We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hundreds of Elephant seals!!!”

Elephant Seal Rookery
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in San Simeon
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
1,195 reviews
494 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 777 helpful votes
“Hundreds of Elephant seals!!!”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

There is a huge parking lot, there is a large board walk, you do not have to walk far to see hundreds of the Elephant seals sunning themselves! This really is a must do! There are volunteers there to give great info to you regarding the population. We had no idea, we pulled over due to the crowds...so glad we did!! Fun, breath taking, amazing.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,832
    423
    51
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Longview, Washington
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lots of action.”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The area was right off of Hwy 1 and the huge male seals were sparring. The seals were close to the overlook and watching the social interactions between them was entertaining. I have observed many seals and sea lions in the past but these elephant seals were the loudest and most aggressive creatures I have ever encountered.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkeston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nature at its best”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We were lucky to find that a large male elephant seal had turned up early and we got to see it. It was amazing the size of the beast. The young ones were quite happy lolling around and cooling themselves in the sand or having a quick dip in the ocean. There were a few who were flexing their muscle practicing for when they were older. The volunteers on hand gave some interesting facts and made the visit more enjoyable.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sidina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antioch, Illinois
Level Contributor
202 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Worth a stop”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The Elephant Seals have been coming to this area since the 1990's. We stopped after a trip to Hearst Castle and it was pretty amazing. This time of year the adolescent seals are on the beach and it's fun to watch them learn how to fight by being rambunctous with their peers both in the water and on land. The big seals come in to breed and give birth in December.

This stop is right off the highway - so it's an easy to get to and a beautiful area. When we were there, there were several docents walking around answering questions and giving out lots of information about the seals. These guys (men and women) were great and made the experience that much richer.

This is definitely worth a stop. Be warned though, if the wind is blowing your way there is quite a strong smell of seal :-).

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank travel_junkie3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thosuand Oaks, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Elephant Seal Rookery”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Just a little ways up the road from Hearst Castle is this wonderful place to view elephant seals. There are two parking lots I would recommend stopping at the second one. Of course that always depends on where the largest collection of seals are located. There are usually docents available to answer questions on site. I've never been here when the beaches been empty so there is always something to see.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FourWeeksPhotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Elephant Seal Rookery also viewed

San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Elephant Seal Rookery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing