We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than we expected”

El Chorlito Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 11 Restaurants in San Simeon
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
160 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Better than we expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We thought the food here was very good. My husband had the chili relleno, and I had the Hearst Ranch beef enchilada. We also had sides of refried beans. The beef was especially tasty. The refried beans were more like my homemade ham hocks and beans, but very good. Service was fine. Waiting outside for a table was a little chilly. Bring a jacket if you think there might be a wait.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank VtaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    139
    84
    38
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pleasant Experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

My wife had not eaten here in several years. It was right down the street from our hotel so we gave it a shot. We were impressed. The steak fajitas were tasty and the marinated beef was tender. My wife enjoyed her seafood enchiladas. Overall, fresh food at reasonable prices. We will go there again when we are in the area.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crestline, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great mexican food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

This was really good place to eat and it was within walking distance of the hotel we were staiying at. It has good atmosphere inside too.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank eagleeyes142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good Food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

We got to San Semion late at night. The restaurant was still open. We went in for a drink and a late dinner. Food was good but got the feeling they wanted us to hurry because they were ready to close. It was a Friday night so we wanted to party but this was not the place for it! Felt a little rushed!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank 54LizJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morro Bay, California
1 review
“Destination Spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

El Chorlito Mexican Restaurant is one of our farvorite destination spots when we take the folks (ages 89 & 105) for a weekly drive and lunch. Bob & Evelyn are wonderful hosts. We love the gardens and often see interesting birds and even a gopher! We are never disappointed in the food or service. Evelyn displays her beautiful paintings of local scenes. Our recent guests requested we go to the "little Mexican restaurant in San Simeon". We will be back soon!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Chorlito Mexican Restaurant also viewed

San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Simeon, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to El Chorlito Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing