We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ok Mexican place”

El Chorlito Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 11 Restaurants in San Simeon
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
185 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“ok Mexican place”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We were staying at the nearby Morgan Hotel in San Simeon. We were tired so we decided to go eat next door at the El Chorito. Mexican food is not my favorite but I thought I would give it a try. The food was ok, lots of beans & cheese.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank safety_princess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    140
    84
    39
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hanford, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“goodlunch”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We always go to there for lunch. Its very good, staff is helpful. Its what we do when we are waiting for our room.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
324 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Huevos Rancheros estoy muy bien!”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

OK, I'm learning Spanish so that might not be exactly right but my point is: I LOVE the huevos rancheros! For reasons that still escape me, I've yet to find decent huevos rancheros where I live: the Las Vegas, Nevada area. Therefore, when I'm in California, I'm always on the look-out for good huevos rancheros. My husband and I stopped for lunch at El Chorlito ("plover," a bird) but when I saw huevos rancheros on the menu, I knew I had to order them. They were fabulous!

The salsa was quite tasty, the chips crisp and adequately salty. The service was fine, and the prices were reasonable.

I'd forgotten that they don't have a full bar. Had I remembered, I would have skipped the frozen wine margarita. (It tastes watered down to me; just not worth the calories. But my husband had ordered it for me while I was "powdering my nose.")

In response to previous reviews: When we arrived, there were very few guests. However, they started arriving and just kept coming. More than half the guests appeared to be Hispanic, presumably of Mexican descent, so I'm guessing the food IS in fact authentic. (The night I had dinner here a year ago, the place was packed.)

I wont get back to Cambria until after the new year but, when I do, I fully intend to dine at El Chorlito again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KSSeaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silicon Valley
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stay away”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

My sister-in-law, brother-in-law, his wife, and I have eaten here a total of 3 times. Every time, at least one of us has gotten sick. The first time it happens, you figure it's a fluke. The second time, it's suspicious. The third time, it's a trend. Never again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Seemed authentic”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Nice setting with some views of the ocean. The restaurant is a little cramped, but not too bad. The food was good and reasonably priced. It's not like there are many options in the immediate area. Plus, for as long as they have been in business, they must be doing a lot of of things well. We stayed next door at the Morgan, so we were pleased to be able to walk next door for dinner after having been in the car for hours.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Not-too-picky-in-CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Chorlito Mexican Restaurant also viewed

San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to El Chorlito Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing