We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We will come back - very nice experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Morgan at San Simeon
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chico, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We will come back - very nice experience”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Tasteful & classy for that rate. I was impressed with the staff and the customer service we recieved. The room was wonderful - second floor in the second building. We were on the ocean side, 3 bay windows that opened, a ceiling fan, a gas fireplace & 2 very comfortable queen beds. There's a small fridge, but no microwave in the room. The Mexican restaurant between the main building & the second building was great. We did take out. Crab tacos - exceptionally good. The weather was amazing so we left the windows open all night. There are buildings between the hotel & the beach, but you can still see the ocean. The sound of the waves was wonderful.

Breakfast buffet in the morning was in the main lobby. Small area, croweded with guests, but I took a tray back to our room. Basic breakfast, but nice selection.

We stayed the night after Christmas so we could go to the Castle the next morning. Great location. I did a survey emailed to me by the Morgan after our stay & mentioned that there is no elevator in that second building & lugging our bags up one fairly short flight of stairs was unexpected. The manager emailed me back personally & apologized for not having someone available to help with the bags. I was impressed & will stay again if we're in that area. Next time we'll stay 2 nights!

Green Features: They seemed to be actively working to use green practices.
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sydnem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    374
    200
    82
    34
See reviews for
279
409
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Nothing special about this hotel . It was clean and tidy rooms where dated but comfortable . The price was right . They through in a continental breakfast which is also ok . In all honesty all the hotels and inns in San Simenon are just ok . I suggest stay in nearby Cambria it has much more to offer and is still near the castle .

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Murials
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nahant, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

I booked through hotels.com and the morgan booked me for 2 rooms instead of one and at check in i told them it was a mistake and they would NOT refund me! I was with my son and clearly would not book 2 rooms! I was out 147 for the other room. I was so upset and management did not care one bit. The location was a bit sketchy and the building we stayed in was scary. I AM WARNING YOU, its not a good hotel and very bad cust service.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank nahantvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMorgan, General Manager at The Morgan at San Simeon, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Nahant Visitor
I am so very sorry for your experience at The Morgan! I can certainly understand your frustration. We work hard to ensure our guests enjoy the time they spend at The Morgan and to feel that they have received exceptional value for their stay.
You mentioned that you made your reservations through hotels.com. The reason we were unable to make any refunds to you is that when booking through hotels.com, you pay them directly at the time the rooms were reserved, not the hotel.
If you email me personally at gm@hotel-morgan.com, I will be happy to look into your reservation and see if I am able to work with hotels.com.
Best regards,
Michele Berry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Simeon hotels

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I stayed in the hotel for a few nights beginning on Christmas night, and was delighted by the decorations which made the hotel seem very cheery. My experience was entirely positive - with friendly staff, and the breakfasts and my (deluxe king) room exactly as expected. I enjoyed using the gas fireplace in the evenings and hearing the ocean at night from my 2nd floor, pool/ocean facing room.

It was convenient to have a few restaurants within very short walking distance. And I loved being able to walk (a very few minutes) from the hotel to the nearby beach to watch the sunsets.

Room Tip: A few 2nd floor rooms (such as deluxe king, #263, near center of hallway) directly overlook the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CWShop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Simeon, California
1 review
Reviewed 29 December 2013

From the initial contact to the check out, everyone we met was helpful, ready to assist in any way possible. One person stands out. Her name is Becky. She is at the front desk and assisted me with connecting to the internet for flight departure issues. She took time with me while taking care of other duties and never made me feel rushed. All of the employees were always ready to assist but Becky went far above and beyond. As a result of this fine assistance and the condition of your hotel/rooms, etc. I would highly recommend these accomodations to any who asked.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Lovely rooms and lounge area near reception. ..and served as breakfast dining area which was complimentary. Lovely outdoor pool area. Short stroll to beach to watch the sunrise in hills behind. Interesting framed plans from architect Julia Morgan on the walls.

Room Tip: Our rooms near reception...on ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Spacious, clean room and pleasant front desk staff. The breakfast choices were plentiful and good. A short drive to Hearst Castle. Attractive decor relating to the original designs for the castle. The only problem was a noisy refrigerator in the room.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMorgan, General Manager at The Morgan at San Simeon, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at The Morgan. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our property. I am so sorry about the noisy refrigerator. Could I impose on you to email me at gm@hotel-morgan.com, I would like to make sure we can get that refrigerator repaired or replaced.
Again, thank you for your nice review!
Michele Berry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
0.2 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,640 reviews
2.7 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.3 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#7 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,626 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
#8 of 10 in San Simeon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
2.9 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Morgan at San Simeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morgan at San Simeon

Property: The Morgan at San Simeon
Address: 9135 Hearst Dr, San Simeon, CA 93452-9774
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Morgan at San Simeon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether searching San Simeon hotels in particular, or just seeing where Highway One takes you, set your sights on The Morgan at San Simeon Hotel. Our unique gem of a boutique hotel is just a stone's throw from California's Central Coast. The Morgan's ambiance is inviting and welcoming - and all just minutes from historic Hearst Castle and remarkable attractions such as the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Morgan at San Simeon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Morgan San Simeon
Morgan Hotel San Simeon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing