We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appears to be one of the nicer hotels in San Simeon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Morgan at San Simeon
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stopped at The Morgan after a day of travel that included a stop at the nearby Hearst Castle. The Morgan is in a strip of motels, hotels and restaurants. It would seem to be among the nicest in this area of San Simeon. The other lodgings were motels and appeared run down. Our room here was clean, comfortable and you could walk to the Mexican restaurant next door or the steak place about a block away. Breakfast was included, as was parking. We didn't use the pool, but it was heated and enclosed with a lovely patio surrounding it. Would recommend The Morgan if you are visiting in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShanBarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (915)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

298 - 304 of 916 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

Very clean and attractive hotel. The room was well appointed and the service was excellent. The bed was VERY tall and a bit difficult for a short person to climb into. There is no a/c but it was cool when we were there, and there is a ceiling fan. The breakfast was good pastries, cereal, and boiled eggs.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmalea3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Loved the location & our room with a fireplace. We traveled with our 2 boys (10 & 12) and the staff was so welcoming to them. Anna (who served breakfast) was sweet & helpful. Loved the breakfast and wine tasting. Will come again & again!

Room Tip: loved the fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NER24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Nice hotel at a good price. Clean and roomy, comfy bed and friendly staff. Room was spacious and bright, nothing overly special~ maybe slightly outdated but great for the price and had everything you would want including breakfast and a pool and helpful people.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzanneCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This is a wonderful, charming hotel! We stayed in the main building, had no problems. Check-in staff were very friendly and informative on activities in the area and restaurant recommendations. Yes the jets on the tubs are disabled, I just figured they're doing their part as is everyone else to conserve water. The continental breakfast is simple but very yummy. If you need a full breakfast, there are plenty of restaurants nearby that will charge you for that. We thoroughly enjoyed everything and will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMorgan, General Manager at The Morgan at San Simeon, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Tina O,
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Morgan! We appreciate your recognizing our efforts in water conservation, the drought is pretty serious in this area and we are always looking for ways to conserve water where possible. Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback.
Michele Berry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

I was disappointed first the host was unfriendly, bed was really old squeak at every move and slanted to one side where you could roll off the bed. Breakfast was just ok nothing to be excited about. Over all the stay was uncomfortable and we can't wait to get out. Would not recommend staying too long there good for traveling through in and out.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank Newet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMorgan, General Manager at The Morgan at San Simeon, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Newet,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Morgan. I appreciate your bringing the condition of the bed frame to our attention. I am please to report that the bed frame has been replaced and future guests will not have to endure a squeaky bed.
I apologize if our staff was not friendly during your visit. I am very sorry that we were unable to impress you with our usual level of wonderful customer service.
Thank you again for taking the time to post your review.
Michele Berry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This was a groupon deal and although it was an excellent hotel I thought the regular price was a little much. It's amenities were sparse but decent. The renovation was nice. You're probably paying for location because it sits between Cambria and Hearst castle but that's about it. Great staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leeruben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
71.5 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,809 reviews
2.3 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
473 reviews
2.7 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
#7 of 10 in San Simeon
543 reviews
5.1 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4,348 reviews
3.0 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
2,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Morgan at San Simeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morgan at San Simeon

Address: 9135 Hearst Dr, San Simeon, CA 93452-9774
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range: £90 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Morgan at San Simeon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether searching San Simeon hotels in particular, or just seeing where Highway One takes you, set your sights on The Morgan at San Simeon Hotel. Our unique gem of a boutique hotel is just a stone's throw from California's Central Coast. The Morgan's ambiance is inviting and welcoming - and all just minutes from historic Hearst Castle and remarkable attractions such as the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Morgan at San Simeon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Morgan San Simeon
Morgan Hotel San Simeon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing