to the room after watching the sunset on the beach, there was a spider the size of which I had never before sitting in the middle of our bed. After my boyfriend dutifully helped the spider relocate to the outdoors, I figured this was just part of being in a place that's close to nature. Unfortunately, we got a little too close to nature as the night progressed and we realized there was an animal living in the wall between our room and the adjacent room - right next to the head of our bed! At first we thought it might be the neighbors...but with the sounds of digging, scratching and foraging, it became clear that these were not human noises. I guessed that it was probably a raccoon (or family of), but my boyfriend suggested hippopotamus, because it was really very loud. And as is the way of nocturnal things, they get more rowdy as it gets deeper into the night. So needless to say, the night terrors of the raccoon/hippo kept us from getting a very good night's sleep.

In the end, for the open-minded traveler, I wouldn't necessarily rule out this hotel. It was a pretty good value for the area at $195/night and did have a fantastic view. Just try to get a renovated room (a suite perhaps) and make sure it's on the second floor. Or you could try Tree Bones Resort - we stopped there on our way by because we had heard about their yurt-style accommodations and it looked lovely.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wanderlust1283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (685)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

559 - 565 of 685 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2008

The Ragged Point Inn is ont the Pacific Coast Highway, so of course, the view is amazing. You should choose a low numbered room (we had 22). Relaxing on the porch, looking down at the ocean is very pleasent, to say the least. But it looks like the rooms haven't been touched since 1973. The beds are very firm. The furniture is visibly tired, the decor could pass as retro, but I'm sure it's not the case. But one of the worst thing is that there is nothing to block the sunlight from the front door, which is facing east. So the room gets fully illuminated at sunrise. Hard to get any sleep after that. Yes, the TVs are crappy, but who wants to watch the TV with such a view. There is a nature trail that leads down to a nice cove. I've read comments about that trail not being maintained. Those people are clearly not used to hiking. Yes, it is strenuous and challenging, but hey, it's a cliffside trail, you shouldn't expect escalators. You should be in good condition, and wear good shoes or boots before hiking that trail. The reward is worth it. At any hotel or inn on the PCH, you pay a certain amount for thr room, and a certain amount for the view. I would evaluate the room at Ragged Point Inn at about $69. During low season, we paid $129, but the room usually rents for $169. That's $100 for the view. Personnaly, I would stay somewhere else, since you have a view for about 3 hours driving the PCH. We had dinner and breakfast at the restaurant. Thee food was a bit pricey but overall good, but the service took forever. Around 45 minutes for the dinner, and 25 minutes for breakfast, which was 2 eggs, some sausage, potatoes and a bowl of oatmeal. The breakfast was excellent though.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BenoitChartier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2008

We love Cambria but decided to stay at the Ragged Point Inn for a little change for our honeymoon. We stayed in the "Luxury" room and the hotel obviously has its own definition of what luxury is. The room its self was clean but certainly not luxurious. The blinds didn't work so you couldn't get complete privacy; there were about 4 TV channels and no telephone so you couldn't call for room service.
You have a little kitchenette with a microwave, fridge and plates but no silverware. The fridge barely kept anything cold and the ice machine was several buildings away. The spa tub was nice!

The restaurant was pretty good but as I said before, if you wanted to eat you meal in the privacy of your room you had to go up to the restaurant to get it.
The grounds were well kept and beautiful and the views are amazing.

We probably won't go back since there better places in the area with better services but it’s a nice place to stop for lunch.

Stayed: February 2008
Thank arinkenyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2008

The Ragged Point Inn was recommended to us on account of the sunset views over the Pacific. It worked out that our stay fell on my birthday and the hotel did nothing to acknowledge this bar the front desk saying "Happy Birthday" when I checked in.

Everything about this hotel is so overpriced. The restaurant is the only one, therefore you have no choice. The food was OK but by no means excellent and was probably one of the most expensive meals on our entire trip and certainly not the best. We decided not to have breakfast there due to the price. The gas station is about $1 per gallon more expensive than others we saw on the drive there.

The rooms are large but nothing to write home about. The furnishings and decor seemed very dated.

In all, I think this hotel survives on its wonderful location. But it shouldn't get complacent about the fact that it needs to offer the basics to go with the price.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Manks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2008

After spending a week in Las vegas this is exactly what we needed. No telephones (or mobile signal). Fantastic views which although there is a chain-link fence this hardly spoiled it.
We had a ground floor room which was large and pretty if a touch basic. There was a bench on our veranda which we sat a watched the sunset, true bliss. Nothing but us and a couple of raccoons who came and sat with us. Food in the hotel was fine. We only stayed one night but would have liked two, after that i'd imagine we would have got bored, but if you're passing through i would recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Carolyn73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2007

Ragged Point Inn is located in a beautiful location, but it is clear to us as recent visitors that Ragged Point Inn functions purely as a business. The amenities for rooms priced at $200 to $260 were far less that expected. Sure, great view in a quiet location, but the rooms (we stayed in 2 different rooms) left a lot to be desired for the price. First, the beds and bedding were very poor. We've traveled the world and have to say these were the worst beds we have ever slept in. Hard as a board and sore the next day was the norm for our stay. Your average hotel had better linens and softer beds and pillows than this place. In addition, the decor is very dated and no information was available about the Inn or the surrounding area. In general, the rooms had little in terms of "luxury." Glasses and plates were set as a booby trap, a minimum of coffee, creamer and hot chocolates, and general disarray of wall fixtures (holes, old mounts, disconnected and broken hairdryer, etc.) left us feeling like we were at an upscale truck stop hotel. Definitely not worth the expense and way over priced. When I say the Inn functions as a "business," this has to do with how we were treated when we complained about the bed. The response was not an apology, it was disbelief and gave us the feeling they thought we were trying to rip them off. Not a grain of "customer service" as you'd expect from a luxury experience. The Inn's of New Zealand and South Africa have this place beat on all counts and at a fraction of the cost. On the nicer side is the restaurant. It has food that is quite good, but for a price. The cove is nice and the grounds are well kept, except for the trail leading to the cove. We are rather adventurous, but the trail is very rough and has not been maintained for a very long time. The sign that cautions hikers about the trail condition are accurate; definitely a trail only for dexterous people in good physical condition. We'd like to see Ragged Point Inn step it up a notch or two. Take pride in customer service and invest in your property. The pay off will come in more ways than capital gains.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Uncle_Fish63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2007

We stayed in room 28 (OK view of the ocean. In general, the rooms with smaller numbers are closer to the point and so have better views of the shoreline). The room was tidy and it was nice to look out onto the ocean and walk around the grounds. The walls were a bit thin, so that you could hear the neighbors' conversations, showers, etc.

The TV had 9 channels, and 4 of those had really bad sound quality.

You have to pay for the wireless ($10/day), and it is really very slow at that. Now hopefully you'll be visiting in the summer and not the winter so you won't have hours and hours in the evening where you may be relying on TV and internet access for entertainment.

  • Stayed: December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank griota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
15.5 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,801 reviews
18.1 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
464 reviews
18.4 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
915 reviews
18.7 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
2,023 reviews
18.7 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ragged Point Inn and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ragged Point Inn and Resort

Address: 19019 Highway 1, Ragged Point, San Simeon, CA 93452-9751
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in San Simeon
Price Range: £108 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ragged Point Inn and Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ragged Point Inn, perched high on a cliff top overlooking the rugged Pacific, is the ideal place to take in the beauty and majesty of California’s Big Sur coast. Relax in one of our 39 spacious and comfortable rooms. Each come with one of the most beautiful views of the Pacific you’ll ever experience - sunrise or sunset. Enjoy fine, fresh cuisine in our award winning gourmet restaurant. Shop in our gift shop, filled with art and collectibles from local artists. Planning a wedding or special event? We have the perfect venue for that special day and can provide you with assistance in every detail. Located between Los Angeles and San Francisco, Ragged Point Inn is one stop on picturesque Highway One that you do not want to miss. We invite you to be our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Ragged Point Inn and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ragged Point Hotel San Simeon
Ragged Point Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing