We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fall Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ragged Point Inn and Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 San Simeon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Danvers, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fall Wedding”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

this place is the perfect setting for a wedding overlooking the moutain and sea.
The rooms were comfortable, gas stove, clean and the setting just magnificent.
The Cliff House was where the bride and groom stayed and then we all partied at the house.
Beautiful building...just like home!!!
All in all it is a fantastic place!!!!!
and you can't beat the views.....

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    238
    93
    55
    44
See reviews for
148
364
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brea, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We have stayed many times at this motel and loved it. However, our experience this time was not so good. We stayed here 10/8/2013. Thankfully, we were on the ground floor, because the lock broke on the door and we couldn't get out. The maintenance people could not fix it, so we had to transport out luggage out the sliding door, and around the building on a dirt path to load our car the next morning. Not the easiest of feats as we are in our 70s. In addition, to the broken lock, there was no fan in the room and we couldn't let air into the room because there was no screen door. We tried to leave the sliding door open for air but in came the bugs. We were told we would get an adjustment on the cost of the room but that never happened. Sadly, we have spent our last night at Ragged Point Inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, il
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Stayed here over night on the trek from the Bay to LA and it was perfect. I had researched several places along the route and this one met all my needs while being affordable. We stayed in a ground floor room that had a fireplace and patio overlooking the ocean. We arrived after dark and were able to buy a bottle of wine from the general store before it closed. The attendant was sure to inform me that there is no service after 10pm, so everything we needed or any questions had to be addressed before 10pm. Luckily, there was no need for anyone after we settled in.

The view was wonderful. The service was adequate, not overly friendly. The restaurant wasn't attached to the hotel, so we couldn't bill breakfast to the room, but that wasn't a problem. No real complaints. Would recommend it for a short stay over.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chevy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This is one of our favorite places on earth! We spent our 46th Anniversary at Ragged Point and, once again, it was a breathtaking experience. We enjoyed the grill, the restaurant, the 2nd floor, ocean view room, and of course, the gorgeous scenery complete with an awesome sunset! The grounds are beautiful with the variety of blooming plants and the overview of the Pacific. We will be back!

Room Tip: The upper ocean-view rooms are worth the price and have spectacular views of the Pacific. We observ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REK69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We had a ground floor room overlooking the ocean facing south. There was a wooden bench outside which caught the sun at the end of the day and was nice to spend a bit of time on. We were delighted with the room. It was large and well furnished with a very comfortable bed. It had a cosy gas fire and two armchairs. The bathroom had a jacuzzi. Wi-fi did not work in our room so we had to go to the restaurant to use it.
The resort had some pretty shrubs which attracted hummingbirds and butterflies. The views at sunset were amazing, but the benches and two chairs were in the shade so we found a couple of rocks to sit on that still had the sun on them while we waited for the sun to set. The resort lacked outdoor seats that were in the sun. There were two on the lawn which we used and apart from the seats in the restaurant, there were no other sunny seats.

We had mixed feelings about the restaurant. After reading other reviews we were expecting really good food. On our first night my chicken was so dry it was difficult to eat and the carrots were solid. They did not charge for this meal. On the second night we both ate New York steaks which were delicious and cooked exactly as we had asked for but the portions of side dishes were very small. The third night I asked for the New York steak again but it was overcooked, so all in all we were disappointed. There was no toilet within the restaurant or hotel lobby and the outside public toilets were quite unpleasant - not what you expect in an expensive restaurant and hotel.

Fuel was nearly $6 a gallon - expensive!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gelandpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

We had our way to Cambria from Carmel, but it was getting dark so we needed a place to stay over the night
The rooms are great, very clean, big bads, tv, no fridge in the room
Free parking and free wifi.
There is a market, restaurant
Amazing view!!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shula_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swan lake mb canada
Level Contributor
186 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Hotel is older, but setting and service was great. We had a 2nd floor deluxe, very large room with small balcony, view unbelievable. Restaurant not cheap but food was of a very high quality. Service in the restaurant was excellent both nights. No complaints.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gdesmond61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
15.5 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,640 reviews
18.4 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
15.8 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#7 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
18.8 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
20.8 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ragged Point Inn and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ragged Point Inn and Resort

Property: Ragged Point Inn and Resort
Address: 19019 Highway 1, Ragged Point, San Simeon, CA 93452-9751
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ragged Point Inn and Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ragged Point Inn, perched high on a cliff top overlooking the rugged Pacific, is the ideal place to take in the beauty and majesty of California’s Big Sur coast. Relax in one of our 39 spacious and comfortable rooms. Each come with one of the most beautiful views of the Pacific you’ll ever experience - sunrise or sunset. Enjoy fine, fresh cuisine in our award winning gourmet restaurant. Shop in our gift shop, filled with art and collectibles from local artists. Planning a wedding or special event? We have the perfect venue for that special day and can provide you with assistance in every detail. Located between Los Angeles and San Francisco, Ragged Point Inn is one stop on picturesque Highway One that you do not want to miss. We invite you to be our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Booking.com and HRS so you can book your Ragged Point Inn and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ragged Point Hotel San Simeon
Ragged Point Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing