We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place on the Central Coast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Morgan at San Simeon
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
GreenLeadersBronze level
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best place on the Central Coast”
Reviewed 18 July 2011

I have traveled all over the world and stayed in a lot of hotels. Overall, if you count charm and level of customer service this is the best hotel I have ever stayed in. Some people mentioned that the rooms were not remodeled right...and frankly if you count a later model sink a problem for you this hotel and it's charm and level of service will be lost on you. The ladies that run the front desk answered every request we had with cheerfulness. The rooms were very charming. We had a partial view of the ocean (plants were in the way ) and a working fireplace (if you come in the summer and are excited about seeing it and turn it on, don't...it really heats your room up quickly! We couldn't have been happier, it is quiet and super super clean....what more could you ask for. We had dinner next door at the Mexican Restaurant, and the food was good, the second night we went to Cambria and had dinner at the Sea Chest and Oyster Bar on Moonstone Beach Dr...and WOW...that was an incredible culinary experience, but get there at 5:30 when they open or you will have a long long wait. We will be back!

Room Tip: Email the hotel ahead of time and make a request, they will fulfill the request if they are able.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMorgan, General Manager at The Morgan at San Simeon, responded to this review, 20 July 2011
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time at The Morgan! It is guests like you who make us all love what we do. Thank you for taking the time to share your enjoyment of or hotel. Michele Berry, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    375
    201
    82
    35
See reviews for
280
411
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Littlerock, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

When we got to the hotel, we saw a pool and breakfast area. Our part of the hotel was down the street past a Mexican restaurant. If we wanted to use the pool or have breakfast we had to walk past our parking lot and past the Mexican restaurant and past another parking lot to get to the swimming pool and to eat the breakfast. It was very inconvenient. The breakfast area was so small people were unable to get food. We ended up going to another restaurant for breakfast. I feel breakfast should have been delivered to the room since it was a hike to get it.

Room Tip: When getting a room here ask for the main part of the hotel and not to be placed in a room down the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karloumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Simeon hotels

San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2011

This boutique hotel is very quaint. Our room was nice and clean. The staff was extremely friendly. We didn't take advantage of the heated pool, though it looked inviting. We forgot to bring our swimsuits. The location is excellent when visiting Hearst Castle and Cambria. We'll definitely recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akimi56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We used this hotel as a stopover for Hearst Castle. If you're going to the Castle, this is literally a 5 min car drive away and is a perfect location for this sight.

Given the other choices around in San Simeon, clearly this one stands out from the rest, as it's not a cheapo motel chain.

Obviously, this can't compare to higher end boutique hotels, but I don't think they're going for that. Beware that the breakfast is very limited, but better than nothing!

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 2lambstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2011

I love breakfasts. But at this hotel it was so very poor. It have not that touch it could have. So if this is important for you do not stay at this hotel.
We were just passing for 1 night and for that reason this hotel was ok. The room was big. And you could park you car outside. This is an hotel which is ordinary. But it was a good price soo... We did not use their pool. Overall the hotel did not seem very clean. But for just 1 night it is OK.

Room Tip: Big room where you can slip 4 persons if you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaKarin_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

We stayed here for one night on our way to San Francisco from San Diego. Our room was so pleasant and welcoming. The front desk employees were very helpful and cheerful. The breakfast was ample and delicious. We could not have asked for more. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VirginiaWallygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

My fiance and I stayed here for one night in December 2010. We were driving up the coast from LA to San Francisco and this was our one and only overnight stop to break up the journey. The hotel itself is quite nice. Because it was Christmas time, it was all nicely decorated. It was also quiet at the time we stayed so we got a free upgrade to one of their bigger (and nicer!) rooms - we were very happy with this - even though we were only staying one night, the upgrade really made our night. The room was huge, the bathroom was extremely spacious, and the bed was very, very comfy! Staff at reception were very nice and friendly.

If you are traveling between LA and San Francisco, San Simeon is a perfect stop. We didn't feel like driving out to dinner, so we just walked next door to the Mexican restaurant. It was pretty average, nothing special but at least we had food in our belly. Breakfast was included - again, it was quite standard - your usual coffee, bagels and cereal. Which was fine as we only needed something quick. But if you're expecting a whole array of selection and a cooked breakfast, then you may be disappointed.

All in all, it was a great stay and we would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
0.2 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,679 reviews
2.7 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.3 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#7 of 12 in Cambria
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
#8 of 10 in San Simeon
512 reviews
5.1 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
3,789 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn San Simeon
Quality Inn San Simeon
#10 of 10 in San Simeon
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Morgan at San Simeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morgan at San Simeon

Property: The Morgan at San Simeon
Address: 9135 Hearst Dr, San Simeon, CA 93452-9774
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Morgan at San Simeon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether searching San Simeon hotels in particular, or just seeing where Highway One takes you, set your sights on The Morgan at San Simeon Hotel. Our unique gem of a boutique hotel is just a stone's throw from California's Central Coast. The Morgan's ambiance is inviting and welcoming - and all just minutes from historic Hearst Castle and remarkable attractions such as the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Morgan at San Simeon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Morgan San Simeon
Morgan Hotel San Simeon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing