We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best deal In Big Sur”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ragged Point Inn and Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 San Simeon B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We had an Escape package and booked one night at the Ragged Point Inn. It included dinner, a bottle of wine and breakfast for under 200. We upgraded to a deluxe upper floor room, which i would strongly recommend. The views from the upper floors are amazing. The hotel itself is a little dated, but everything is in very good condition. I found it to be completely charming and a great bargain. The food at the restaurant was very good! I was pleasantly surprised. All of the staff that we encountered were very friendly. I would absolutely stay here again and really think that it is the best deal in the Big Sur area.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor deluxe room. The rooms have the best views and are equipped with refrigerato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aet325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (699)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 699 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stayed here one night on an impromptu drive down highway one from Santa Cruz to wherever we felt like stopping....which happened to be Ragged Point Inn. We had our poodle with us and they were very accommodating of all three of us. The rooms available to four legged guests are limited, but clean and comfortable. The rooms across the parking lot for those guests with no pets have breath taking views, so bear this in mind when going to this resort. Might be worth it to leave Fido at home just for the views. We loved it so much, we returned a couple of weeks later with my brother in tow who was visiting from Nebraska. You are kind of a captive audience here and will want to eat in the restaurant. Order the steak. All the rest is "meh".

Room Tip: Rooms bordering coastline. Breath taking views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RKStrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night at the ragged point inn. The grounds surrounding the inn are beautiful. I could not image a better setting. The rooms, while not fancy, were very clean and nice. The walls are a little thin, but other than hearing our neighbors a little in the evening it was not a problem. We ate breakfast at the restaurant and really enjoyed it. Everyone was very friendly. The only drawback was we had no cell service and the Wi-Fi was very spotty. Although, in my opinion, that is a plus!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank MDawn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel. It has a great location overlooking the sea and is only a short distance away from Hearst Castle. The bedroom was very comfortable with a small balcony, and is a well designed room. It was clean. The options on the restaurant menu are fairly limited, however the food was well prepared. If you are looking for a budget option in the Big Sur region the then this is an obvious choice. Also on site there is a mini mart and gas station.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I bumped into this inn and decided to stay. Reception closes at 22:00 and we got there just on time to get a room. It was the last one. The price was a bit more expensive than what we normally pay but when we saw the room (L2) we couldn't believe what an awesome room we got for that price. The two women attending us in the reception and the waiters at the restaurant made our experience just perfect. We'll definitely go back.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank mardenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed overnight on our way through Big Sur last August. The view is absolutely amazing and the trek down to the cove was all worth the sweat. We had 2 twin beds since it was the only thing available. You're guaranteed a quiet night as the walls are thin so everyone is respectful and stays quiet. Food was good but nothing to rave to grandma about. I've never seen so many hummingbirds at once which was a treat. Good times were had!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OneLid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

2 Requirements when I buy a room: Clean bed over dry roof, and a shower/bath. I did not get the latter. Too bad, because this place is soooo beautiful.
I was so pleased when I arrived. Dining experience was excellent as well. But the bath faucet did not work! My roommate managed to somehow shower but the water was too hot and the dial would not go to cooler.
In the morning I went to take a shower (or bath! Whatever works!) but barely a trickle of water came out. The front checkout staff could have made this right when we told her of the broken faucet, but all she said was she'd tell the administrators/management. She should have reduced our bill, or at least offered to take us to a room where I could have a shower.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KKAAWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
15.5 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,887 reviews
18.1 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
596 reviews
18.4 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
895 reviews
15.8 mi away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
921 reviews
18.7 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
2,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ragged Point Inn and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ragged Point Inn and Resort

Address: 19019 Highway 1, Ragged Point, San Simeon, CA 93452-9751
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in San Simeon
Price Range: £100 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ragged Point Inn and Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ragged Point Inn, perched high on a cliff top overlooking the rugged Pacific, is the ideal place to take in the beauty and majesty of California’s Big Sur coast. Relax in one of our 39 spacious and comfortable rooms. Each come with one of the most beautiful views of the Pacific you’ll ever experience - sunrise or sunset. Enjoy fine, fresh cuisine in our award winning gourmet restaurant. Shop in our gift shop, filled with art and collectibles from local artists. Planning a wedding or special event? We have the perfect venue for that special day and can provide you with assistance in every detail. Located between Los Angeles and San Francisco, Ragged Point Inn is one stop on picturesque Highway One that you do not want to miss. We invite you to be our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Ragged Point Inn and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ragged Point Hotel San Simeon
Ragged Point Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing