We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Morgan at San Simeon
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Just okay”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Make sure you do not get on the street side of the hotel or you will be in for a loud night as it is just off Highway 1 so you will hear trucks and motorcycles all night. This is an old hotel that has had some updates but is definitely in the 2 star realm. Cambria is a much more charming city just down the road with a nice beach, and many restaurants - stay there. We wanted to stay close to Hearst Castle on our way up to Monterey. Staff was very nice. TV so old our Goodwill would not take it.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for ocean side rooms. Don't stay in the road side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank treehugger_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMorgan, General Manager at The Morgan at San Simeon, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Thank you for posting your room tips for guests who are looking to stay at The Morgan. If I may add to your tips, if guests are looking for a room that faces away from Hwy 1, I recommend reserving one of our Deluxe or Premium rooms. These rooms will be second floor or have a partial ocean view.
-Michele Berry
The Morgan, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    378
    203
    82
    35
See reviews for
286
412
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

Worst night sleep ever. Beds are super uncomfortable and the pillows are even worse. Aside from a "cute" atmosphere this hotel is the pits. Oh, and there is NO AC. Prepare to sweat all night. They claim the hotel pool is heated however it's so cold we could barely stick our toes in it. No good restaurants to eat at Around either. Convenient stop if your traveling the coast l, but don't expect to be rested and revived.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYTravel26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMorgan, General Manager at The Morgan at San Simeon, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
I am so sorry that you did not find The Morgan as restful and relaxing as you had hoped. We receive many compliments on our mattresses, I am concerned that there might be something wrong with the bed in the room you stayed in. If you could e-mail me privately at gm@hotel-morgan.com, I can find out what room it was and investigate.
We keep our pool heated to 78 degrees, we have not had any problems with the heater in recent months, but I apologize if the temperature was not at 78 when you were using the pool.
It is true we do not have air-conditioning, out weather here stays so cool most of the time, we rarely have need of air-conditioning. We do however have table fans available for guests who would like a bit more air circulation.
Again I apologize that The Morgan was not able to exceed your expectations.
Michele Berry
General Manager, The Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castro Valley, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay. The room was the usual size for two queen beds and room for a reading chair by the window with view of ocean about 1/4 mile away. The pool is small but nice with glass enclosure (good because it is often windy). The staff was especially nice, and very knowledgable about nearby attractions such as the elephant seals on the beach, Hearst Castle, etc. They can arrange for your HC tour tickets, but they just go on the same web site that you can. We went on HC two tours and very glad we went early morning. It is cool on the coast but 20 degrees hotter up at the castle above the fog. Only one negative, the continental breakfast was lousy, we have had nicer at much less expensive hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ocean side of hotel, the east side is noisy with highway nearby. There is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stormeyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Podgorica, Montenegro
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

My girlfriend and me were on a 2-week California road trip, and our first leg was from San Diego to San Francisco. My brother was on a similar road trip 2 years ago, and he recommended that we should make a break at San Simeon to visit Hearst Castle, and that we should stay at The Morgan. And he was right! :) Hearst Castle is well worth the visit, and The Morgan is a very nice play to stay offering spacious and clean rooms with nice bathrooms. Parking is complementary, as well as wi-fi (although it was very slow) and continental breakfast (rather poor, with cereals, oat meal, boiled eggs, and pastry). We definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again. :)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vladimir V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMorgan, General Manager at The Morgan at San Simeon, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Thank you for your nice review! I am so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to The Morgan. We strive to make The Morgan a great experience for all of our guests.
-Michele Berry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

My husband and I are taking a road trip down Hwy1 from San Francisco to LA and wanted to make a stop at the Hearst Castle so we booked 1 night at The Morgan. This hotel has a great location for the Hearst Castle and it is right on the ocean but it definitely is a 3 star hotel at best. Our first surprise was it doesn't have AC! I was very concerned about this but the room has a ceiling fan and the windows open so we were fine. The room was nicer than I expected from looking at the outside. Most of the room looked recently updated. It was very clean. staff was friendly.
There isn't much in San Simeon except the Castle, motels, and old small ok restaurants.

If you are looking for a little more I would recommend staying in Cambria...it's just a little further south but much more quaint and more modern hotels and restaurants than San Simeon.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BevL0701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We picked this hotel for a two night stay to visit Hearst Castle. The lobby was nice and updated. Our room ended up being in the north building (there's a Mexican restaurant between the North and South buildings) on the ground floor with a partial ocean view. The room was neat and tidy, though the matress was clearly WAY past its prime, with two big body depressions and a musty smell. The windows all open to allow in the sea breezes and we could hear the crashing of the surf. The wi-fi was a bit slow but had a strong signal. In room fridge, gas fireplace, and a whirlpool tub. We're going to try the complimentary continental breakfast in the morning. All in all not a bad experience for the money.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawkeye_424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fanwood, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

On a recent road trip my wife enjoyed an over night stay at The Morgan. The staff we friendly and helpful upon our arrival. We had room with a King bed and fireplace in the main building. It was a very nice room. The bed was very comfortable, the fireplace was beautiful and not having air conditioning was no problem as it was around 50 degrees at night in June while near 80 during the day.
We stayed on a Friday night. After checking in we took a walk on the beach behind the hotel and went across the street to the camp/liquor/souvenir/snack store. They had a small selections of wines if you don't want to purchase the local wine they offer in your room. We picked up a bottle and hoped to have it after dinner. Well when we returned the Mexican restaurant that says open til 11:30pm was closed before 9pm? .....on a Friday night? Oh well. We hopped into the car and drove down the road about 4 miles to Cambria where we found several restaurants to choose from.
The continental breakfast included choices for hot and cold cereal, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, bagels, various toast and a wide variety of pastries. Along with jellies, jams, butter cream cheese and peanut butter. Of course there also was coffee, milk, orange and apple juice along with a basket of fresh apples. As it is a free "Continental breakfast" I'm not sure what else anyone would expect. That morning we headed out to Hearst Castle not far up route 1. A short distance past the castle was the Elephant Seal beach where you could view many of these creatures at your leisure.

Room Tip: We didn't see rooms in the adjacent building. The rooms in the main building are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RegularRoadTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
0.2 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,747 reviews
2.7 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.3 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
#8 of 10 in San Simeon
531 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn San Simeon
Days Inn San Simeon
#6 of 10 in San Simeon
607 reviews
3.0 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
1,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Morgan at San Simeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morgan at San Simeon

Property: The Morgan at San Simeon
Address: 9135 Hearst Dr, San Simeon, CA 93452-9774
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Morgan at San Simeon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether searching San Simeon hotels in particular, or just seeing where Highway One takes you, set your sights on The Morgan at San Simeon Hotel. Our unique gem of a boutique hotel is just a stone's throw from California's Central Coast. The Morgan's ambiance is inviting and welcoming - and all just minutes from historic Hearst Castle and remarkable attractions such as the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Morgan at San Simeon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Morgan San Simeon
Morgan Hotel San Simeon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing