We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Morgan at San Simeon
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

When we walked into the room it smelled so fresh. The room was very clean and the beds were very comfortable!! The staff was very friendly. We needed more towels and the desk clerk promptly got more for us. The lobby and hallways were very clean. The grounds were well kept. The breakfast was good and the staff kept everything well stocked. I would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on the ground floor due to mobility issues. The room was perfect and very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    372
    200
    82
    34
See reviews for
278
407
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Don't believe the negative reviews about this hotel. Yes, people will have a bad experience now and then, but overall The Morgan is THE place to stay in San Simeon. The rooms are very boutique and comfortable, the staff is friendly and efficient. Stayed one night and had a wonderful time. Hearst Castle is a quick 3 miles away. Take a walk to the beach and experience the spectacular sunset!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgigs12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMorgan, General Manager at The Morgan at San Simeon, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you so very much for your praise! There is nothing we enjoy more than a guest who has had a wonderful experience at The Morgan. Great advice to others to enjoy a sunset at the beach.
Michele Berry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

We booked this place for a 1 night stopover for its proximity to both moonstone beach and the seals. San Simeon is great value for money compared to its neighbouring towns and the Morgan was perfect for us. The room was huge, the bed very comfortable, the breakfast met our needs and the staff were pleasant. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colonia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We checked in with a clerk who seemed to have no interest in us at all. We were put in an annex on the second floor and there was no elevator. After driving all day and being senior citizens, that was an effort carrying our luggage up the stairs. Then there was no air conditioning. We found a fan in the closet. Not really effective in cooling the room! The Wi Fi didn't work either. The curtain had a few rips in it. If this is rated #2, I can't imagine the lower rated hotels.
The continental breakfast was adequate, though there were no tables available to sit down when we got there. We had to wait for someone to leave.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMorgan, General Manager at The Morgan at San Simeon, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Susan Q,
Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent visit to The Morgan. I am so sorry that we were unable to exceed your expectations while you were our guest. We do not have Air Conditioning at The Morgan, most hotels along the coast do not offer AC as the temperature generally stays very cool. We do have a few days where AC would be nice, but fortunately not too many.
I am very sorry that you were not greeted in a friendly and courteous manner, we pride ourselves on our customer service. You also should have been asked if you would like assistance with your luggage and I am very sorry that you were not offered help.
Michele Berry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Simeon hotels

winchester, massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

I booked this hotel due to its proximity to the Hearst Castle. Now that I know the area a bit better I think Cambria has more to offer and it is very nearby.

All we did at the Morgan was check in, sleep, and eat breakfast. The continental breakfast was just fine. Remember to bring the tray from your ice bucket if you want to bring items back to your room.
It took less than 10 minutes to drive to the Hearst parking lot the next morning.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tchs_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemet, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

The Morgan was very comfortable and centrally located to the popular tourist attractions in the San Simeon area. Morning walks on the beach are a great way to start the day. Restaurants are within walking distance and Hearst Castle, the elephant seals, Harmony, Cambria and the lighthouse are all within a 10 minute drive. The only draw back is that the Morgan doesn't have direct beach access -- but not a big problem because beach access is about 1/2 block away.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ursula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piermont, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

This hotel has a great location for visiting Hearst Castle. The staff is very friendly and informed. We had to carry our luggage one flight of stairs. The room was comfortable (although it has been a while since it has been renovated, it did not lack in cleanliness). The hotel can not claim ocean views but it is near a beach, a stroll away. The small pool is located in the center of the hotel and fully visible from the lobby. Breakfast was adequate and plentiful. We enjoyed staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vmfaulkner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMorgan, General Manager at The Morgan at San Simeon, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
I am so pleased that you enjoyed The Morgan and its surrounding area and beaches. Our staff does enjoy meeting people from around the world and sharing our knowledge of San Simeon and offer ideas of things to do and see.
Michele Berry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
0.2 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,610 reviews
2.7 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.3 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#11 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,480 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
#8 of 10 in San Simeon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
2.9 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Morgan at San Simeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morgan at San Simeon

Property: The Morgan at San Simeon
Address: 9135 Hearst Dr, San Simeon, CA 93452-9774
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Morgan at San Simeon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether searching San Simeon hotels in particular, or just seeing where Highway One takes you, set your sights on The Morgan at San Simeon Hotel. Our unique gem of a boutique hotel is just a stone's throw from California's Central Coast. The Morgan's ambiance is inviting and welcoming - and all just minutes from historic Hearst Castle and remarkable attractions such as the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Morgan at San Simeon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Morgan San Simeon
Morgan Hotel San Simeon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing