We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for one night stay near Hearst Castle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Morgan at San Simeon
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
GreenLeadersBronze level
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Perfect for one night stay near Hearst Castle”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Very large and confortable room with a super bathroom. Complementary breakfast in the average served just in front of the small swimming pool.
It's a good place to stop over the night during the road trip between Los Angeles and San Francisco, just few miles from the Castle and not so far from the south entrance of Big Sur (definitively the best and wild part of that costline). Good guestbook recommendations.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank incallitiviaggiatori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    375
    201
    82
    35
See reviews for
280
411
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Very nice room with gas fireplace. Open the window and hear the sound of the Pacific Ocean waves crashing on the beach. Also, a short drive on the service road leads to the beach to watch the sunset and dinner at the Cavalier Restaurant was excellent for the price.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lois C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
118 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel- good bed! We asked for upstairs room to see ocean but trees were in the way .. However we did hear ocean all night which was nice and I wouldn't have felt comfortable doing that on the ground floor. Becky at front office was a sweetheart and very helpful.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank suzannesg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
191 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This was a last minute reservation so our choices were limited for August tourist season. We had planned to drive from San Francisco to the LA area and decided to stop at Hearst Castle on the way. We figured the best way to do this would be to stay overnight nearby and do the Castle first thing in the morning. It was a little more than I wanted to spend for one night but some of the other choices were sold out or too far away.

The hotel has 2 bldgs and we were assigned to a room in the other bldg. I knew that they didn't have elevators so I asked for a ground floor room. It was a very nice room. No AC but fans but we didn't need it. The beds were comfortable. The bathroom was a good size. There was a dressing table just outside the bathroom so that helped w/ getting ready in the morning. There were overpriced snacks right there on the table to tempt you too!

In the hallway, they had a book of menus from restaurants located in the strip mall-type set-up on this road. There were several hotels and restaurants on this road which you can walk to. The breakfast was fine, nothing really stands out. We didn't use the pool. There was a plaza across the highway w/ further dining options and some souvenir-type shops.

It was a very nice hotel, but a little pricey. Would stay there again if no other options.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank safety_princess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

One of the better looking hotels/motels in the area, I thought a room would be too pricey but we stopped in anyway at about 5:30 at night and got a choice of rooms. We took downstairs. The front desk was very helpful and discounted our room when we discovered the fireplace didn't work. I see someone commented about the pool looking as if it had been abandoned but it was clean and well lit. I'm not sure a guest would really need it when you've got the beach and Hearst castle right there. A very quiet, comfy place, besutifully decorated and maintained.

Room Tip: No elevators to the second floor so you older folk choose a downstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pd1248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reedy Creek, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Thankyou to all the staff at The Morgan. We could not have had a better experience. The hotel is stunning and to go into the beautiful KING room with real glasses and real glass cups to make yor tea or coffee. The room has just georgous decor with everything spotless.The staff bend over backwards to help with anything and terrific restaurant recommendations. The breakfast is great as well. Well done The Morgan. We will return.

Room Tip: Choose a king room. We were on main road side but there was no noise.
See more room tips
Green Features: There is no airconditioning, but it is not needed as there is a beautiful sea breeze.
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noelleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennett Square, PA USA
Level Contributor
138 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We were very happy with our 2 night stay at The Morgan. The staff at the front desk were extremely friendly; the room was large, clean and inviting (with a fireplace too); breakfast was good though not exceptional; and the location was superb! Not only is this hotel close to the Hearst Castle, it is also quite close (a few easy-to-drive miles) to the elephant seal rookery! We were able to visit the rookery 3 times (morning was definitely the BEST time for photographic lighting and fewer people). The staff has done a beautiful job selecting paint colors and room furnishings; it is also very clean. Our room faced the main road, so you could hear the traffic ~ though it was not objectionable. After leaving a nightmare stay at another hotel in Monterey, we thought we died and went to heaven when we checked into The Morgan.

One suggestion I would make to the hotel is to begin the continental breakfast service at 7 am (rather than 7:30). The first movie at the Hearst Castle begins at 8:15 am. It is essential that visitors wishing to see the movie arrive at their visitor's center by 8:00am. We had to eat on the run so that we could see the movie at 8:15 and then begin our 3 previously paid-for tours.

I would happily stay at The Morgan again!

Room Tip: A room away from the main street would probably be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bouncingbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
0.2 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,678 reviews
2.7 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.3 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#7 of 12 in Cambria
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
#8 of 10 in San Simeon
512 reviews
5.1 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
3,781 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn San Simeon
Quality Inn San Simeon
#10 of 10 in San Simeon
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Morgan at San Simeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morgan at San Simeon

Property: The Morgan at San Simeon
Address: 9135 Hearst Dr, San Simeon, CA 93452-9774
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Morgan at San Simeon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether searching San Simeon hotels in particular, or just seeing where Highway One takes you, set your sights on The Morgan at San Simeon Hotel. Our unique gem of a boutique hotel is just a stone's throw from California's Central Coast. The Morgan's ambiance is inviting and welcoming - and all just minutes from historic Hearst Castle and remarkable attractions such as the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Morgan at San Simeon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Morgan San Simeon
Morgan Hotel San Simeon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing