We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely big room, very quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Morgan at San Simeon
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 14 November 2009

Allegedly the best in "Hotel alley", we stayed in the annexe building, so a big room and very quiet. Clean, helpful staff, and seconds from the beach. Perfect overnight stop.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (919)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

729 - 735 of 919 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2009

This was a little difficult to find as it isn't actually in the tiny hamlet of San Simeon so we drove past and had to double back - it's on the sea side of the highway where the other hotels and motels in the San Simeon area are located. Very close to Hearst Castle and in a very scenic area - you can see resting seals on a neighbouring beach. The room (in the secondary block of the hotel) was large and well-appointed although there was only a ceiling fan rather than aircon and it was pretty hot and stuffy without that going. The Morgan is owned by the same company as the Wine Valley Inn in Solvang and has been fairly recently renovated in a very similar style/colour scheme. Two niggles: 1) I dropped something on the floor and when I lifted the bed valance to find it it was pretty obvious that no one had vacuumed under the bed for a while...... 2) We accidentally left a box of fudge we bought as a gift in the fridge of our room when we checked out. We realised and returned within the hour to find it wasn't there. The guy on reception made enquiries with the cleaning staff who were on lunch and three of them were chomping through it, not having handed it in!! That said, he was mortified, the hotel reimbursed us the cost and we were able to replace the gift on our travels. Continental breakfast is included in the room rate - this was adequate.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grecofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2009

My wife and I stayed here on our drive along Scenic Hwy 1 late September 2009. The Morgan was VERY clean, quiet and gave us the best nights rest we had had for our entire 11 day trip. It was only a 5 min drive to Hearst Castle and the staff was very helpful. Continental breakfast was just enough to get us on our way. I would highly recommend the Morgan if you are planning on visiting Hearst Castle. One more thing the price was actually cheaper than what was advertised on-line. Overall the best deal for your money in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sawjrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2009

This hotel was great, modern, tastefully decorated room (we had a free upgrade) comfy king sized bed, excellent continental breakfast included. Also had an indoor heated pool. No air con in rooms, but ceiling fan kept it cool enough. Very close drive to Hearst Castle. Good free cable TV and wireless internet, friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smurfs_in_the_usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

My husband and I traveled with friends and we were all very pleased with our rooms. The front desk was friendly and helpful . We enjoyed breakfast... nice selection of teas and also juices and milk. Bagels, sweet pastries, oatmeal and hard boiled eggs were a good choice for us! Cold cereals were also available.
We ate across the street ( at the suggestion of one of the men a at the desk) and loved it! The restaurant was the Manta Rey...hightly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pah8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2009

Came in at 6:00 PM Friday and found the guy at the front desk friendly, knowledgeable, and very helpful. The room was well appointed, clean with a very thick comfy bed. Went to Hearst Castle the next day, saw the Elephant Seals along the beach, had dinner at a nice place recommended by the hotel, finished it off with a long walk along the beach under a full moon. Nice people, nice place.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonLancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

When I say, where we wanted it to be, I mean in our plans for the approximate distance from the Big Sur and to Mojave - so the location was good for us - but not a fair assessment for passing onto others.

That aside, the decor I thought was tasteful and it was certainly comfortable. I may take some colourway tips home with me!

Everywhere was clean, the bathroom was spotless and the huge bath a big temptation to soak in, sadly no time. The extras where well priced and a nice touch - we opted for a bottle of local wine, it was Napa but still welcome.

My only problem was with the wifi - our room (250) had a very low signal so we could only use the connection at breakfast in the public area - not a huge issue as it was free after all!

Breakfast was fine, a nice selection of bagels for toasting and lovely teas.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PamSco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
0.2 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,858 reviews
2.3 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
541 reviews
2.7 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn San Simeon
Quality Inn San Simeon
#9 of 10 in San Simeon
274 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
#7 of 10 in San Simeon
547 reviews
5.1 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Morgan at San Simeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Morgan at San Simeon

Address: 9135 Hearst Dr, San Simeon, CA 93452-9774
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Simeon
Price Range: £87 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Morgan at San Simeon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether searching San Simeon hotels in particular, or just seeing where Highway One takes you, set your sights on The Morgan at San Simeon Hotel. Our unique gem of a boutique hotel is just a stone's throw from California's Central Coast. The Morgan's ambiance is inviting and welcoming - and all just minutes from historic Hearst Castle and remarkable attractions such as the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Morgan at San Simeon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Morgan San Simeon
Morgan Hotel San Simeon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing